O6 and violence theory - what's your take?
Kenya wants the cases facing the Ocampo Six postponed because the trials may lock out Uhuru Kenyatta and William Ruto from the 2012 presidential race, triggering fresh violence. In separate letters to the United Nations Security Council and the Assembly of State Parties to the Rome Statute, Kenya says two of the six suspected masterminds of the post-election violence are front-runners in the Kibaki succession race and their prosecution in the run-up to the 2012 election may cause renewed violence. If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
Huu ni ujinga and i can't help but sympathize with the idiot who thinks this way.....Who said Kenya is UK or WR?!!....Must they be in the next ballot papers??...Someone must be reminded that this country is made up of more than 35 Million Kenyans who are all equal before the law and God..... and that in the absence of this two,hakuna mbwa atakufa...BK! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@njunge - well said! If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
Maybe someone is planning something then come 2012 they say, we told you so... Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Jus Blazin wrote:Maybe someone is planning something then come 2012 they say, we told you so... Possible. Gives me the shivers thinking about all those unaccounted for weapons – cant remember us disarming anyone after ’07. This is warped...so anyone can organize for people to fight each other, loot, rape, kill etc and run for President tp prevent prosecution... 2007 was just the other day. We havent forgotten. 2012 is uncomfortably close.
People, Please don't think what happens to O6 will not affect your life. 1) IIEC has been disbanded. Another one has to be constituted. Who will do this? Parliament? Can they do it when the emotions are so high from the ICC fiasco?...I doubt but time will tell.
2) Chief Justice will have a big role in the implementation of the new constitution. A new CJ must be approved by parliament. At the moment Parliament is divided.... If the CJ will not be find favor with UK & WR..... do you think he /she will be approved by parliament?...I guess not. Parliament can really frustrate JSC and the country as we are now.
3) Boundaries for the constituencies according to the new constitution are yet to be agreed and approved by parliament. You think this will happen without unity in parliament... it will be a long shot.
4) There are many laws to be passed in order to implement the new constitution before 2012. We need unity in parliament now more than before if we want to be legally ready for the elections.
When the case against the O6 starts there is a high possibility that political temperature will go up.... this will affect the implementation of the new constitution.
If by next year election time we have not passed the necessary laws as required by the new consitution.... what will happen? your guess is as good as mine.... chaos may not be ruled out.... that is how YOU MIGHT BE AFFECTED.
Some people have already seen this.... that could be the reason the NSE & Ksh are showing the loss of confidence.... some people are putting money elsewhere as they do not expect the ICC case to end well for the country.
I support the deferral of ICC case for the O6... not because I support impunity.... but because politicians are self centered people. Deferral is good for Kenya.... after the basics of the new constitution have been implemented... then let the ICC take whoever they want... they can even take away Kibaki or Raila and the country will not be in a crisis.
@Liv, I differ with you on this score. I think the opposite is true. We must slay this dragon of impunity if 2012 will be peaceful. Do you think the parliamentarians do not fear Ocampo? There was this lady who was having nightmares just thinking she might be on the list. I would want the nightmares to continue for anyone who thinks they can act with impunity just because they are MPs, President PM etc. Whoever wants to bring violence in 2012 is most welcome, then the O6 can become the O15 or something like that. We can then break this vicious cycle of impunity and violence. Finally, Mr/Ms Liv, you suggest that we capitulate to some idiotic politicians ati so they can implement the constitution. I beg to differ. There is need to have the constitution implemented, but I assure you that getting the O6 out of the way is the first step. They are just a reminder of the dark days of yore. Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
wewe @liv toa porojo hapa!! whose agent are you??? When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
Robinhood wrote:@Liv, I differ with you on this score. I think the opposite is true. We must slay this dragon of impunity if 2012 will be peaceful. Do you think the parliamentarians do not fear Ocampo? There was this lady who was having nightmares just thinking she might be on the list. I would want the nightmares to continue for anyone who thinks they can act with impunity just because they are MPs, President PM etc.
Whoever wants to bring violence in 2012 is most welcome, then the O6 can become the O15 or something like that. We can then break this vicious cycle of impunity and violence.
Finally, Mr/Ms Liv, you suggest that we capitulate to some idiotic politicians ati so they can implement the constitution. I beg to differ. There is need to have the constitution implemented, but I assure you that getting the O6 out of the way is the first step. They are just a reminder of the dark days of yore. I see your point just as I share in Kenyans frustration with seemingly unending impunity. However we must never be blinded by feelings as to become im-pragmatic. I guess the suggested deferal would not work counter to your aspiration in slaying the Impunity beast. Within the 12 Months if nothing credible is done locally, ICC will take over. If we manage to start prosecutions of the PEV suspects, many people who played different roles will face the law. benefit of doubt sometimes, without conceding too much! Dunia ni msongamano..
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
pragmatically, I foresee skirmishes in the areas where Luos and Luhyas border the Kaleos. I hope i am wrong! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
@B.timer, It has been a case of deferral since 2008!!! Deferring justice for longer just serves the perpetrators. Haven't you heard of 'ili iwe funzo kwa wengine?'. Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Robinhood wrote: @Liv, I differ with you on this score. I think the opposite is true. We must slay this dragon of impunity if 2012 will be peaceful. Do you think the parliamentarians do not fear Ocampo? There was this lady who was having nightmares just thinking she might be on the list. I would want the nightmares to continue for anyone who thinks they can act with impunity just because they are MPs, President PM etc
Robinhood, How do you slay the impunity dragon before 2012? By creating fear in parliament? Do you think parliament will pass laws in fear of Ocampo?
My point was.... There is a high possibility that ICC process at this point will derail the implementation of the new constitution...that is how Kenya can be destroyed.
We do not have an agreed IEBC to carry out elections in 2012. Can the parliament constitute one now when they are divided and the political temperatures are high? I guess not.
Already... ODM thinks that our courts can never be credible to handle these cases even in future with the new constitution. Imagine getting a CJ who will seem to be favoured by PNU side who are the majority in parliament now.... if ODM loses the election in 2012 they will not go to court.
@kingfisher,
If you have nothing to say don't say it here.
masukuma wrote:pragmatically, I foresee skirmishes in the areas where Luos and Luhyas border the Kaleos. I hope i am wrong! Both ODM & PNU are talking of potential violence. If this assessment comes to fruition, I agree Kalenjin Warriors may just almost certainly visit Luo homesteads with criminality under the guise of fighting for their rights. The Luhya's may flee in apprehension. Some Kikuyu may in the meantime reclaim stolen property. You wonder if the govt is awake to this possibilities and if so is averting them.
@Liv, you are entangling two issues which have very little to do with each other. The current stalemate in parliament will continue, with or without indictments of the O6. Both PNU and ODM have sights on 2012 and nothing will change that focus. What I meant is that the lords of impunity in Parliament and elsewhere will think twice before unleashing mayhem come 2012. How do you think the dragon grew to this size? It fed off KANU's patronage and protection. You could have a gang, attack your opponents, kill innocent civilians and NOTHING happens to you. The indictment of the O6 is just the beginning of the end of impunity. It will take time to kill the beast, but it must be weakened before the final blow (or series of blows) is struck. FYI, we could defer the indictments, and still not have the institutions you speak of in place by 2012. The politicking will just get more intense. Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Goodpeople, it seems the political wazua is smokin', n it's only Monday! But let's keep our cool Will there or will there not be violence due to the ICC process? I bet there wont! It's just that the guys fighting for deferral have to put in a point that looks weighty. Truth be told, Uhuru and Ruto are the darlings of their communities. Most Agikuyu feel UK is a hero, better than his father! But would they start fighting just coz he's eating beans ugali in the hague? NO!Despite the bitterness that was there among the Agikuyu in 08 due to the barbaric treatment of their kinsmen in the RV and western Kenya, they remained largely peaceful. Infact, organisers of retaliatory attacks had to use Mungiki and pay them! Thus for the Kikuyu to attack, they will need incitement and good money to pay the attackers...who wants to end up with weight loss like Rutto? No one will do it! For the Kalenjin, I'll go back to the reason for the PEV. The reason was ethnic hatred not elections. There was a lot of Anti-Kikuyu sentiment and dehumanisation of GEMA tribes. I think Kalenjins have a bone to pick with the Kikuyu over land issues. That's why they were glad to get an excuse in 'flawed' elections. They could still have hacked Kyuks if Mibey had been declared winner. Do they have a bone to pick with Luos? Have Luos been dehumanised? No, not to the level the orange took us against Kikuyus btwn 2005 and 2007. Thus I dont expect chaos there either. This is politics and desperation by proponents of deferral. What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
@Robinhood, Best way to get rid of impunity is to fully implement the new constitution and get the country to have STRONG INSIITUTIONS. Remember PEV happened because our laws and Institutions could not handle a disputed election.
ICC at this time will disrupt this process of building these institutions. If we do not have a credible IEBC and Judiciary... how are we going to carry out the elections in 2012?
We are getting late as our politicians spend time and resources on other things rather than Implementation of the new constitution. There is a risk parliament will be divided as long as O6 cases are taking place.
Once we have these institutions.... I don't care who ICC indicts... as long as we can have agreed boundaries, constituencies, CJ, IEBC, Judiciary which are functioning properly..... the country will forge ahead.
Liv wrote:@Robinhood, Best way to get rid of impunity is to fully implement the new constitution and get the country to have STRONG INSIITUTIONS. Remember PEV happened because our laws and Institutions could not handle a disputed election.
ICC at this time will disrupt this process of building these institutions. If we do not have a credible IEBC and Judiciary... how are we going to carry out the elections in 2012?
We are getting late as our politicians spend time and resources on other things rather than Implementation of the new constitution. There is a risk parliament will be divided as long as O6 cases are taking place.
Once we have these institutions.... I don't care who ICC indicts... as long as we can have agreed boundaries, constituencies, CJ, IEBC, Judiciary which are functioning properly..... the country will forge ahead. Why do we need a united parliament to implement the constitution, all thats needed from parliament is a majority when it comes to voting. We have mechanisms in place to set up all the structures, including the disollution of parliament by August this year if they don't put in place certain specific structures. I assume between MK and RAO, they control the opposing camps in the house and neither is on the list. With the O6 gone, a few will cry for WR and UK, but by and large kenyans with their gold fish memories and their opportuinism will quickly move in to fill the voids they will leave. There will be no violence in 2012. Many will be too busy consolidating the new found power in their counties to care about what happens in Nairobi. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
@Obi, Are you assuming the O6 will go away somewhere?
I guess they will be here at least for the next 7 - 12 months as the cases are discussed in the PRE-TRIAL chamber. Even when they will go for the trial itself I doubt they will be staying at the Hague.
Love them or hate them....UK & WR will continue to influence whatever is happenning in parliament. They will influence parliament to reject any appointee of the president & PM or Judiciary who they think or perceive not to be friendly to their course... Why?... because they are in a fighting mood.
And they are likely to get the majority in parliament.... so will the other side /ODM accept that? That is why I said it is better to have the new constitution implemented when parliament is united.... that way they can easily agree... but not having the "strong wins everything" attitude. That is better for Kenya.
@Liv, I second u. Bt do u thnk nyongo n ilk would be interested in any form of unity? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
O6 and violence theory - what's your take?