wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

The STAR newspaper has crossed the line.
#21 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 3:57:45 PM

selah wrote:
latest news has it that Pg3 of the star will not go off unpunished.The media council might issue a statement today On the content of that page and measures they will take.

If you have not seen the said page,The star newspaper has published the Muliro gardens pics uncensored.With a chick getting her groove on.

Now they need to deal with this matter and go all the way to classic in the morning [some of the topics are lewd in nature and should be avoided]

The Muliro pictures were on a Uganda paper sold on the streets LAST WEEK. The Star must have attempted the same sale-out sales figures...
the sage
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 4:46:15 PM

It's actually good because I've been warned that green motels in Kenya are vulnerable to the paparazzi's trigger.
Sadly I have crossed this in my "to do list" and one question remains unanswered; if the one-eyed serpent came a cross the two-eyed serpent who would win the venom spitting contest.
AmHere
#23 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 4:48:02 PM

I dont see the Media Council taking tough action. It is a members club and they would not want to break the solidarity code. After all, we are bombarded with political sycophancy, ethnic hatred and obvious lies all cooked by our journalists on a daily basis. If they punish Radio Africa too hard, Carol and Co will come firing back when another media house does an unethical thing - something that will not be too hard to find.
mkonomtupu
#24 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 5:25:36 PM

I'm really shocked that wazuans are such watermelons. please read the katiba ya 2010

Article 33. (1) Every person has the right to freedom of expression, which includes—
(a) freedom to seek, receive or impart information or ideas;
(b) freedom of artistic creativity; and
(c) academic freedom and freedom of scientific research.

Article 34(2)The State shall not—
(a) exercise control over or interfere with any person engaged in
broadcasting, the production or circulation of any publication
or the dissemination of information by any medium; or Freedom of
expression.

(b) penalise any person for any opinion or view or the content
of any broadcast, publication or dissemination.

watermelons mshindwe and realize that the freedom to speak one's mind is not only an aspect of individual liberty – and thus a good unto itself – but also is essential to the common quest for truth and the vitality of society as a whole. The star newspaper has just ushered us to the age of freedom, facts are facts even if you bury your head in the sand
#25 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 5:48:35 PM

Dilemma is, ndio umenunua hiyo karatasi, utasomea wapi? Sio kwa ofisi, hauwezi peleka nyumbani, sio kando ya barabara, sio kwa gari (just incase you give your mother or mother in law a ride home and you have forgotten it at the back seat... wapi? What's the use of buying a paper you cant read?
Tommy
#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 6:28:43 PM

i guess the journalist who took these pictures was overburdened and decided to share. me think these guys are introducing controversy that results to attention. the question is, have they achieved it?
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#27 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 6:57:54 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
I'm really shocked that wazuans are such watermelons. please read the katiba ya 2010

Article 33. (1) Every person has the right to freedom of expression, which includes—
(a) freedom to seek, receive or impart information or ideas;
(b) freedom of artistic creativity; and
(c) academic freedom and freedom of scientific research.

Article 34(2)The State shall not—
(a) exercise control over or interfere with any person engaged in
broadcasting, the production or circulation of any publication
or the dissemination of information by any medium; or Freedom of
expression.

(b) penalise any person for any opinion or view or the content
of any broadcast, publication or dissemination.

watermelons mshindwe and realize that the freedom to speak one's mind is not only an aspect of individual liberty – and thus a good unto itself – but also is essential to the common quest for truth and the vitality of society as a whole. The star newspaper has just ushered us to the age of freedom, facts are facts even if you bury your head in the sand

Wewe ni bure kabisa..jus as your screen name indicates!!

There must be a clause somewhere dictating that you can not abuse the said freedom.. its just that am not a brief, ningekwambia saa hii.

@briefs.... chomoeni hiyo clause huyu mkonobure anyamaze.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 7:22:51 PM

Ulimwengu umevunjika katikati. In related news, you can google

"When a Pastor Was caught in Kisumu with a Married Woman, He paid the price"

Please note: The pictures are muliro-ish. Sio picha mzuri - ya kufungua mahala popote!

Consider yourself forewarned!
For Sport
#29 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 7:33:07 PM

Mkonomtupu, learn to read the document as a whole:
Read with:
Article 20 (4) In interpreting the Bill of Rights, a court, tribunal or other authority shall promote –
(a) the values that underlie an open and democratic society based on human dignity, equality, equity and freedom....

Article 24 (1) A right or fundamental freedom in the Bill of Rights shall not be limited except by law, and then, only to the extent that limitation is reasonable and justifiable in an open and democratic society based on human dignity, equality and freedom.........

(meaning you have to look at legislation and other forms of law which regulate these activities – last time I checked, we had law in place for this

Caveat: jisomee.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 8:57:16 PM

kingfisher wrote:
useless paper......

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

#31 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 10:08:45 PM

...the bench has been removed..wonder whether it will form part of exhibit in the court...
Mtu Biz
#32 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 10:09:33 AM

Sasa wewe @ Maichblack mbona watupeleka mapipani jamani.
Sola Scriptura

#33 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 11:35:12 AM

Dilemma is, ndio umenunua hiyo karatasi, utasomea wapi? Sio kwa ofisi, hauwezi peleka nyumbani, sio kando ya barabara, sio kwa gari (just incase you give your mother or mother in law a ride home and you have forgotten it at the back seat... wapi? What's the use of buying a paper you cant read?

...If you have been to Uganda you might have stumbled upon The Red Pepper. Its all Muliro gardens through out. The sales are so high. Many people buy it including preachers...Na wanasomea wapi? Ukienda kwa washrooms utapata so many copies left there. Woe unto you if a guy enters a hotel toilet carrying some newspapers and you are queueing behind him...Will take about an hour to comp through the paper... We might copy from our fellow neighbours...
...and by the way how does THE STAR look like?
#34 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 11:40:54 AM

vinii wrote:
...the bench has been removed..wonder whether it will form part of exhibit in the court...

They should erect a monument where the bench stood in honour of pines which have been buried here.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 11:54:37 AM

vinii wrote:

They should erect a monument where the bench stood in honour of pines which have been buried here.

#36 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 12:11:01 PM

vinii wrote:

Laughing out loudly why not the airports?
#37 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 2:36:47 PM

selah wrote:
vinii wrote:

Laughing out loudly why not the airports?

i think guka meant the pine trees buried in airports at muliro garden ...........smile both shld be used in one sentence
#38 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 4:20:35 PM

I have a link to the sequel. Same script, different cast. I would love to "weka link" but I fear I will be put in the coolers by wazua admin.
mozenrat
#39 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 4:20:58 PM

Article 9 of the media code of conduct is very clear and in my opinion,it has been breached and this calls for very severe punishment;The article reads thus

a) In general, journalists should avoid publishing obscene, vulgar or offensive material unless such material contains a news value which is necessary in the public interest.

(b) In the same vein, publication of photographs showing mutilated bodies, bloody incidents and abhorrent scenes should be avoided unless the publication or broadcast of such photographs will serve the public interest.

What an ambiguous law? Who determines what is in the public interest? I could very well argue that it is in the public interest for these philanderers to be exposed in order to curb the spread of HIV.
#40 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 9:34:49 AM

This paper must be raking some good dough now a days I just overhead a vendor say he has sold out AGAIN.

I have noticed they have been getting some exclusive news and the major newspapers tend to play catch up to the Star for instance the Okemo story,Fidel and todays Nigerian high commissioner scandal.