wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

Proceedings at the Hague
#21 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 3:56:11 PM

Just think..What else would Moreno Ocampo say? that as he concludes investigations in a record 18 months...all the while in possession of a secret envelope of PEV suspects names, of key suspects, as given by a certain Kenyan, Justice Philip Waki, relying on a report, the KNHRC report. Wake up boss.

If this is the case, why not blame the guy for their misfortunes? If I was innocent, I would need to shout from the rooftops....ali na HK i think ni werevu

One side of the coalition govt is considering tabling a motion in parliament to have all 10 suspects in the Waki Envelope made public.

BTW: Ref - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySwB81kZzYg
sihingwa
#22 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 4:01:04 PM

That 'envelope' should be tabled I agree
#23 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 4:08:59 PM

Just think..What else would Moreno Ocampo say? that as he concludes investigations in a record 18 months...all the while in possession of a secret envelope of PEV suspects names, of key suspects, as given by a certain Kenyan, Justice Philip Waki, relying on a report, the KNHRC report. Wake up boss.

Ok. smile
#24 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 5:02:24 PM

Unless they have prior information about who is in the list.... otherwise, they'd open a pandora's box. Either way let it be opened and if the likes of WR and UK are in it, let them face the local judiciary as well. I mean the charges may be different from the ICC ones.
B.Timer
#25 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 7:10:57 PM

Understanding basic workings of courts;
Partly case are lost or won, not so much on the brilliance and mastery of the law on the part of the lawyer, but his tact and mastery of rules of procedure as well as general tact of the jurisdiction involved.
On this account, it would amount to insanity for Wako to hire purely local lawyers for the ICC duty.
Not a single Kenyan lawyer has any experience worth talking about! Anna Osure included.

Thats why most of the Ocampo six have opted to ICC experienced lawyers too.

The call by PM to resort to FBI and Scotland yard is in different light and not so convincing.

You can't compare the two.
Dunia ni msongamano..
X13united
#26 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 8:29:25 PM

sihingwa wrote:
That 'envelope' should be tabled I agree

**do we realy have that time to waste,so unfortunate,we kenyans fight to the last man standing but for the wrong ppl. What if the envelope is tabled n still it fail to fulfill your political n tribal ratio? Let justice be our shield n not our shoulder to lean on.
sihingwa
#27 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 8:55:59 AM

B.Timer wrote:

The call by PM to resort to FBI and Scotland yard is in different light and not so convincing.

You can't compare the two...

Suppose the ICC prosecuon was done locally ...we would have been blaming the woes of the accused on the tribes of the prosecutor, judges, investigators etc. Sad

Typical Kenyan, that's why RAO is 'obsessed' with foriegnersSilenced
#28 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 9:13:44 AM

B.Timer wrote:
Partly case are lost or won, not so much on the brilliance and mastery of the law on the part of the lawyer, but his tact and mastery of rules of procedure as well as general tact of the jurisdiction involved.
On this account, it would amount to insanity for Wako to hire purely local lawyers for the ICC duty.
Not a single Kenyan lawyer has any experience worth talking about! Anna Osure included.

Geee, thanks for the clarification.

I had always thought law, as taught and practised, was universal. That a lawyer trained and practising in Kenya should not be intimidated by his colleagues trained and practising in Europe.

I had no idea law, as taught and practised in Kenya was of lower grade than that taught and practised in the rest of the world. Maybe also criminology?

I am sure not to get mixed up again. d'oh!
#29 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 9:14:37 AM

B.Timer wrote:

True. He calls for foreigners to resolve Kenyan problems repeatedly, even in soccer - recall the Antoine Hey upumbavu yet Kimanzi was performing. Buure kabisa!
B.Timer
#30 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 1:14:41 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
B.Timer wrote:

Geee, thanks for the clarification.

I had always thought law, as taught and practised, was universal. That a lawyer trained and practising in Kenya should not be intimidated by his colleagues trained and practising in Europe.

I had no idea law, as taught and practised in Kenya was of lower grade than that taught and practised in the rest of the world. Maybe also criminology?

I am sure not to get mixed up again. d'oh!

Getting involved with cheerleading and heckling is a different ball game for me!

Any level headed human being will appreciate that in order not to jeopardise ones lawsuit, one needs to work with lawyers well versed and experienced in the jurisdiction of the court in question.

Even Mzungu fellows who have cases in Kenya will hire local lawyer who best understand how things run here.

Other than the law per se, there are rules of procedure that can be crucial in determining what direction the case takes.

Talk to any lawyer, and you will be disabused of your position.

In our courts the lawyers will keep qouting penal code cap x.
Or Kenyan constitution article y etc.

An American lawyer would need to read through our laws to effectively represent an American sued in Kenya.
Such an American is advised to hire local lawyers, and may be throw in one from elsewhere.
Dunia ni msongamano..