wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

5 Pages<1234>»
Life has become too short
#11 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 12:26:43 PM

Sad....Very sad.Yesterday,i also witnessed one from a distance along Bungoma-Kanduyi road(As reported by Citizen TV although the lorry was coming from Bungoma and not the other way).A matatu suddenly stopped bang right on the road.The truck driver tries to avoid hitting the damn matatu from behind but unfortunately,there is an on-coming cyclist.The driver swerves and ends up hitting a building whose facade collapses and traps people inside......This is the funny part.Those trapped inside were drinking at 11 in the morning.......almost all Kenyans are good at breaking the law.
#12 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 1:20:34 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Pole sana. I hope it was not on Msa Road. Wewe kamata JD double halafu ulale kabisa.

Lakini usisahau kuamka!Sad

it waaaaaassss... MOMBASA ROAD! and the police were nto even doing much... Infact, at some point, i had to "incite" the other guys surrounding there to force the police to take them to hosipital because 45 minutes on, they still kept saying the 'ambulance' was coming and which did not even arrive and they had a pick up double cabin... so they kept saying if we put them in the pick-up, they will 'die' before they get to the hospital... and i asked them how much more alive "they were becoming" lying on the ground without being attended to.

but one guy really touched me. he resustated one guy and he kept telling him "usiende mtu wangu. tuko hapa. tuko na wewe"... he really tried. when i thanked him afterwards when we managed to force them to use the pick up, he just broke down and cried.... he was so selfless.

My sister in law hit a young man while he was crossing the road a few years ago. The police told her omba huyu kijana akufe dinyo kesi itakuwa rahisi. Extremely sad. They prefer that the victims die because it is easier to deal with the court cases and claims when the victim is dead (supposedly).
akowally
#13 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 9:16:16 AM

How is it made easier when someone dies Euge
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#14 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 9:48:12 AM

Sad!! After the Mombasa road thread...i keep to the left and drive slowly....less stressful guys na unafika mahali unaenda still smiling/happy....no curses on the road. RIP to the lost souls...
Last week alone, counted 4 accidents all on different days on this road...
For Sport
#15 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 10:19:21 AM

akowally wrote:

I think they were being sarcastic.
From their perpective, its "easier" since they know what charges to draw up. If someone is in hospital hanging between life and death, they may have to alter the charges at some point.
Very callous.
Kirika
#16 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 11:17:45 AM

To this day i still cant comprehend why a concrete bridge was put up in Nyayo round-about yet for the same ammount, there could have been footbridges in;

- Capital Center

- Belle View

-Panari

-GM

-Cabanas

Last year i witnessed a mother and her 2 kids crashed to death by a motorist. One was on her back and another was holding the mother's hand. The lucky one was crying on the far end having survived.

This year, a father was hit with his two kids in the morning as they crossed the road at Panari.

In all this Kisia is busy procuring brooms and pedestrian seats as hapless Kenyans are annihilated on the roads.

Sad, sad, sad.

#17 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 11:35:38 AM

@WENDZ sorry for that experience I have been in one and I know the feeling of helplessness that meets such accidents.

akowally wrote:

yesterday I was seated on the front seat of the Matatu and they were saying a dead person can not be paid I.e when a person dies its less expensive to deal with a dead body than a living person.

Its argued compensation for a deceased(i hope i got the spelling right)is much lower than an injured survivor.

A family friend who was a truck driver ran over a biker on mombasa road some yrs back ,so as he was informing his boss of the accident,the boss asked him if he had killed him and if not make sure he had killed him by running him over again.Sadly the biker had died.

#18 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 12:17:44 PM

wheels are too fast for us....we love the thrill...with improved technology,i was hoping that cars will be easier to control but thats not the case...we should all be sent back to school..1st lesson..the guy overtaking you @120 simply wants to die..you can follow if you have the same wish!!!!
Spend.thrift
#19 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 12:56:00 PM

@Wendz, pole for what you saw. Mombasa road is a real killer. The trend is that more and more young people will die from car crashes especially on the last and first weekend of the month.

The other thing that you may not notice is how fast accident scenes are cleared nowadays. 30-45 minutes after an accident, there's usually no trace; the glass has been splashed away, the blood is the color of tarmac or used oil and the mangled wrecks already in the yards of nearby police stations. I am not suggesting that they remain uncleared for longer - its just that road traffic accident have become the order or the day in Nairobi.

Sitting in a pub, I couldn't help noticing how people keep urging the friends to get more beers when they know these friend of theirs have some mtumba toyota parked outside the pub. Why is it do hard to refuse an offer of a beer?

I recall having to refuse many offers many times as people at the table struggle to match the rounds.

The sad part is when such drunk people plough into you from the rear or smash an entire nuclear family into oblivion as have been the case on MSA road.
#20 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 1:24:30 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

My poles.
Wendz will live to be 100yrs old... and beyond!!

I will. my grandma clocks 100 this year.... If i was lucky enough to inherit those genes, i have maaaaaaaaaaaany years to go... i expect the iSublocation or ilocation to find me around going by the speed the iphone, ipad, imat, icarpet are coming and going....
5 Pages<1234>»