wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

LIBYA: Another Iraq?
Salesman
#1 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2011 3:34:01 PM

Wazurians, the info trickling frm Libya is worrying. The war is slowly building up in the name of no-fly zone resolution. Is the world off to another devastating oil price levels we once witnessed when Bushyman & TB decided to go for Saddam's WMD? Is this war that started last night here to stay?
Peperusha barua to rls.nbo@gmail.com
Braza
#2 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2011 6:39:23 PM

ance of assets for Libya
military action
The Associated Press
Here's a look at some of the
international military assets in or
heading to the region to help
enforce the U .N .- sanctioned no -fly
zone over Libya :
United States :
— After barrage of attacks by sea -
launched Tomahawk cruise missiles
Saturday, an array of U .S . warplanes
— including several Air force B - 2
stealth bombers — followed in the
pre- dawn hours Sunday with a
coordinated assault using precision -
guided bombs
—Navy EA-18 G Growlers launched
from unspecified land bases to
provide electronic warfare support
over Libya .
—Marine AV- 8B Harriers from the
USS Kearsarge sailing in the
Mediterranean conducted strikes
against Gadhafi's ground forces and
air defenses .
France:
—Deployed eight Rafale and four
Mirage jets to survey rebel -held
Benghazi ; one fired on a Libyan
military vehicle in first military strike
of operation.
—Six C- 135 refueling tankers
—1 AWACS surveillance plane
—Deployed the Charles de Gaulle
aircraft carrier to the region from
Toulon, accompanied by the anti-
submarine frigate Dupleix , the
Aconit frigate and a refueling ship ,
La Meuse .
Canada:
—Sent six F -18 s to Italy base ; 140
military personnel involved.
—Frigate HMCS Charlottetown is in
Mediterranean for possible staging
ground for Canadian forces.
Denmark :
—Six F- 16s arrived at U .S . air base in
Sigonella, Sicily and could be
deployed as early as Sunday; 132
support staff.
Italy:
—Offered use of seven military
bases: U .S . air bases at Sigonella ,
Sicily and Aviano in northern Italy ;
Italian air bases in Amendola near
Foggia, Decimomannu in Sardinia ,
Gioia del Colle near Bari , base on
Sicilian island of Pantelleria , and the
military airport of Trapani, Sicily .
—Proposed NATO base in Naples
serve as coordination point for
operation.
—Says it has four anti- radar and
anti-missile Tornados and six other
aircraft available to fly with 15
minutes notice .
—Aircraft carrier Giuseppe Garibaldi
off Sicily with eight aircraft aboard .
Spain:
—Sent four F -18s and a Boeing 707
refueling plane to Italy base.
—Deploying a submarine , naval
frigate and a surveillance plane.
—Placed two bases at NATO's
disposal, Rota and Moron de la
Frontera, where several U. S. Air
Force planes were seen Friday.
Britain:
—Said it would send Typhoon and
Tornado jets to air bases Sunday or
Monday.
—Britain' s air base in southern
Cyprus, RAF Akrotiri , supporting
AWACS surveillance aircraft and has
a team of personnel there to
coordinate British aircraft
movement.
—Two British frigates , HMS
Westminster and HMS Cumberland ,
are in the Mediterranean off Libya 's
coast.
Norway:
—Offered six F -16s , with around 100
support staff, but operational
capabilities five -six days off.
—Considering contributing an Orion
maritime surveillance plane.
Belgium:
—8 Belgian F -16s and 200 air force
personnel are now at the Greek air
base of Araxos west of Athens , the
Belga news agency reported . They
will be ready to start flying missions
on Monday .
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
accomplished
#3 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2011 7:34:00 PM

The arabian world have themselves to blame for falling to U.S 'democracy' trickeries.Before they know it mafuta yote kwenda.Masters of violent capitalism
#4 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2011 8:18:37 PM

I totally support the US and the UN security council let them find col.gaddaffi and hang him like they did saddam hussein...better capitalism than legalism any day...
#5 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2011 8:44:43 PM

@ maka, Saddam was tried and executed by the Iraqi govt not US or UN.
#6 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2011 8:44:48 PM

U really think they r interested in gaddafi per se? U also think they helped Iraq? Lets wait n see the drama unfold, bt the effects tutazifeel, n Libya may never be the same.
For Sport
#7 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2011 9:57:00 PM

The curse of oil...
amga
#8 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2011 9:59:17 PM

@ Lolest, though Saddam was executed it was in Iraqi govt under US control. no diff at all. ask the Russians as they experienced in Afganistan u can buy an Arab but never his allegiance. recall the handover of the lockerbie bomber to Libya (read Gaddaffi)it was all oil interest. check how much B.P got oil rights after the deal. now that it didn't work i fear the worst is yet to come.
#9 Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2011 10:17:10 PM

I wish Somalia had oil: the caring brothers from the west would have protected Somali civillians from inhuman treatment from the warlords.
accomplished
#10 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 2:11:21 PM

@Laughing out loudly what's the difference between Iraq govt,US, and UN?We need another superpower before all our countries are ripped apart.Ndo hao sasa wameenda Syria
#11 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 2:28:19 PM

accomplished wrote:
@Laughing out loudly what's the difference between Iraq govt,US, and UN?We need another superpower before all our countries are ripped apart.Ndo hao sasa wameenda Syria

Who's ripping Libya apart? Qaddafi or the US?

#12 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 2:44:14 PM

It's easier to sit and watch people get massacred than to actually do something about it or worse complain when another legitimate body does something. The AU has perfected it to pave way for a begrudging Arab League.
tony stark
#13 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 3:00:21 PM

@ maka, Saddam was tried and executed by the Iraqi govt not US or UN.

Oh so puppets can control their actions nowadays. Kwani ni mapinochio??
#14 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 3:17:31 PM

Cde Monomotapa
#15 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 4:37:00 PM

"America has no friends just interests"
mukoya
#16 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 5:27:02 PM

lets face it guys Khadafi angeenda kama Hosni of egypt all this ish would have been hearsay,but like kenyan politicians alikaa ngumu!
For Sport
#17 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 6:00:33 PM

@ KulaRaha, nani huyo???
#18 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 8:53:36 PM

accomplished wrote:

Step forward China mhesabiwe!
#19 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 8:56:28 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
"America has no friends just interests"

Yep. Why don't they go to Bahrain and 'free' the people? Oh I forgot, they have military bases there. They're probably using it to attack Libya. Same goes for Saudi
marko
#20 Posted : Tuesday, March 22, 2011 12:28:24 PM

I do not like what America stands for. Period.
WHO DARES WINS