wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

Highway thugs- kakuzi
#11 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2011 11:03:08 AM

By the way, if you drive often at night in areas notorious for these nails on the road robberies, there is a way of protecting yourself.

There is a 'paste' that is put in the tyres which seals any piercing immediately. Its available in Kenya though I don't know the exact name of the 'paste' and the company that does it.
Prime
#12 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2011 12:18:07 PM

@maichblack... I meant if you found the road ahead blocked by some other vehicle that had the puncture and you wanted to assist. Don't get out of the car until you get several vehicles stopping.
Tommy
#13 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2011 3:30:13 PM

By the way, if you drive often at night in areas notorious for these nails on the road robberies, there is a way of protecting yourself.

There is a 'paste' that is put in the tyres which seals any piercing immediately. Its available in Kenya though I don't know the exact name of the 'paste' and the company that does it.

@maichmuiru, its called autoseal. I heard somebody say that its bure kabisa since it dries after sometime and doesn't seal when dry. If your tyres are in good condition, i dont think its necessary.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#14 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2011 3:35:12 PM

Wa! Thanks for the heads up guys..

Some friends of mine and I fell prey to that nail thing sometime last year. We were 3ladies and 1dude coming from some funeral late at night. Having heard stories of that stretch before the incidence..i lamost pee'd on myself when we got the flat tyre around that area. We drove on until the car could move no more. We were rescued by two matatus that stopped and guarded us until we fixed the tyre. We were sooo grateful we tipped the matatu guys but still felt like we hadnt thanked them enough. We owed our lives to them. They actually told us they only stopped when they saw we were harmless looking ladies,and they couldnt imagine what would have happened to us if those goons pounced on us. I always whisper a prayer for those anonymus matatu guys..they were God sent