and @McReggea - the quality of service aspect inherent in this tariff? Why do you think Zain and Yu are putting emphasis on GOOD coverage? Its their unique selling proposition over Safaricom - Safaricom has been dogged by quality and customer service issues....
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Djinn, All in all,these other providers are still far behind Safcom by far,remember those guyz in Kibich with their high traffic the call time is averagely between 15 and 45 seconds so somehow they still dont clog the network for long and as yu say this tarrif aim to improve quality,a blanket cheap tarrif cannot be supported by safcom network,so give your customers something back but safeguard on quality........imagine there are people who will be calling sub 3 bob throughout,you expect them to move to YU.....naaahhh!!!! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@Djinn,also don't forget that safcom is to spend an additional 10 billion to take care of its perennial Achilles heel. I wonder what will now be the selling point for Zain et al? http://www.standardmedia...14&j=&m=&d=
Be the change you want to see in the world...
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,221 Location: Nairobi
@Mcreggae... YU is not for everyone lakini if you have your 'buddies' on YU then the call cost is very low vs safcon. Also for BUSINESSFOLK,u cant wait to call when it is 'cheap' coz biashara does not wait. I recall using safcon to make 25/- per minute calls!!! Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
the supa ongea thing is a better compromise.... the limit being 0.80 - 8.00 is better than the previous 10/- all day long... today in the morning i actually called at 80 cents.... you've heard me.. When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
I found this quite intriguing. Last night i switched my hubby to supa ongea and the discounted rate was displayed as 80c per minute. I checked mine at the same time and it was 2 bob per minute. Doesn't make any sense 
@Shak,it's called cell overlap...
Shakl, As Chris has said this was most probably caused by overlap,most common in densely populated areas with many BTSs so standing next to somebody does not necessarily imply being on the same cell.........still 80 cents or 2 bob is a bargain....huh!!!! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Say if my phone shows 1/- lakini by the time I call... will the rate be flipped on me??? As u can see by my posts,I do NOT trust safcon... Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
According to what I understand from the terms and conditions,the rates are determined on an hourly basis based on historical statistics in that particular cell location. Unless you're in a vehicle your phone is unlikely to register in two cell locations at the same time. Hence when you do *155# what you see displayed is what you'll be charged. And even if you're in a moving vehicle and you initiate a call in a cell where the rate is 80 cents,you'll be charged at that rate regardless whether you move into an 8 bob cell or not. In other words,it's the TIME and LOCATION of initiating the call that matters. My two cents...
Wacha hii yote mimi nimeamua kuwa memba wachana na hii ongea na kutoongea nje maranda ni. if i'm in i'm in not out but in when i'm out
Hate me or love me I rule!!
It's like most people have simply refused to read and understand the terms and conditions of the offer...........it's a choice to save or be charged more!!!! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
@ mcreggae there is a kikuyu saying that goes... 'kirindi kiaremire musa' to directly translate... ''people refused moses'' you've heard me.. When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Kamaa, I hear yu,I mean if you have been comfortable paying 8 bob per minute and you are offered a chance when you can pay as low as 80cents,what is the beef,fact remains that the maximum you can pay is 8bob per min which you have been paying anyway!!!......looking at the advert you realize that the offer targets existing customers not new ones like VVS!!! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@chris79 - I have read the article whose link you posted. it CONFIRMS my suspicion that this new tariff is really intended to improve the quality of service e.g. if you check the tariff and it shows Kshs 8,you may defer the call for a few minutes (allowing others to call by reducing congestion). So really in essence the 10 billion may not be spent,rather,this tariff will re-engineer people's calling habits while at the same time making them talk longer (its costs less,talk more). So they RETAIN customers. This talk about new base stations is to counter the offensive by Yu who have put up 200 BTS in less than 6 weeks and also Zain who have the BEST quality ever. Hands down. So this tariff is about enhancing quality of service - the low revenue users have beenb congesting the network....let them call at times when the high revenue users (business,post paid,etc) have no need for the network....simple.
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Rank: Member Joined: 7/22/2009 Posts: 120 Location: KENYA
It doesnt hurt to migrate but this thing is very tricky!! The expectation that all of us have is that our calling rates will be reduced. Two minutes ago i just checked how much i will be charged. It wa 3 bob. I called some one i havent talked to in a long time and we spoke for 4 minutes. OOOOPSSY on checking they the call rate was at 8 bob ad they actually charged me at 8 bob coz as i write this i am less by 32 bob.
So to all safcon defenders,what was my benefit?
Opportunity favours the prepared mind...........
Should be called 'Stupa ongea tariff' The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Litro,guys r using this thing n it is working,how do we ascertain ua claims,yu cud just be another hater! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@kamaa The kikuyus did not reject moses. They were conned into rejecting the original gods/prophets for someone from another land. Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@litro - Exactly my concern earlier. bait 7 switch... lured to make the cheap call lakini charged much more... ***____ McReggae - and what guarantee that you are being charged what you are told? Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett