simonkabz wrote:@for sport, get real brother! How much is a set of complete school uniform? Can it go for less than ksh 500? Is it not mandatory? Are u suggesting we abolish this "EXPENSIVE" requirement so that our poor rural kids can feed? Dont allow antipathy towards the 1st lady obscure rationality....
Antipathy: meaning “deep seated feeling of dislike”?
No such feelings against the first lady. She is hilarious and entertaining. The slaps, protesting against jirani’s loud music, standing beside Baks as he declared he had no other family etc. No boring moments with her. And like a child, we tolerate her.
Wont even get into the debate about uniform. Of course they buy the uniform and then wear it everywhere....to school, to church, to the shamba etc. They’ve got to wear something.
My problem is the logic here. Why stop at shoes? You seriously think they are not wearing shoes because its not official policy? If a policy like that can cure poverty, sawa. Once they have the shoes, we can move on to the food. Empty stomachs are not conducive for feeding the brain. Try working while your stomach is singing solos. Remember watching all those news items about school feeding programmes and the state of education in Turkana for instance where children go to school so they can eat? Then once we have the food, we can move to the books and pencils. After all, what are they doing in school if they cant come with books and pencils. Once we have that, we can make it official policy to come with text books. Camel’s nose.
By the way, ever tried to give a hungry man the choice between food and shoes?
These shoes I take for granted.