wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Kama hujalipa HELB beware!!
Apple Bees
#21 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 10:52:03 PM

can someone nego to avoid the 5k penalty? i want to pay lumpsum. was very diligent from 2003-2006, but i stopped kidogo, now i want to pay everything, but not the 5k monthly penalties
Arusha
#22 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 2:26:32 PM

I must say that for me i was really very impressed with the service that i got from the HELB office. Picture this: a statement, payment receipts and a clearance certifucate all in one day! Courtesy of a guy by the name of Mr Lengoiboni!! Applause Applause Applause
Mundu wa Nja
#23 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 5:20:13 PM

Apple Bees wrote:
can someone nego to avoid the 5k penalty? i want to pay lumpsum. was very diligent from 2003-2006, but i stopped kidogo, now i want to pay everything, but not the 5k monthly penalties

@Apple Bees - You are in luck. Their policy is "If you want to avoid the penalties, pay the lump sum". You don't even have to negotiate. They will simply give you the statement, you give them a cheque and voila you are one debt down!!!
Apple Bees
#24 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 6:14:04 PM

@maichblack...thanks. they should expect my check soon
#25 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 9:30:01 PM

whather you are paying lumpsum depends on the amount which is a factor of the time you schooled.
For those Who schooledin the 80's you only pay a few thousands which may not be muvh. But if you belong to the post nyayo era, it means what you owe HELB can afford you a decent car or a plot.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 12:57:40 PM

Good people,

I visited the site and realised that 'malenge ni mboga!' The guys have nyoroshad me penalties mbaya. Honestly I forgot that I had a small balance. Now the amount has doubled. Can they overlook the penalties if i pay what I owed in lumpsum? Any experiences?
#27 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 1:17:14 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Good people,

I visited the site and realised that 'malenge ni mboga!' The guys have nyoroshad me penalties mbaya. Honestly I forgot that I had a small balance. Now the amount has doubled. Can they overlook the penalties if i pay what I owed in lumpsum? Any experiences?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly had to laugh!
#28 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 1:18:05 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Good people,

That's actually the policy. Simply do them a cheque for the original balance. You can email your account supervisor for furthter information.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 3:24:38 PM

@Maich,

Cheers mate!!! wacha nifuate hii maneno. Do I have to request for a waiver in writing? ama ni kupeana check and I get a clearance form pap! then toss to them and go ' its been real folks!'

Bwana this thing is causing me nightmares...

@ Wendz, wewe cheka tu!! I also think I did a very useless thing!!
For Sport
#30 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 3:50:39 PM

Started and cleared my repayments immediately on my first job. In fact, they deducted more than they should have and I remember printing that out to claim some day (sum wasnt large enough to warrant the hassle).

I've just logged in and guess what, ati I owe them a small balance (posted last year). Requesting them for computation via the email address they've indicated...
#31 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 3:53:19 PM

The biggest problem with HELB is lack of proper disclosure. They do charge ledger fees @ 1000 bob per year in July which is deducted from your repayment instalment.
K22
#32 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 4:19:19 PM

How can one view the outstanding balance for post graduate loans through HELB website?

If you input ID number only Under grad loan details are displayed.

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
amga
#33 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 7:44:58 PM

what's the paybill option ya helb tried the 200400 but gives me some negative results
#34 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 7:54:08 PM

amga wrote:
what's the paybill option ya helb tried the 200400 but gives me some negative results

200800 my bratha!!!
theking
#35 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 9:07:09 AM

Sober wrote:
Wacha vitisho, if one wants to pay lumpsome you guys refuse ati they should be deducting yiu slowly. They cant then go ahead to auction my property because am not paying 3k per month?!

big lie, i paid mine lump sum and malizanad with them last year
#36 Posted : Thursday, March 10, 2011 9:07:21 PM

hope to settle debts soon. to ensure sustainability
Rizzo1
#37 Posted : Saturday, April 16, 2011 6:57:51 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Good people,

That's actually the policy. Simply do them a cheque for the original balance. You can email your account supervisor for furthter information.

@Maich, can you confirm that 100% bwana! If I pay back the original amount + interest in lumpsum, the penalties are waived??

My original amount was 25K, but now I owe 110k because of these penalties:

jul 2010 Interest/Rep PENALTY=36000
aug 2010 Interest/Rep PENALTY=5000
sep 2010 Interest/Rep PENALTY=5000
oct 2010 Interest/Rep PENALTY=5000
nov 2010 Interest/Rep PENALTY=5000
dec 2010 Interest/Rep PENALTY=5000
jan 2010 Interest/Rep PENALTY=5000
feb 2010 Interest/Rep PENALTY=5000
mar 2010 Interest/Rep PENALTY=5000
Um Sayala
#38 Posted : Saturday, April 16, 2011 9:19:51 PM

HELB scared the whole hell out of me last sunday. i received their SMS warning that I pay 74500/= now, or they increase it by 5000/= next month. I cleared my balance 3 years ago so u can imagine how shocked i was. However, I personally went to their office on monday and learnt that it was an error, I had cleared and they even accepted to give a refund check of 17k in two wks. just waiting.
Lakini watu walipe HELB
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
sihingwa
#39 Posted : Sunday, April 17, 2011 12:17:27 PM

Employers can be at fault with the HELB deductions. Some years ago I worked for some parastatal who failed to remit about 14,000 Ksh to HELB. I had assumed that I owed HELB nothing according to my payslip.

In 2008 I was shocked when HELB claimed I owed 50 K. Well this was paid by check off by my new employer in one year. I got back 36K 'overpayment' from HELB into my account in 2009...but am still fighting to get 14k from the parastatal to date!!!
#40 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2011 10:06:55 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
@Maich,

Cheers mate!!! wacha nifuate hii maneno. Do I have to request for a waiver in writing? ama ni kupeana check and I get a clearance form pap! then toss to them and go ' its been real folks!'

Bwana this thing is causing me nightmares...

@ Wendz, wewe cheka tu!! I also think I did a very useless thing!!

Hey guys,

Finally I cleared with these fellows. I went paid the loan balance plus interest and was asked to write a letter requesting a waiver of penalty. Then at the end of the month I got that SMS sayong sijui I owed them how much. I was shocked! So the next day I went to the offices and got to talk to a Mr Ogolla ( very nice man)and within thirty minutes, I had my clearnace certificate.

Thanks @ Maichblaq et all for guiding me through that process. This is what keeps me logging in.Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause