wazua Wed, Aug 27, 2025

IS MOMBASA ROAD A DEATH TRAP????
Nobby
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2011 2:37:06 PM

It is becoming too much to bear!! Yesterday in the afternoon next to the Airtel offices a woman laying on the tarmac and a pool of blood next to her..... am not sure if she made it to hospital.....on the same spot at eight in the morning a lorry rippes off and flung out of the road two sedans! Wednesday the 3rd of march 100 meters from the first spot next to total petrol station, another woman died on the spot after being hit by a truck and a speeding sedan!When will we stop seeing this horror scenes everyday? when will the government take action and rectify the situation here?It pains me because i have also been an victim to a hit and run lorry at the some road but by the grace of God i survived!!Something must be done!!
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
propertyzote
#2 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2011 4:09:53 PM

This calls for action..I use Mombasa road almost every evening..It so so so saddening the rate of accidents. Personally have witnessed 3 accidents that just happed. 4 Black sports namely,
1.ICC church crossing over to south B entry from Town!
2.Belle-view (Oilibya) crossing from South C to South B
3.GM
4.Cabanas

I have seen a guy Knocked at ICC and the driver got away, a terrible one at Belle-View in fact (Twice) and Once at GM. This is just the ones i have seen.
We should seriously petition the Gov to build flyovers in this places.
www.propertyzote.com the ultimate ‘one stop online shop’ of choice connecting more people with more properties at the click of a button
Tommy
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2011 4:38:23 PM

its painful when we see fellow human beings dying, @nobby, sorry for the accident and thanks God 4 ur life.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
webish
#4 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2011 5:18:14 PM

It's a terrible situation. I use the road frequently and I sometimes take up to thirty minutes to cross the Visions Plaza area coz the traffic is too heavy and no fly over within the vicinity. I've personally not witnessed any one being knocked but i've heard of many many incidents.
Every time I cross that road, like today, I thank God. I never take it for granted.
A warning, people should try and stand at a safe distance from the road shoulders and wait till its completely clear, coz some incidents happen not when crossing, but when peeping to check whether it's clear.
Take care everyone. Meanwhile keep suggestions flowing.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#5 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 8:21:32 AM

I use the road daily, and you never miss an accident within the week...again, why is it that in developing countries, we allow people to cross highways??????
Ondiek
#6 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 8:26:14 AM

This road is certainly a death trap and what worries me most is the way drivers switch lanes every so often without even indicating their intentions. I pity those who have to cross the road coz it is not certain that you will get to the other side.
#7 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 8:41:57 AM

I use this road everyday n' I must say it's byaadd!!!!!
iKenya
#8 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 9:06:45 AM

there should be signs akin to those on rear view mirrors.."The car is coming at you faster than you think!".....On a more serious note, yes we see the accidents and something needs to be don, but what? are flyovers the solution? will we force pedestrians to use them? or are speed limits part of the solution, after all the location is within the city limits...and why are most accidents on the road heading out of town? Do motorists get excited on the prospect of open roads maybe after spending too much time in the traffic?

Who do you petition for such action (tunaomba serikali ingililie hii mambo..)?
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
anasazi
#9 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 9:11:09 AM

This road is bad. For me the trouble spot is at Parkside Towers (AKA Airtel). Very tricky spot for drivers and pedestrians alike
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#10 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 10:31:32 AM

It begins with us. Let's drive carefully. Lets spread that word to our peers, our colleagues, our families, etc. We are the ones who drive on those roads, cruising at very high speeds on densely populated areas. Let's be patient on the road and know we are and should be in control of these vehicles. Personally I drive slowly along Mombasa Road. And I've been spreading that word to others as well. I hope it will have a ripple effect...
XSK
#11 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 10:50:00 AM

I also happen to work along mombasa road. I see accidents almost on a daily basis especially in the morning and between 12 - 2 pm. Crossing the road is a nightmare for pedestrians especially! Urgent action is needed.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
winston
#12 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 11:06:55 AM

I also use MSA Road. Worst spot is bellevue. A week hardly passes before someone is knocked down. I had the occassion to be crossing the road for two weeks. And I can tell you the experience is scary. Not only do you have to really wait for the road to be clear...but you also have to be carefull with the crossing so that the people crossing from the opposite side do not bump and dump you on the road.

If they cant put a flyover, cant their at least put road bumps? What is Philip Kisia doing while Kenyans are dying?

subzero
#13 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 11:29:00 AM

Mombasa Road, We know we can say ati 'tunaomba serikali ijenge flyover' but the whole section betweeen cabanas and nyayo stadium ni mbaya !!!

People cross from everywhere!! not just the said blackspots.

But just few pointers at least help us kiasi

1. Lady Pedestrians, Kazi kwenu -- You should see the way some ladies cross mombasa road, i've seen ladies crossing that very spot where the 2 women died last week and i felt like my heart stopped, these ladies cross the road slowly the way you'd cross haile sellasie ikiwa na jam. ati crossing in high heels, lane by lane, and very undecided , ati the driver will see you and slow down,
how can you be between 2 lanes with cars on either side moving at 120KPH !!!

2. Motorists , i tend to think the middle lane is best as it has least disruptions.. left lane has too many people slowing down, joining or exiting esp matatus, e.g. Capital Centre , right lane also have quite a number of entry to the highway but not as the left.

3. Motorists, avoid changing lanes where there are many people crossing cause it also confuses the crossing pedestrian. e.g. Bellevue , GM ,
Fundaah
#14 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 11:40:53 AM

we discussed this topic last year....
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=7440
It's painful to see it back ....No action has been taking as yet.....
Lakini ... lets all play our part ..... be careful when crossing the road ....do not over speed if driving .....the needless deaths can be avoided......
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Ondiek
#15 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 12:09:27 PM

@ Subzero - umefichua siri ya middle lane!! Today it might be quite congested but that is the safest lane indeed.
sanity
#16 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 2:42:56 PM

I agree that speeding in densely populated areas is the main cause of accidents along Mombasa road.Why drive like you are crazy?Though it is a highway,motorists should just slow down along this stretch to avoid unnecessary loss of life.....
Hope is not a strategy
#17 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 2:47:23 PM

@subzero, do you ever get the feeling that when a driver sees someone crossing, they tend to even speed up, honking the horn and flashing lights....I for sure slow down at capital, bellevue and GM...

@Ondiek, there is really no safe lanes, just try and prctice defensive driving and you ca increase safety around you...AA offers that course...you can be the safest and most careful driver, just for someone to gonga your car....

ALWAYS INDICATE WHILE CHANGING LANES!!!

If there was a way to stop people crossing highways!! but then again flyovers become mugging spots....or the one after the nyayo round about where it was said that thugs drops packed guniaz on the road as you approach so that you have an accident and they steal...ABK!!

Hopefully thika road doesn't become like this...i fear for the guys who will be using this road..
#18 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 2:51:52 PM

did you know that thats the only urban road that one gets to feel the speed on their ride..the thrill simply overlooks everything else...speed checks are the only solution
#19 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 4:12:52 PM

I use the road quite often. I have decided to follow the law ( not always successful) and keep to the speed limit of 50KPH that has been put up. Once you slow down to 50KPH just before you get to Capital Centre, and keep it up to past Vision Plaza, you will realise just how safe that road can be. You have alot of time to respond ( not react) to many situations. I have also noticed that if I slow, normally on the middle lane, most other drivers slow down too and we slow down traffic. Please join me in this life saving venture.

I really pity the pedestrains and have halted at Bellevue a number of times. When you take the lead, others follow coz they are ashamed to just whizz by. Some actually do whizz by and even want to hoot me off the road, but I don't care. I am happy when I have helped someone cross. It only takes 30Secs of my time. It is my good for the day.

Let us do it today and every other day!

I once thought of the possibility of getting guys to 'changa' and put up even a metal bridge at Bellevue, Capital Centre, GM. Could we start the revolution here? Maybe Wazua could do organise this? We can do it I know!! We just need an organizer. Let us do something about our brothers and sisters, mothers and fathers who cross everyday with fear in their eyes!
#20 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 4:29:24 PM

@Bwenyenye, u reminded me of something...when you allow a pedestrian to cross (especially on such a road), make sure no one is zooming from behind you (the pedestrian has a blind side and will definitely be knocked down!!)... i witnessed a near miss today! the driver stopped to allow guys to cross, but on his left side, guys were zooming to come and overtake him....THANK GOD! nothing happened...