wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

elec bi!!
mtaalam
#1 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 6:37:00 AM

WTF!!! My power bill is up by 150%!!!

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas. Those of average intelligence talk about things. Stupid people talk about other people.
#2 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 6:46:00 AM

What? 2nd person complaining of a high bill with all the rationing? I dread what to expect! Who else has received? Anything amiss?

“Money frees you from doing things you dislike. Since I dislike doing nearly everything,money is handy.” ~ Groucho Marx.............

#3 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 7:12:00 AM

Expected.......Power generated by fossil fuel power plants ain't cheap.......Interestingly,one known company always appears whenever we run low on water levels in our hydro-dams....mmmhhh...a kill.Ama this is what they call 'kula na vijiko mbili'?

Old man about town....
luxel
#4 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 7:22:00 AM

But considering that the fuel generated power is yet to be distributed (and end rationing) why is it that the bills have already been adjusted. I would have expected this to affect the september bills which will be paid in october!
The General
#5 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 7:36:00 AM

@ Njunge,

I concur with your observation.

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
#6 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 7:57:00 AM

C'mon Luxel.........This plants were in operation long before rationing.

Old man about town....
luxel
#7 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 8:43:00 AM

@Njunge,I agree with you the plants have been there,thats why we always get fuel adj. in our bills. But the communication we got from KPLC was that to end rationing they would rely less on hydro power and increase fuel generated power. My concern is that even before we feel the impact of the increased power that is generated (no rationing),the bills have already been adjusted. So what is the extra charge we are paying for in august bills? In other words,is KPLC raising funds to buy fuel that will be used to generate power in october-hence end rationing in then?
#8 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 8:43:00 AM

Already enjoying the prepaid kplc service,I am loving it!!!!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
The General
#9 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 9:31:00 AM

@ Luxel,

Inflation

@ McReggae

tell us more on the prepaid. Quite a brilliant idea by KP&LC

Djinn
#10 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 10:19:00 AM

Yeah,WTF with the high bills in a month of rationing? Maybe they are testing the waters prior to a price adjustment (i.e. can Kenyans pay twice as much for half as much elec?) Lets go solar as much as we can (buy charcoal irons and charcoal fridges - I mean for real - remember in school we used to make charcoal refrigerators with water,cloth,a debe and charcoal?) )

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#11 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 10:22:00 AM

We got no trees left in Mau,Djinn..... they know we are stuck!!!!

“Money frees you from doing things you dislike. Since I dislike doing nearly everything,money is handy.” ~ Groucho Marx.............

#12 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 10:37:00 AM

The General,

Once they install the new meter the have some gadget they install in you house from where you feed in the digits,for 5 sok you get like 53Kwhrs and you simply monitor your consumption as time goes. Just like paying for elec by Mpesa,you buy prepaid by MPesa instead of 888888,you use 888880.........The prepaid stuff is quite good!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
The General
#13 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 10:52:00 AM

@ McReggae,thanks.

I assume they pay for the new installations?

#14 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 1:18:00 PM

No cost involved,they do the installations themselves!!!!

Chaka
#15 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 1:31:00 PM

@Mcreggae,

What is the process.. i.e how does one apply for the meter change?
wangura
#16 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 1:40:00 PM

Mine is up 62%!!!!
jerry
#17 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 1:42:00 PM

@Mtaalam et al. What is the fuel cost adjustment? This is the major variable. And don't 4get the watoto were at home.

Crocodile tears: If you can't assist me when I'm alive en you attend my funeral.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Djinn
#18 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 1:58:00 PM

@Wendz - yes,its really ridiculous - also thinking some trees from Mau went towards making elec poles. Quite a kettle of fish. @Jerry - nice observation - I had not thought of that - kids at home. Though I recall celebrating the rationing since it will force kids to read story books,ride bikes and do other non 'plugged in' stuff (PS2,PC,TV,DVD,etc).

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#19 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 2:11:00 PM

Chaka,where I stay they were doing it for all the households,lakini ukienda electricity kuna forms which you can pick and leave them with your details!!!!

mtaalam
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 8:18:00 AM

@ jerry,

I haven't received the actual bill yet. I used 5551 and ebillquery.
Can't wait for the printed bill.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.