wazua Sun, Sep 21, 2025

Bob Collymore: Fake SCOM Subscription Numbers
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 9:33:19 AM

Safaricom subscriber numbers on record may not reflect the actual situation on the ground.

According to the CEO Bob Collymore, the company conducted investigations on a scam following a situation where the number of subscribers was seen to soar with no corresponding changes in revenue! The dealers, Phones U Like, Zertot and Telesoft, were pre-activating new lines by loading airtime and claiming the commission, normally KES350 (US$4.05) after purchasing the lines for KES100.

As a result of this development, Collymore fears the subscriber numbers on record may not reflect the actual situation on the ground. The company has therefore restructured the way in which the dealers will be paid in future. From now on the dealers will only be paid on condition that the sold lines are on usage.

Ref: http://allafrica.com/stories/201103140343.html

I wonder the extent to which cooked figures impact on investment decisions on the NSE??
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 9:49:08 AM

Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly
bird_man
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 10:22:55 AM

Kweli things are thick.When you hear rumors of a KACC push jua iko kitu.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 10:25:12 AM

I think this revelation will be quite good if the subscriber base is adjusted accordingly.This might show the real ARPU.

I like the way This BOB is carrying his Job he need to streamline this company to produce efficiently Like Vodafone ,the parent company,is known to be.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 10:41:59 AM

Heeee kweli Safaricom needs a reorganization.

This fraud clearly shows the 'good times' for the dealers are a thing of the past due to low prices. Getting too creative for their own good.

#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 10:48:05 AM

Big up Bob.

QD
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 11:51:00 AM

This is a realistic situation given the current competition environment being felt in this industry.

Some of the employees are complaining yet they are the causes of the problems while some are truly innocent. Trust kenyans na mpango wa kando.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 11:52:03 AM

Thats bob 4 u, a manager with a difference. Who hates bob now?
amolo
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 12:02:58 PM

This level of honesty is definitely good for any organisation!
A CEO who admits when things are not right is a gem. The sky is the limit for Bob and Safaricom share prices.. watch this space by Friday!
aydenjason
#10 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 1:00:20 PM

Let reality hit
Namukhaywa: walk by me & ill take u thea.
mwanahisa
#11 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 1:12:20 PM

amolo wrote:
This level of honesty is definitely good for any organisation!
A CEO who admits when things are not right is a gem. The sky is the limit for Bob and Safaricom share prices.. watch this space by Friday!

I applaud WHAT Bob C is doing at Scom as he will arrest some of the funds that Scom has been needlessly paying to dealers. However, I am suprised that the company has been so slow to catch up with this. It has been very plain that this has been happening for ages - Practically all those dealers who had (have) been selling Safcom simcards with preloaded airtime but with the simcard already activated have been carrying out this farce.

However, I do not think that this has been limited to Scom. I remember Orange coming out with the same complaint much earlier.

I would be surprised if indeed the sky were the limit for the Safaricom share price. Perhaps, I should ask what exactly is your definition of "the sky"?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 2:29:52 PM

as @ mwanahisa says this problem plagued orange sometime back forcing them to review their commissions and term of service.

BOB has done something which needed to be done much earlier anyway given that he has shown he is not going to tolerate any wastage of the company's diminishing resource its just a matter of time b4 we see an efficient telco that is able to face the competition more effectively.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 3:19:25 PM

Bob for the time will do well so long as he doesn't get into the safcom corruption cartels, MJ could not do much to halt corruption as he was himself one of the biggest safcom supplier!!!!
Genghis Khan
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 4:31:02 PM

Enyewe these telcoms guys have cannibalised each other kabisa...

I wish the mafuta cartels would do the same... imagine KenolKobil / Total / Nock / Shell etc in some bloody price undercutting warPray
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
Cde Monomotapa
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 6:28:45 PM

Shame on you so now the market has forgotten Safcom's potential revenue drops? Hahaha. Wacha numbers chuck in May also around the time Air-tel will be launching 3-G. Mtajiju...
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 6:51:12 PM

a guy is offering simcards"open", you can make unlimited calls to any number, any country for "free" you just pay him 200bob everyday...IT rocks.!!!!!!got some for orange and airtel..i understand safcom is quite secure... he almost single handed run down a malawi telcom.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 2:34:09 AM

Genghis Khan wrote:
Enyewe these telcoms guys have cannibalised each other kabisa...

I wish the mafuta cartels would do the same... imagine KenolKobil / Total / Nock / Shell etc in some bloody price undercutting warPray
1) Not all wazuans support price wars... 2) KK has cut the price of fuel. Jienjoy!
Cde Monomotapa
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 7:34:05 AM

@VVS I am much impressd @ KK. From the most expensive stations pre-regulations to discounting feeling-for-mwananchi..so National oil will do 4 bob to fulfill its mandate of price setter? Watafunga!!
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 9:15:28 AM

Go Bobby, clean the house!!
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/bjrc93z/-/index.html

While at it, that guy at EABL should also look inside his house.
Tommy
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 9:53:54 AM

mlefu wrote:
a guy is offering simcards"open", you can make unlimited calls to any number, any country for "free" you just pay him 200bob everyday...IT rocks.!!!!!!got some for orange and airtel..i understand safcom is quite secure... he almost single handed run down a malawi telcom.

@mlefu are u serious? then this must be a smooth operator, any idea how he does it
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956