wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

MOBILE NUMBER PORTABILITY
sihingwa
#21 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 9:45:02 AM

goodluck wrote:
Anybody on the know to kindly tell me what do I stand to gain as a common mwananchi from the mobile number portability which is to be introduced on April First.

...April fools' day...I doubt if the operators are ready
Barrywhite
#22 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 11:55:37 AM

If you port from one provider to another; with respect to Gekko's queries, if you had airtime with your old provider, you lose it - as in you cant carry it over to second provider.

If you are calling a ported number, there will be a tone warning - to indicate the number you have dialled has ported and cross-network tariff applies. So if you dont want to proceed with the call, you terminate before call set up is completed.

Porting will take 48hours - from the time you do simswap, to the time your new sim becomes active; you will have up to 14 days to port back if you are dis-satisfied; if you dont within the 14 days; you wont be able to port again until after 6 months!

And to port, you will need to pay kes. 170 + VAT. Its instructive to note that a ported number could still be affected by network issues in your old providers network as communication between your old provider and the new one is essential for you to continue getting service.

I personally think MNP is too hyped for nothing; and honestly is most markets after more than 5 years of MNP, only less that 10% of subscribers have ported.

Two Zimbabwe cents worth of my opinion.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#23 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 12:19:57 PM

Now airtel wants the charge for porting to be lower!!!!
Barrywhite
#24 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 12:27:06 PM

The charge is what will keep the porting operator based within CCK in business. It will be this porting charge plus the charges levied on calling each ported call. With industry ARPU at 350 shillings, l dont see too many people porting. Time will tell though. By the way, while at proposal stage, the porting charges were kes. 2000, then were reviewed to kes. 800, then to kes. 500 and now to kes. 170. Lets see how much lower the charges can go.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#25 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 12:31:45 PM

There are those who got trapped by the first provider to launch in the late nineties who need to port and enjoy what the majority enjoy struggled to break free and know a few who are in the yoke
A New Kenya
#26 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 12:45:51 PM

How will this MNP company sustain itself in the long last.Its obvious pple will port maybe twice First to test the service then when they get frustrated switch back.

Another thing is why would safaricom be against the service when it has the best product offering in the market.further more they will gain the most since they charge ksh 1 premium on offnet calls and I know many of us will be unable to deffereciate btwn the 2 once the porting service begins.
mozenrat
#27 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 3:08:45 PM

Barrywhite wrote:

Its instructive to note that a ported number could still be affected by network issues in your old providers network as communication between your old provider and the new one is essential for you to continue getting service.

WHAT?
Dod
#28 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 3:26:06 PM

They have waived the charges.
Source: KTN Financial markets Live at 2.00pm today.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#29 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 3:34:37 PM

Press Releases: CCK Statement on Number Portability

The attention of the Communications Commission of Kenya (CCK) has been drawn to some media reports that suggest that some mobile operators are not ready to implement Mobile Number Portability (MNP) by the set date of 1 April 2011. In view of the foregoing, the Commission wishes to state as follows:

The process of implementing MNP services in the country has been quite consultative and inclusive. Since inception of the project, the Commission has engaged mobile industry players in extensive consultations and discussions, which culminated in the signing of an agreement on 17 December 2010 in which all operators agreed to implement MNP by 1 April 2011. Subsequently, the Commission has been working closely with the mobile operators and the licensed porting service provider (i.e. M/s Porting Access Kenya) to ensure that the implementation process is on course. According to the latest signed reports of the technical meetings, all operators are ready to commence testing their MNP systems this week.
The mobile operators and M/s Porting Access Kenya have displayed utmost commitment and co-operation in implementing the service. Although the mobile operators may not be exactly at the same level of preparedness, the Commission is yet to receive any formal notification suggesting inability to implement MNP by the agreed date of 1 April 2011 from any of the licensed mobile service providers.
The Commission shall continue monitoring progress in respect to implementation of MNP and inform the public accordingly.
aydenjason
#30 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 4:47:52 PM

CRDB is the best neutral body to ever happen in the kenyan telcom industry. The playground is now level. Let the best win.
Namukhaywa: walk by me & ill take u thea.
#31 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 4:53:34 PM

Dod wrote:

How will (i.e. M/s Porting Access Kenya)make their money if it's free!!!
Dod
#32 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 5:00:31 PM

Airtel will pay for those porting to their network.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#33 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 5:10:07 PM

Dod wrote:

Thats a fantastic Idea .... you try their network for free and when you are not satisfied you pay to get out.
Dod
#34 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 5:21:42 PM

selah wrote:
Dod wrote:

Thats a fantastic Idea .... you try their network for free and when you are not satisfied you pay to get out.

captainrio
#35 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 6:09:33 PM

ok - i understand that none of the telecoms companies are ready for the portability..this is KENYA afterall!!
vimto2505
#36 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 7:34:58 PM

Dod wrote:

How will (i.e. M/s Porting Access Kenya)make their money if it's free!!!

They will get commission from CCK or they will get commission from part of fees paid by subscriber for porting. ( 200 kenyan currency i guess )

Porting fees is just 35 KENYAN CURRENCY ( 19 Rs ) in India.
For Sport
#37 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 9:33:05 PM

For Sport
#38 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 9:39:49 PM

There's another thread on this here:
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...m=157871&#post157871
mozenrat
#39 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 10:29:39 AM

For Sport wrote:
http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=11509#post157145

Hii ni mchezo gani?