wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Safcom- Call with zero balance
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 7:00:00 PM

Safcoms new 'Okoa Jahazi' service. For emergencies when umeishiwa na credo...

Just dial *131* and get some credo. To be repaid in 7dys.

As usual,terms and conditions apply.

mmmmmm....whats ua view??

'Tough times never last but tough peope do.'
jerry
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 7:48:00 PM

It would be a good idea to counter the annoying 'please call me,thank you' but most SafCons r not credit-worthy. Si uVuke tu.

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
cxz
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 8:10:00 PM

washiku umechelewa. Jinga day ended at 12pm

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool’s wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
mkagollah
#4 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 12:09:00 AM

I am imagining of a situation where a quarter of Safcom subscribers request for the same in a given day!That would be 3million times the Kes 50 credit which will be 150million in aday.commision on the same is kes 5 times the 3million subscribers.Wololo thats 15million without ku struggle yaani!!I see Safcom is there to make money.Come on Vain-Zain- do something!!!

mkagollah
Pierce
#5 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 4:49:00 AM

@ Mka.. which commissions are five times....

By the way this thing is real sio maneno ya siku ya wajinga
novestor
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 5:49:00 AM

And others follow......

Learn something new everyday
Learn Something New Every Day!
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 5:51:00 AM

How much are they kopesharing?......how do they determine ones creditworthness??....How do they recover the debt??....

Guka wa bijuti...
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 5:56:00 AM

Depends on your re-loading history,kama wewe ni wa mia kila mwezi they will give you 20bob,otherwise 50bob for dependable customers!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 8:13:00 AM

Am told if you dial *131#1 then you borrow bamba 50 which you will repay when you top up. Anyone who has tried this!

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 9:04:00 AM

Great idea.....I thought it should have gone very well with CETEL's 'Tuendelee Kuongea' slogan...especially during the PEV when there was a nation-wide airtime shortage.

Still; a great idea.

Zain!! Amkeni!!
Fatcat
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 9:49:00 AM

Subscribers can borrow upto 50/=,and pay back within seven days-recovered when one next loads up-fee for this is 5/=.I smell a rip off in this!! Check the returns from this that safcom will make-like 10% on each loan!! Ni kubaya kweli.

Whatever exists has already been named,and what man is has been known; no man can contend with one who is stronger than he.
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 10:15:00 AM

Its working.

'Tough times never last but tough peope do.'
Iganamagana
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 12:00:00 PM

@Fatcat.

The service is meant for emergency situations. Anyway,MJ is in the business of minting money. Ngonja wengine watasema hana banking licence.

IGANA.
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 12:14:00 PM

I swear this is a master stroke........Yaani MJ has legally beaten the law against shylocking by invoking the word 'emergency'......hehe...!!......Soon i might borrow from M-pesa and pay an agitated landlord.......heheh..!

Guka wa bijuti...
Pierce
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 1:40:00 PM

By the way Guka......come to think of it that's very possible.

Knowing Safcom-their strategists must be working day and night on how to formulate that module(M-Pesa loans) so that they can do it with minimal risk of default/bad debts

Shoun't be that difficult though!

#16 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 1:57:00 PM

Kamzee ka peugot....I have been unable to distinguish safaricom airtime and currency...they are the same to me.....exchange rate:50bob=bamba 50... to me this is a 'loan' that compounds to over 500% Per annum....loan shark mkali...

Ninajua Yote!
A New Kenya
thunder
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 2:34:00 PM

This is just ingenious!!

But they should remove the 5bob charge - Zain,YU etc can copy the formulae and have it at no pay and pple will move to them.

His 2nd coming is nigh! I need the Truth!!
Faida Hasara
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 2:44:00 PM

It is all about serving a need,the genius who came up with this product will sure get a deadly bonus as kenyans are wrming to credits like the americans in the late 90s.

The charge is high when you talk of volumes(anyway they are there to make pesa not charity),but to each individual its a sure better deal to pay an extra 5 bob and make an emrgency call.

The product also serves to purpose,earn interest(the 5bobs) and encourage voice calls,talk of killing two birds with one stone. They have really gotten this so so rightttt.

#19 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 2:46:00 PM

Same style of biashara. Ati 10% for 7 days. It is like Equity who charges 3% (or more) to 'discount' a cheque. 3% per month compounded is over 50% per year!

No wonder Equity does not want to show the 'real' cost of borrowing funds aka Annual Percentage Rate.

Lakini for safcon,this will be a money-maker coz Kenyans like credit even if expensive.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2009 2:53:00 PM

VVS,before u go bashing equity everywhere,join them first and understand their services,people like me who are there aint complaining

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!