wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Kakamega
Snazzy
#1 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 10:20:56 AM

Some of the most vocal MP's in the august house come from Western and after living here for two months i have observed the following.

a)Living here is damn expensive!Rental houses here are sooooo expensive and the torture you have to go through getting one is hell.It took me a month of living in a hotel before i could get a decent house.

b)Food is expensive!Without even taking into consideration the story Sunday Nation ran on how 45% of a households income is pent on grocery shopping,here it seems everything costs double of what it would in Nairobi or Nakuru.From simple things like tomatoes,carrots and onions basic item in every Kenyan kitchen they all seem to be brought in from somewhere.It seems people here would rather plant sugarcane then pay an arm and a leg to feed themselves.

c)Schools here even kindergartens have long drop loos for small kids!!

d)How does Nakumatt make money?maybe the opening up of their branch here was strategic but i must say the spending power of people here is limited.

If any Wazuans' have worked,lived or stayed here share your thoughts ....
“You can safely assume you've created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do.”

― Anne Lamott
#2 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 10:25:30 AM

It's not fair to talk about Kakamega on a Friday and leave out the expansive Muliro Garden's? smile ..sorry..no jokes..back to bizz
#3 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 10:51:10 AM

It's not fair to talk about Kakamega on a Friday and leave out the expansive Muliro Garden's? smile ..sorry..no jokes..back to bizz

When I saw the topic, I thought of "Muliro Garden Season 2"

#4 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 11:36:56 AM

When I saw the topic, I thought of "Muliro Garden Season 2"

you know! smile that thing has even gone viral in SA...wanashangaa sana the way washambas choppin open air
Snazzy
#5 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 11:38:32 AM

Get your minds out of the gutter guys....lol!

Maybe the poverty rates here are driving guys the residents to extra curricular activities.
“You can safely assume you've created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do.”

― Anne Lamott
#6 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 12:42:48 PM

now that what happened at Muliro Gardens is history, lets look at the positive side - this site (i mean bench) is a potential tourist attraction...why not charge a nominal fee for visitors who wish to see first hand the bench that has turned out to be more popular than Jeff's? just a thot..
oteve
#7 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 1:46:24 PM

true food there is damn expensive our people should be encouraged to go agrarian
#8 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 1:55:09 PM

oteve wrote:
true food there is damn expensive our people should be encouraged to go agrarian

Absolutely. Unfortunately, agriculture is not something many want to do especially for food crops. There are plenty of stories of how small scale farmers are living in poverty. If only they could adopt newer techniques......
#9 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 2:19:55 PM

vinii wrote:
now that what happened at Muliro Gardens is history, lets look at the positive side - this site (i mean bench) is a potential tourist attraction...why not charge a nominal fee for visitors who wish to see first hand the bench that has turned out to be more popular than Jeff's? just a thot..

Kenyan and their enterprising ways!!!

wanjirus
#10 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 3:37:06 PM

@snazzy, Are you sure you did not mean kisumu, you need to do your research right, Kakamega is quite a cheap town, you can't even compare it with kisumu city,talking of the Kakamega town in lurambi constituency, am usually there almost all the weekends, like last weekend I took lunch ya 80bob kuku na ugali, behind premier business stalls(huko ni kwa mechanics lakini).

I have a friend who works there,he lives in a spacious two bedroom house and he pays 5000 at joyland estate(on kakamega mumias road) 20 minutes staggering distance from club franca where every beer including white cup light goes for Ksh100.

I know it all depends on ones class,for sure you won't get nice finished apartments but you can do with what there is.
Snazzy
#11 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 5:07:32 PM

@Wanjiru,i swear we spent two weeks looking for a house,unless you know someone from here who can do the legwork for you its stress why lie.Even the guy i met here admit looking for a house here is demanding and no i was not looking for an apartment just a nice house.

I was talking about buying normal groceries nothing fancy and its expensive,and seeing i have 2 babies to feed,i count my pennies kabisa.Beer is cheap i agree and fare too but truth be told people here need to diversify their income generating activities

― Anne Lamott
wairegi
#12 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 9:22:00 PM

I concour with wanjiru; Kisumu is the more expensive than KK. A bedsitter will go for more than 10K, fish at the lakeside is more expensive than in Nairobi.
Maziwa, matunda hakuna. Where on earth do you buy a banana single finger at 15 Ksh in the market? A pawpaw 90 Bob and a pineapple at 120 Bob. I find strange but have learnt to negotiate with mama mboga for my groceries
Snazzy
#13 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2011 11:12:08 AM

Okay definitely bananas here are cheaper its 10 bob each and i was shocked when i went to the market and couldn't get it for less.Where i lived before a banana was 6 bob do you can understand my shock,i actually got a pine apple at kshs 100 . Maybe i should start some fruit and veggie business in Kisumu i would rake in thousands.

It is no wonder then that a number of people here are caught up in a cycle of poverty.They have land and water why cant people here get on the green house bandwagon and use drip irrigation to supply just a fraction of what clearly is in high demand-fresh fruits and vegetables.

Anyway it is too depressing to see all these young people operating boda bodas and motorbikes when they could be doing something else,there are a lot of poor people here than i have seen in the town i have lived in.I guess i just have to learn to live with it till i get to move to a cheaper town ....lol.

― Anne Lamott
#14 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2011 12:10:24 PM

Snazzy wrote:
but truth be told people here need to diversify their income generating activities

They are trying to diversify but they end up on the bench.smile

Food is not cheap here because a good part of Western Province arable land is under cane.They have to get food from such areas as Chwele,Kapsokwony,Kapsabet and Timboroa....As for Nakumatt Kak,they can't be making much and i guess they were targeting the large family that is Muliro gardens....uh!.Sorry.Muliro University.They hopelessly overprice and sooner,you will notice you are better off buying your groceries from Bungoma town (There is Shariff and Khetia s/markets but of the two, Khetia Euro and Khetia Crossroad are much cheaper than many supermarkets i know even in Nairobi).Food stuffs are cheap and in plenty and you might as well try groceries from a market known as Harambee on your way to Bungoma.Upside.You have to be here as early as 6 on Saturdays and Mondays.
mozenrat
#15 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 5:48:13 PM

So basically the Muliro and Kachmega stories are tied... These people cannot afford to hire a room for the hour (or minute) so they opt for the free option.. Mazee, I'm getting ideas for an Airtel ad..