wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

Safaricom Restructure or downsizing?
accomplished
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 12, 2011 11:43:28 PM

Never mind what Bob Collymore calls it but me thinks this is a way of reducing costs necessitated by the price wars.It's yet another reason for its shareholders to take a breath after a long period of nervousness since Airtel started its onslaught.For the employees they need to start thinking about how to invest their golden handshake.
Wazuans whats your take on this?
KenyanLyrics
#2 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 4:05:26 AM

It's a restructuring from what I've heard from the Safcom employees I know
Jamani
#3 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 9:01:48 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
It's a restructuring from what I've heard from the Safcom employees I know

which will eventually lead to downsizing thats where its headed.... some roles will obviously be made redundant and this will call for firing or rather option to invite for a graceful resignation and it will be done several times until they have staff earning real peanuts wacha what RAO was talking about.....maybe good for investors since costs in all areas will be looked into hence anticipated reduction in expenses
aydenjason
#4 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 9:59:57 AM

As we said earlier, its time safcom went bck to the drawing board. Compe has taken a whole new dimension n as we all knw...u cnt teach an old dog new tricks. N ths is where the likes of Airtel with its new outfit wil score.
Namukhaywa: walk by me & ill take u thea.
Jamani
#5 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 12:34:16 PM

aydenjason wrote:
As we said earlier, its time safcom went bck to the drawing board. Compe has taken a whole new dimension n as we all knw...u cnt teach an old dog new tricks. N ths is where the likes of Airtel with its new outfit wil score.

(Namukhaywa)I wont walk with you on that line, the dog that has tried new and many tricks that never work is Airtel, from kencell to celtel to Zain now Airtel next?.. how many CEOs? what of staff retrenchments and still in the negative zone....
Gadaffi
#6 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 1:31:43 PM

this was long overdue. its costs r way up the roof-new bldgs, massive advert costs, huge wage bill-they nid 2 do somethin massive, not just laying off some lowly paid staff on contract, it has to drastic bt strategic not 2 send th wrong picture
chris79
#7 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 2:46:08 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
its costs r way up the roof-new bldgs,

Safaricom does not own any of the buildings it currently occupies, they are all leased...
qw25041985
#8 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 2:48:50 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
this was long overdue. its costs r way up the roof-new bldgs, massive advert costs, huge wage bill-they nid 2 do somethin massive, not just laying off some lowly paid staff on contract, it has to drastic bt strategic not 2 send th wrong picture

i totally agree.But all these has been factored in the price so i erxpect minimal price action on monday if any.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
aydenjason
#9 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 3:41:55 PM

lets nt 4get that kenya has hd 10yrs of unleveled telecom playin field n forceful monopoly. Regardles of wat happened then, all is bound to change now that all seems to be leveling up. The upcoming mobile no portability wil b the 6th nail on that casket..
Namukhaywa: walk by me & ill take u thea.
For Sport
#10 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 5:23:28 PM

aydenjason wrote:

missed that....said earlier where?
qw25041985
#11 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 8:40:46 PM

For Sport wrote:
aydenjason wrote:

@ Forsport. maybe he want to sound professional on his comment ...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#12 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 8:51:26 PM

Number portability will not have any significant impact,it has failed to impact in other countries.its actually expensive than purchasing new line,many of us have four lines,i see it as useless.
chaliwong
#13 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 9:09:58 PM

Airtel will never score in kenya. The only people who wil score with Airtel are consumers and the tycoons who make bilions when it changes hands.This going concern has never made a profit.It was the first in this market and never took advantage,will it when the market is saturated with players?For how long wil they compete using resources from the mother.If it had an IPO would you buy?So far,what is the diffrence between Airtel & Panpaper? Or the pastrolists who have heards worth thousands of shilings only to loose them to drought season after season,& later to cry for help from a gover they hav never paid tax to. Airtel Vs Safaricom is just like Retained Losses Vs Retained Earnings.
#14 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 9:17:19 PM

@Chaliwong i second you with hands and legs up.
For Sport
#15 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 10:36:54 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
For Sport wrote:
aydenjason wrote:

@ Forsport. maybe he want to sound professional on his comment ...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly . Labda. Was also wondering about the “we”. Think And whether this is the same person who started the thread. I’m sure its not split personality. sorry i'm not saying anything useful.
qw25041985
#16 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 10:46:15 PM

For Sport wrote:
qw25041985 wrote:
For Sport wrote:
aydenjason wrote:

Laughing out loudly . Labda. Was also wondering about the “we”. Think And whether this is the same person who started the thread. I’m sure its not split personality. sorry i'm not saying anything useful.

@ aydenjason until you clarify this " As we said earlier" we will just conclude you were just takin to yourself, debating w/ yourself and you need mental help..... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly smile
#17 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 3:33:35 AM

chaliwong wrote:
Airtel will never score in kenya. The only people who wil score with Airtel are consumers
As a consumer I am happy...
erifloss
#18 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 9:30:20 AM

@chaliwong, even with Clare Ruto who's now at safcom walishindwa. I wonder who the next owners are going to be, maybe Vodafone?
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#19 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 10:23:11 AM

aydenjason wrote:
lets nt 4get that kenya has hd 10yrs of unleveled telecom playin field n forceful monopoly. Regardles of wat happened then, all is bound to change now that all seems to be leveling up. The upcoming mobile no portability wil b the 6th nail on that casket..

I hope you don't mean in favour of SCOM. This notion has been peddled around by politicians.....Remember when the IPO price was announced, they complained that 5-bob "too cheap". The market has proven them dead wrong - the price was just right.

Truth is: SCOM was the third player in the market, after Telkom and Kencell. By the time SCOM launched, Kencell had over 50,000 subscribers. Then things started turning and both reached 200,000 at the same time... when SCOM touched 500,000, Kencell was at 300,000

At one million for SCOM, Kencell had not even crossed the 0.5m mark.... since then, Kencell/Celltel/Zain/Airtel has just been making mistake after mistake and seeing dust all the way....

The field has been level. Nobody has ever been forced to stay in SCOM. In fact, I only joined SCOM recently because of M-PESA. But I still make all voice calls using Airtel.
tony stark
#20 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 11:00:34 AM

mukiha wrote:
aydenjason wrote:

I hope you don't mean in favour of SCOM. This notion has been peddled around by politicians.....Remember when the IPO price was announced, they complained that 5-bob "too cheap". The market has proven them dead wrong - the price was just right.

Truth is: SCOM was the third player in the market, after Telkom and Kencell. By the time SCOM launched, Kencell had over 50,000 subscribers. Then things started turning and both reached 200,000 at the same time... when SCOM touched 500,000, Kencell was at 300,000

At one million for SCOM, Kencell had not even crossed the 0.5m mark.... since then, Kencell/Celltel/Zain/Airtel has just been making mistake after mistake and seeing dust all the way....

The field has been level. Nobody has ever been forced to stay in SCOM. In fact, I only joined SCOM recently because of M-PESA. But I still make all voice calls using Airtel.

Muhika are you a politician??
Safaricom launched in 1997 (using GSM) but had been in existence since 1992(using ETACS). They relaunched as a privatized operator in 2000 after vodafone bought shares in the company.
Kencell has been in operation since august 2000.

This misinformation on the launch of the mobile providers leads me to the conclusion that you are also probably lying about the figures and the levelness of the playing field.
Kind regards