wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

We are in a Bear Market: Whats your Strategy?
the deal
#1 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 1:10:17 PM

I'm a perennial optimist i always get nauseated when somebody mentions the word "Bear" to me. For starters a Bear is a prolonged declined in stock value, weather i like it or not i have to admit the NSE is on a bear run. Companies have been posting double digit/record profits yet we have not seen a similar response in terms of share price movement.

I attribute the current bear run to the current political impasse, the country is caught in.

So whats my strategy?

http://contrarianinvestingkenya.blogspot.com/
QW25071985
#2 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 1:25:27 PM

One word for me : DEFENSIVE STOCKS.
That where ur money shld be at .
Using wazua stockprofiler look at all those stocks that did well during the recession and credit crunch.that where your hard money shld be.forget bargain hunting in a bear market coz u dnt know where the stocks will settle @
so if u ask me YES there's money to be made in a bear market only if you buy DEFENSIVE STOCKS.
#3 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 1:52:38 PM

@QW which are some of these defensive stocks?

#4 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 1:56:29 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
That where ur money shld be at .
Using wazua stockprofiler look at all those stocks that did well during the recession and credit crunch.that where your hard money shld be.forget bargain hunting in a bear market coz u dnt know where the stocks will settle @
so if u ask me YES there's money to be made in a bear market only if you buy DEFENSIVE STOCKS.

But will defensive stocks make you money when the bull shows up? me thinks, look for a share whose fundamentals are good but its at its lowest in price... ... these shares will soar when the bull hits the ground... Personally, i would go for KK and KPLC..

Athi River doesnt look so bad either.... I wonder what is exciting it so much today! Any news?
Muthawamunene
#5 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 2:00:48 PM

QW25071985 wrote:

Actually, those are two words. but i forgive you

Cde Monomotapa
#6 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 2:21:37 PM

Muthawamunene wrote:
QW25071985 wrote:

Lolest!!
#7 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 3:34:56 PM

My strategy is to hold strong counters that cannot lose more than 15% in the worst bear and can gain more than 30% in a normal bull. I still maintain that what we have is an artificial bull misinformed by politics.

QW25071985
#8 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 3:41:20 PM

@ muthawa.... U keep talkin nonsence there when ur portfolio is bleeding like a teenage gal who broke her virginity.
U shld be buying the high yeild defensive stock to ride out these temporary bear.
Muthawamunene
#9 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 4:26:55 PM

and the way shez filling up. Its like a girl at puberty. Dont forget tuko na wewe kwa pride of africa and that green elephant of ours (coop). If yours has changed then you must have taken a loss with you. My exposure to the market is very minimal. So it may be bleeding, but i can sure survive without it. Capital gains is not my concern, future prospects and dividends is all i want.

Relax, budah, dnt be so uptight. take time to laugh once in a while.
Genghis Khan
#10 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 5:01:25 PM

Cash

Stay out of sight till the bears are fed... come out and feed on the carcasses...

The tricky part is coming out @ just the right time... too soon you could run into a bear... too late and other scavengers will have had the best pickings!

"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
#11 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 5:26:03 PM

@qw, I think cash is king in a bear, not OFFENSIVE stocks
#12 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 5:46:14 PM

Pesa iko kwwa mfuko. Well... until later in the year when guys sell as they fear the election crises that the usual suspects are already creating!
#13 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 5:53:49 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Muthawamunene wrote:
QW25071985 wrote:

Lolest!!
Hesabu na Kiingereza ni ngumu...
erifloss
#14 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 6:02:30 PM

'Bulls make money, BEARS MAKE MONEY, Pigs get slaughtered' Gordon Gekko. Someone somewhere always makes money, take an example of OCH today or guys who have started or will make a kill on betting against the usd.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Muthawamunene
#15 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 6:41:25 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Muthawamunene wrote:
QW25071985 wrote:

Lolest!!
Hesabu na Kiingereza ni ngumu...

manze acheni kuiingilia qw, mtafanya aanze kunidiss facebook. kila mtu hukosea grammar
hisah
#16 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 7:10:26 PM

Defensive stocks so far - City Trust, NMG, Limuru Tea, BAT - I'm looking at those that have not lost more than 15% since the bear started to feast...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
QW25071985
#17 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 7:55:20 PM

Ooooops . thought defensive stocks was quite obvious, as @ hisah has said

they also include ARM , WTK and NMG.they are a good place to park your money to ride out the bear..

and bytheway whenever defensive stocks start rallyin better know there a problem and the bear is starting to get a grip on the market as is the case.
the deal
#18 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 8:23:45 PM

Me thinks its not yet time to b all defensive...its still wait and see game...it all depends if the Ocampo6 will to the Hague...if they dont...then expect a mass exodus from the foreigners and there will be an annihilation at the NSE so lets wait for 7 April...
#19 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 9:03:32 PM

Don't try to time the market. Just buy gradually.
For Sport
#20 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 9:31:48 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Don't try to time the market. Just buy gradually.

This works for me. I’m pathetic at timing. Have been investing a regular amount on a monthly basis. Will keep buying all the way to the bottom of this bear.
Main focus is on blue chips, particularly those whose price is way up there in a normal market.
Will be adding me some beer, some banks (BBK, KCB) and maybe some oil – stocks i’ve been holding for some time, and will be happy to hold anytime.

Also keeping a piggy bank (my war chest) in the hope that the doom enough of us are predicting for next year at the nse comes to pass.

When the market turns up, I’ll stop buying and watch people chasing the price up (and starting threads on this and that bus or plane taking off). I have time on my side.