wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

11 Pages«<34567>»
Pre-University NYS Veterans Corner
#81 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:13:23 AM

#82 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:20:05 AM

So mukiha wewe ni maee kuliko hawa wa NSIS.....wow!!!!!
#83 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:22:15 AM

So mukiha wewe ni maee kuliko hawa wa NSIS.....wow!!!!!

Si kuja na reli.... reli ilinipata hapa hapa tu....
#84 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:24:58 AM

mukiha wrote:

Anyway: the idea was left hanging and no one mentioned it for four years... then came the 1982 Coup attempt. And UoN [the only university at the time; KU was KUC and JKU was under construction as JKCAT] students joined the "Power" brigade led by the Air Force...

When things cooled down; JJ Kamotho announced that it is necessary to discipline students before they joined the university, and therefore, the NYS programme was quickly put together in 1983 [I think]. The first group was there for only one month...

I lose my bearings, was the coup attempt before or after NYS? You remember Mwandawiro's guard of honour - I thought that was before the coup?
#85 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:31:26 AM

I had it rough with Yellow man aka Bw. Githinji. My beef with him used to start at 4 am. Guy used to come for inspection and without going round and the shout names of the people who are 'Chavu'. I did not attend parade one morning as I was a guard that day and the guy called my name.
#86 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:34:35 AM

Do you remember the swearing? The first few days I was in shock. I could not believe someone can swear like that. Haki ya m***? Being sworn by an afande. How? Hiyo ndio discipline.

I used to call my friend afande. One day our commandant overheard us. He was so incessed. Siku hiyo tulimea.
#87 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:35:03 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

I lose my bearings, was the coup attempt before or after NYS? You remember Mwandawiro's guard of honour - I thought that was before the coup?

Have also lost my bearings. But I also recall that before that ill-fated "guard of honour" the comrades would keep their NYS uniform after training. After that mwandawiro incident, the only souvenir the pre-university students would get after the training was an NYS badge.
#88 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:36:09 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Anyway: the idea was left hanging and no one mentioned it for four years... then came the 1982 Coup attempt. And UoN [the only university at the time; KU was KUC and JKU was under construction as JKCAT] students joined the "Power" brigade led by the Air Force...

When things cooled down; JJ Kamotho announced that it is necessary to discipline students before they joined the university, and therefore, the NYS programme was quickly put together in 1983 [I think]. The first group was there for only one month...

That guard of honour was in 1985; the coup attempt was 1982
#89 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:37:45 AM

mukiha wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
mukiha wrote:

That guard of honour was in 1985; the coup attempt was 1982

Kweli tarehe zinachanganya maguka hapa.........
#90 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:41:48 AM

Now that @Mukiha has mentioned 1985, I now remember what occasioned the long university closure that necessitated a double intake for both 1985 and 1986 "A" groups.

Moi had closed the university indefinitely and literally thrown the keys into the indian ocean.
#91 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:42:41 AM

Here is a photo of Mwandawiro being arrested by special branch officers after the guard of honour...

The photo is from "The Weekly Review" of 12th Feb 1985. The incident happened on 10th Feb 1985.

And to think that I failed in history and dropped it at form 2...
#92 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 10:46:47 AM

Now Mwandawiro's action should be a good lesson to the current idiots who think that they can only be heard when they throw stones and beat up pedestrians and motorists on the streets...
#93 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 11:24:17 AM

wanyuru wrote:
hahahaha crazy stuff. dont knw who to quote. ....that bit on 'maswali ya maanaLaughing out loudly eti kufanya mchanga nini?Laughing out loudly hahaha. wendz give us ur bit of the experience...looks like u gals joined afta kina guka and found kina magigi 'erecting ten ts' he he he

@Wanyuru....NYS came waaaay after we were through.... When it started, the gals were in Naivasha....

@Kaigangio, i picked "skiving" from kids i was teaching back in late 80s... and i have also heard looooots of stories from my friends of what they went through.... may be 10 years later i will be using words i am learning from the likes of @mwende!!

There is a friend who was telling me of how the last lot was asked to go back to prepare for a "parade" for Moi... and they refused... engaged the afandes in a good fight and then ran away to sleep in the bush.... the afandes crept into the bush and "hid" amongst the students... at 4am, the "flare" was thrown up and the night immedately turned to day and the afandes could now see the students... what happened after that is a story worth being written in history books.....
#94 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 11:42:01 AM

mukiha wrote:
BTW: I still vividly remember how this whole idea started in 1978. Moi was giving his first Jamhuri Day speech as president. In it he mentioned that the government was planning to introduce a "National Service Programme" for second-year university students. The idea being that they would be enlisted into the civil service for a year to do odd-jobs in their field of study and get paid some little pocket money.

That was in the official written speech. When he finished reading; he elaborated a few things in Kiswahili and there he explained the new idea using the example of a student studying an agricultural degree: "Tutatume yeye kusaidia wakulima kwa mwaka mmoja. Halafu tuta pea yeye pesa kidogo ya kununua chakula na nguo. Baada ya mwaka, atarudi shule na kumaliza masomo yake.

"Mtu kama huyo atapata experience ya kazi na atatusaidia kupunguza garama ya mishahara ya serikali..."

Or something to that effect. [Do I need to translate?]. At the time, I thought it was a brilliant idea, until the media reported the story the following day saying "University students to get para-military training"

I wondered whether we were listening to the same speech...

And now I remember why the programme was stopped....

Due to the large number of university students expected in the A-Level + 8-4-4 double intake, Egerton University was allowed to use the Gigil Camp as its Laikipia Campus.

So, the NYS had to move out of the place. There was no other camp to accommodate the pre-university programme students [this time the number was double that of previous years].

Therefore, the idea died a natural death.

Sorry; Naivasha, not Gilgil
Mpenzi
#95 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 1:43:59 PM

There is a friend who was telling me of how the last lot was asked to go back to prepare for a "parade" for Moi... and they refused... engaged the afandes in a good fight and then ran away to sleep in the bush.... the afandes crept into the bush and "hid" amongst the students... at 4am, the "flare" was thrown up and the night immedately turned to day and the afandes could now see the students... what happened after that is a story worth being written in history books.....

I was in the last lot and nothing like that happened. That incident happened in 1987 - the double-intake lot. For reasons I cant remember, the lot left Gilgil without passing out, joined campus and were then recalled after a few weeks to pass out. Having joined campus, they couldnt take any further harassment from the afandes and a major fight occurred - with rumours of one or two deaths.
#96 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 2:07:06 PM

Olskulaz maze 2nawarspect 2 xana!
Kirika
#97 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 2:23:06 PM

Ati " inuua mguu GK ionekane"

#98 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 3:07:19 PM

@ mpenzi,

looks like you were not in the last lot...wendz is right...

this is what happened,

after the passing out parade the pre-uni kamneiz were advised that they would represent the university community in the first nyayo era (actually error) celebrations which were to be held on 1/10/1988 in Nyayo stadium...it was an occassion which was going to have so many groups and organisations represented in a grand march along with the military...

the only freshers who had been admittedand reported to university before that date were university of Nairobi and the KU...MOI and Egerton were to report much later (january 1989 i think)...the freshers who had been admitted in the universities spent two weeks in the colleges and were ferried back to the NYS Gilgil using the University buses to start the nyayo era matching practices...

mind you it had been made clear that this was a presidential invitation and as such the participants at the NYS would be entitled to 5 star treatment and not the previous experience that that the pre-uni kamneiz went through....

in NYS we were received rather well, but the first meal on arrival was ndengus and rice, just like the previous meals...everyone was jittery...supper the same story...we enquired but we were told that there was a logistical problem that required to be solved and everything would be streamlined...

day number 2...breakfast, the same treatment as previously...lunch and supper the same...the participants complaints on meals fell on deaf ears...

day number three...enough was enough...broke into the kitchens and guys made away with loaves, powder milk, sugar etc....lunch hour guys went to Gilgil town and abudoned the matching practice...the tension was building rather fast...in the evening, no supper and then...one of the boys was harassed by some ncios as he was leaving the ladies barracks and was frogmatched into the institutions cells...

this is when the hell broke loose...the pre-uni guys grouped and matched one by one to the cells...broke in and got the comrade out as they unhooked all the curtains and made a bonfire...and as fire lit spitting some angry tongues of flames more than 10 feet up, the kamneiz guys were singing at the top of their voices."moooto umewaka leo...moooto umewaka leo....tuimbe haleluya moto umewaka"...the time was around 9.00pm at night..

in the meantime the regulars and ncios were grouping near the sewage pods preparing for an all out war....

niendelee ama nisiendelee????
story teller
#99 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 3:23:40 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@ mpenzi,

looks like you were not in the last lot...wendz is right...

this is what happened,

after the passing out parade the pre-uni kamneiz were advised that they would represent the university community in the first nyayo era (actually error) celebrations which were to be held on 1/10/1988 in Nyayo stadium...it was an occassion which was going to have so many groups and organisations represented in a grand march along with the military...

the only freshers who had been admittedand reported to university before that date were university of Nairobi and the KU...MOI and Egerton were to report much later (january 1989 i think)...the freshers who had been admitted in the universities spent two weeks in the colleges and were ferried back to the NYS Gilgil using the University buses to start the nyayo era matching practices...

mind you it had been made clear that this was a presidential invitation and as such the participants at the NYS would be entitled to 5 star treatment and not the previous experience that that the pre-uni kamneiz went through....

in NYS we were received rather well, but the first meal on arrival was ndengus and rice, just like the previous meals...everyone was jittery...supper the same story...we enquired but we were told that there was a logistical problem that required to be solved and everything would be streamlined...

day number 2...breakfast, the same treatment as previously...lunch and supper the same...the participants complaints on meals fell on deaf ears...

day number three...enough was enough...broke into the kitchens and guys made away with loaves, powder milk, sugar etc....lunch hour guys went to Gilgil town and abudoned the matching practice...the tension was building rather fast...in the evening, no supper and then...one of the boys was harassed by some ncios as he was leaving the ladies barracks and was frogmatched into the institutions cells...

this is when the hell broke loose...the pre-uni guys grouped and matched one by one to the cells...broke in and got the comrade out as they unhooked all the curtains and made a bonfire...and as fire lit spitting some angry tongues of flames more than 10 feet up, the kamneiz guys were singing at the top of their voices."moooto umewaka leo...moooto umewaka leo....tuimbe haleluya moto umewaka"...the time was around 9.00pm at night..

in the meantime the regulars and ncios were grouping near the sewage pods preparing for an all out war....

Endelea mzee but what happened (what i heard) after that wasn't pleasant at all..very very bad things happened. The story was hushed up by the Moi gava...
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
#100 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 3:43:22 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@

am waiting for the juicy part