wazua Fri, Jan 17, 2025

Kenya Re.
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2011 5:57:13 PM

Need to be insured, for real.

Layman
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 7:52:19 AM

Dead Stock!
The Merchant
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 8:46:50 AM

Better than AK ill tell you that. smile
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 11:01:09 AM

Is that mama still at the helm?She surely need to go,aende kabisa.
I entered this bus at 15;now I want to leave at 10.55....NKTest!

Jamani
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 11:08:09 AM

Is the issue on her or directors and govt?
Wondergirl
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 12:01:26 PM

Layman wrote:
Dead Stock!

I cut my losses with Ke-re and I have no regrets!
How ever I'm beginninig to wonder about Sasini! Naturally the price was expected to go down after it became ex-dividend lakini ata kama ! Its just going down like its doing a kwenda chini dance!!d'oh!
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 12:03:13 PM

KenyaRe - The management is lucky that GoK protects them through mandatory reinsurance!

Sasini - I don't like anything merali. Tea & Coffee prices are very high but I don't trust merali.
For Sport
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 12:15:17 PM

Mimi pia niko hii boat. Got in ages ago at 14. Not exiting though.
For Sport
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 2:00:01 PM

For Sport wrote:

Mimi pia niko hii boat. Got in ages ago at 14. Not exiting though.

Murphy's Law: right after I say I'm not exiting, the share appears No.1 in the list of Top Losers of the day
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 6:31:57 PM

The Merchant wrote:
Better than AK ill tell you that. smile

hahaha. True. It is much better than AK. and the lady is not at the helm, its sm mwirania guy. mbaite murume! But yenyewe their dividend has been good to me. I cant complain. Im picking up more stock for the dividend payout, rumored to be .70 per share.

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
wanyina
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 8:21:30 PM

@wondergirl im thinking of cutting the loss with Kenya-Re too i dont blame you for that its just a dead stock
qw25041985
#12 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2011 8:31:22 PM

wanyina wrote:
@wondergirl im thinking of cutting the loss with Kenya-Re too i dont blame you for that its just a dead stock

it might be a 'dead stock' but kenya Re isnot a dead business...
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#13 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 11:44:16 AM

Im picking up more stock for the dividend payout, rumored to be .70 per share.

@yaani obiero you haven't learned?? You cannot buy a stock only because it has a good dividend..

Whats the point of buying a stock for a 6% dividend yield and then it falls by 50% like kenya re and AK???
#14 Posted : Friday, March 04, 2011 4:01:47 PM

guru267 wrote:
Im picking up more stock for the dividend payout, rumored to be .70 per share.

@yaani obiero you haven't learned?? You cannot buy a stock only because it has a good dividend..

Whats the point of buying a stock for a 6% dividend yield and then it falls by 50% like kenya re and AK???

@ guru267.. I have very heavy losses on this counter so I am trying to average down since I cant sell! From the Intelligent Investor, they refer to it as dollar cost averaging. I think it works!

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
KIRTI
#15 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2011 8:22:57 AM

@ obiero.. I think instead of trying to average down in this stock, better invest that money in good share like KPLC, KCB, NIC, DTB, EQUITY.etc.. If you buy @ 10 bob of Kenya Re then after six month it will not go up unless they change Management. This sector growth is above 50% for 2010 and Kenya Re groth is only 3% for first six month. Wait for the change of management.
#16 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2011 6:44:09 PM

@KIRTI. thanks for the heads up. Im already into KCB and have recently exited HFCK after obtaining a 73% return. Bralirwa has also brought back a 46% gain. Ni hii Kenya Re ndio imeleta nuksi kwa portfolio with a paper loss of kedo 63K. Il think about ua advise seriously. Salute!

My 2 cents
#17 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 8:19:20 AM

@KIRTI. have recently exited HFCK after obtaining a 73% return. Ni hii Kenya Re ndio imeleta nuksi kwa portfolio with a paper loss of kedo 63K. Il think about ua advise seriously. Salute!

Talk about uprooting the flowers and watering the weeds!!!!! You should have exited Kenya-Re instead.
KIRTI
#18 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 9:17:48 AM

@KIRTI. thanks for the heads up. Im already into KCB and have recently exited HFCK after obtaining a 73% return. Bralirwa has also brought back a 46% gain. Ni hii Kenya Re ndio imeleta nuksi kwa portfolio with a paper loss of kedo 63K. Il think about ua advise seriously. Salute!

I can say at this price ( 23 - 23.25) KCB is a entry point. You can hold Kenya Re until get the Result of 2010 & then decide what to do with this shares.
#19 Posted : Saturday, April 27, 2013 10:25:45 AM

KIRTI wrote:

I can say at this price ( 23 - 23.25) KCB is a entry point. You can hold Kenya Re until get the Result of 2010 & then decide what to do with this shares.

Note to self, Kenya Re is not for the faint hearted investor. Extremely wild swings of share price not appearing to be founded on any real tangibles

#20 Posted : Saturday, April 27, 2013 12:27:29 PM

KIRTI wrote:

Note to self, Kenya Re is not for the faint hearted investor. Extremely wild swings of share price not appearing to be founded on any real tangibles

BUY THE RUMOR AND SELL THE NEWS!!!