CFC Stanbic Results
xxxxx
#1 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 11:15:38 AM

Bank analysts, please analyse this one for me

http://www.reuters.com/a...c-idUSLDE72K01820110321

thanks
madebe
#2 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 11:41:15 AM

Bank's EPS 12.1 from 6.51 last years. banks dividend is 2.38.

Insurance business EPS 0.54 from loss of 1.72 last year. Dividends not stated but i think hakuna.

GROUP EPS 5.86 with div of 0.804

SUMMARY:
...the bank part of the demerged CFC will be a buy with PE of about 6.5

... the insurance business is just bogus

verdict: just buy, the bank piece at 78 bob is worth it. the insurance bit ni ugali saucer

trizher
#3 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 11:55:23 AM

@ Madebe....whats the dividend to be paid?...Kshs 0.804 or Kshs 2.38?.
...Na hiyo insurance arm itakuwa kama how much hivi in the market?
...We do it for the $$$$!!
madebe
#4 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 12:28:02 PM

the div will be 0.804. but once the thing is demerged, the bank side will in most likelihood give the current year's div i.e 2.38

the insurance bit may cost a token ie at a pe of 10 it should cost ksh 5.4

trizher
#5 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 12:33:07 PM

@ Madebe...thanks for the reply....that means a dividend of 0.804 and a share worth about 5 bob that gives a total of 5.8Kshs...not bad at all. Hopin they will hasten the spinning wheels...
moneydust
#6 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 12:37:28 PM

madebe wrote:
Bank's EPS 12.1 from 6.51 last years. banks dividend is 2.38.

Insurance business EPS 0.54 from loss of 1.72 last year. Dividends not stated but i think hakuna.

GROUP EPS 5.86 with div of 0.804

SUMMARY:
...the bank part of the demerged CFC will be a buy with PE of about 6.5

... the insurance business is just bogus

verdict: just buy, the bank piece at 78 bob is worth it. the insurance bit ni ugali saucer

Can any one explain why the group Eps is 5.86 while the bank Eps is 12.1 and yet the insurance side is profitable..What could have brought the Eps down
madebe
#7 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 12:48:59 PM

@moneydust: the only explanation has to do with weighting. i assume the group has a lower percentage of the bank and a higher % of the insurance. but dont take that as a gospel truth. more details will come in annual report
xxxxx
#8 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 1:17:33 PM

Anyone seen the actual results yet??? eg pdf on nse website??
mwanahisa
#9 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 1:22:41 PM

@Madebe, the bank is owned almost fully by CFC Stanbic Holdings. The latest information that I have is that the bank has about 122 million shares in issue. On the other hand CFC Stanbic Holdings has almost 274 million shares issued.

The higher EPS in the bank does not therefore mean an equivalent EPS to you as a shareholder of CFC Stanbic Holdings after the demerger as you have to share out the bank's earnings over a higher number of shares.

In my view Kshs 78 is way too high to pay for the group as this PE still compares unfavourably with other financials when you also consider other factors such as growth etc. Guys who buy at these prices may get roasted when the full picture emerges.
the deal
#10 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 1:27:24 PM

@xxxxx check todays DN....its 6 pages of actual results...the insurance biz had a turnover of 5 billion shilling only to return PAT of 260 Million shillings...LMAO..no wonder the demerger.
trizher
#11 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 1:40:33 PM

xxxxx wrote:

i have the results on my email........sijui kupost kwa wazua
erifloss
#12 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 1:47:12 PM

trizher wrote:

Currently all shareholders are Shareholders of the Holding Co. thus the income has been absorbed by the Parent Co. At the current prices, the bank is underpriced while the Insurance biz is averagely priced.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
xxxxx
#13 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 1:54:57 PM

trizher wrote:
xxxxx wrote:

Please email to trisha_mugerwa@yahoo.com
thanks
trizher
#14 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 2:02:35 PM

erifloss wrote:
trizher wrote:

Currently all shareholders are Shareholders of the Holding Co. thus the income has been absorbed by the Parent Co. At the current prices, the bank is underpriced while the Insurance biz is averagely priced.

Thanks Broh
trizher
#15 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 2:09:33 PM

xxxxx wrote:
trizher wrote:
xxxxx wrote:

Please email to trisha_mugerwa@yahoo.com
thanks

Ukipata acknowledge hapa pliz
trizher
#16 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 2:12:04 PM

......try this link....

http://attachments.wetpa...kqzY-UaaFcxIqZkb7g258396
xxxxx
#17 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 2:23:08 PM

[quote=trizher]......try this link....

http://attachments.wetpa...qzY-UaaFcxIqZkb7g258396[/quote]

ASANTE
trizher
#18 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 3:37:51 PM

Can someone please shed some light or darkness about this report....
#19 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 3:53:25 PM

v Total operating income up by 35% to KShs.12 Bn.

v Staff costs up by 51% due to additional head count for expansion and new product support.

v Non interest revenue increased by KShs.2.9 Bn mainly driven by enhanced trading volumes and higher investment income.

v Profit before tax rose by 271% to KShs. 2.6 Billion.

v Profit after-tax grew to KShs. 1.8 Billion from 36 Million in 2009, 4,875 % increment.

v Basic and diluted earnings per share hit Kshs.5.86 up from KShs.(0.22) recorded in 2009.

v The directors recommended a final dividend per share of KSh.0.804 for 2010.The dividend will be paid on or after 25 May 2011 to the shareholders on the Register of Members at the close of business on 19 May,2011,the Books closure date.

v The group’s total asset base stands at 140 Billion KShs,10% improvement..

v Shareholder funds grew by 12% to KSh.22 Bn.