wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

MOBILE NUMBER PORTABILITY
goodluck
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 6:11:04 PM

Anybody on the know to kindly tell me what do I stand to gain as a common mwananchi from the mobile number portability which is to be introduced on April First.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 6:39:38 PM

1. if I have say 2k on my prepaid scon and I port to airtel, will that credit also move?
2. I call a ported 0733xxx from my airtel number, I will expect to pay ksh 1/- or will I be charged ksh 3/- it would cost to call scon from airtel yet I have no idea who is hosting the number I'm calling?
livie
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 8:06:34 PM

thank God for three sim cells.........
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 8:31:20 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
1. if I have say 2k on my prepaid scon and I port to airtel, will that credit also move?
2. I call a ported 0733xxx from my airtel number, I will expect to pay ksh 1/- or will I be charged ksh 3/- it would cost to call scon from airtel yet I have no idea who is hosting the number I'm calling?

Wow, this is a good one. There's been nothing said about this bit.
Dod
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 8:39:45 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

If the 0733xxx is ported then I guess it will no longer be airtel.Sad so not ksh 1/-
Grey areas indeed....
How has portability fared in other markets?
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
story teller
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 9:00:10 PM

Dod wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

If the 0733xxx is ported then I guess it will no longer be airtel.Sad so not ksh 1/-
Grey areas indeed....
How has portability fared in other markets?

My understanding of portability though not in the Kenyan market is you get to keep your telephone/wireless phone number regardless of who your wireless service provider is. Once your number is ported from say safaricom to airtel, airtel will be your new wireless provider and hence will bill you, not scom.

A lot of people prefer to keep their current telephone numbers due to a number of reasons..paying bills, school contacts for your kids, banking etc.

If airtel provides a better rate, then you can jump ship without losing your current phone number by changing service providers.
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
KenyanLyrics
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 9:09:11 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Those are network lock-in tactics. I expect that network portability will deter such practices
BGL
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 9:17:24 PM

I have done it before.... number portability.
You only go to the mobile provider of choice and say you want to migrate....., fill in some forms and get a new sim card. The mobile provide will check with your current provider whether you have any legal obligations yet to be settled (post-paid clients only). You just wait for some 24hrs or there about and your current sim card loses network and you load the new simcard provided by the provider you are migrating to. That simple and it was free.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Tommy
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 11:14:07 PM

what about if i had unutilised airtime? what will happen to it and which n/work will bill me on the unutilised funds?
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
bird_man
#10 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 11:33:26 PM

@BGL . . .why cant it be done automatically?e.g get a regulator company that monitors and switches you from one network to another while still using the same sim card?The filling forms part feels cumbersome to me.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 11:54:20 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Those are network lock-in tactics. I expect that network portability will deter such practices

What do you mean lock-in tactics? @Gekko's question highlights the complexities of number portability. Just how is someone billed when calling a number from the same network which has apparently been ported to another network? On-net rates or off-net rates?
Outvestor
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 12:12:43 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

There will be standard way of notifying callers that the called number has been ported. The current proposal is to have three beeps before the ringing tone/ringback tone is heard.

In my view, MNP will not result in any significant subscriber churn.

¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
BGL
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 1:45:30 AM

Tommy wrote:
what about if i had unutilised airtime? what will happen to it and which n/work will bill me on the unutilised funds?

YOU LOSE IT
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
grolut
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 2:53:33 AM

I've done this before too. All I had to do was call my current provider for a code and had to pay £10. Then bought a new sim from my new provider of choice gave them the code and I just had to switch off my phone for a couple of minutes and voila! Any credit you had will be lost though. You will be charged per your new provider's rates as if you had just bought a new sim card from them.

Only reason I won't be switching is because of m-pesa.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Muheani
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 11:15:55 AM

1-that we shall loose all the services/products that we are enjoying with our current service provide
2-that we can only port once in 6p0 days
3- that we have a 14 day period after porting in which u can channge your mind and go back
4-that the charge is about 200/ every time you port and the service provider you are porting to could pay on your behalf
5-you cannot port if you have debts including eg okoa jahazi with your current provider
6-if you roam you can only port 90 days after you are back so you can pay all your debts
7-that u will get a new sim card for your new provider ie a sim replacement for your number will be done by your new provider
8- you might not be able to tell when u are calling offnet to someone who has already ported

etc etc
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 1:39:50 PM

I now think it will be an effort in futility. Mimi niko na....
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 3:36:51 PM

@grolut, then that means, to answer Gekko's query, he will be charged sh3 for calling a ported 0733XX number from his Airtel number. Am I wrong?

3 things may likely make it an exercise in futility, with regards to the Kenyan market.
1. The fact that people have not been told their airtime will be lost when the number has been ported.
2. The fact that subcribers will not know when they are calling a ported number thus affecting their billing. Or even when they know, they will not call, 'Shucks, its not on airtel. That's 3 bob.'
3. Mpesa is big. Who wants to send money to a Safaricom number that has been ported to Airtel and pay the high charges of sending a number to an 'unregistered number'...

You know Kenyans, "Tunaomba serikal aiingilie kati..." I could be wrong though.
mozenrat
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 7:14:11 PM

Simple answer to Gekko... if you call a ported 0733.. number from airtel, you're not calling an airtel number - so you'll be charged 3 bob.
grolut
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 9:37:41 PM

mozenrat wrote:
Simple answer to Gekko... if you call a ported 0733.. number from airtel, you're not calling an airtel number - so you'll be charged 3 bob.

Exactly.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
sumuni
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 11:29:59 PM

bird_man wrote:
@BGL . . .why cant it be done automatically?e.g get a regulator company that monitors and switches you from one network to another while still using the same sim card?The filling forms part feels cumbersome to me.

I think the reason for this is these mobile money platforms are hardwired into a sim card. I could be wrong though.
as for me am staying put @ scom. the opportunity cost of losing 3g internet just to save a Bob or 2 per minute on calls is just too high. the internet speeds of the other players are just awfully slow.
It is a curious fact that of all the illusions that beset mankind, none is quite as curious as that tendency to suppose that we are mentally and morally superior to those who differ from us in opinion.