wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

Religious (in)tolerance
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 1:56:31 PM

...Last Sunday as usual i went for service in my usual church. The preacher at some point took a swipe at a certain religion and condemned the worshippers for waking up at 5 to worship their false God. My question is, should preachers publicly condemn other religions, whether hindu or Muslim or whatever? Should we tell others that they worship a false God? What is religious tolerance all about? As far as I belief what another person worships and believes should not be my business so long as they keep it to themselves. I think preachers should be careful what they say about other religions.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 8:52:31 PM

according to Christians they are...just calling a spade a spade. freedom of speech. Muslims diss Christians as well - get used to it.
ChumviMacho
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2011 2:18:36 AM

Tolerance (live and let live) is a modern day concept and a product of post modernity. Intolerance seems out of fashion with the modern mind that sees truth as relative rather than absolute. Christians view truth as absolute and if Jesus is the only way then all others are false. Christians (sic) who see it any other way are simply compromising in order to accomodate alternative views or at least for peace's sake. This does not mean reckless criticism or condemanation of others in any context is right.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2011 7:18:59 AM

Criticism of other religions is ok so long as done with respect. Otherwise how would you win them over?
Alo
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2011 8:49:16 AM

@ Magigi you should hear Muslims dissing christians tena in public, i thank God Christians aren't like them otherwise fighting would be rampant and especially so in msa. Very disgusting!
"A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her."
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2011 8:53:43 AM

@Magigi you are wrong!!!
innairobi
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2011 8:55:11 AM

I don't care about religion X criticizing religion Y. If you do, then your whole argument on intolerance becomes self-contradicting. Wacha watu wajitetee. I only have beef with explosive devices coming into the mix.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2011 11:20:56 AM

http://www.reuters.com/a...on-idUSTRE7211GH20110302
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2011 11:50:44 AM

...Last Sunday as usual i went for service in my usual church. The preacher at some point took a swipe at a certain religion and condemned the worshippers for waking up at 5 to worship their false God. My question is, should preachers publicly condemn other religions, whether hindu or Muslim or whatever? Should we tell others that they worship a false God? What is religious tolerance all about? As far as I belief what another person worships and believes should not be my business so long as they keep it to themselves. I think preachers should be careful what they say about other religions.

Nini hii?Sad Sad

#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 02, 2011 4:54:58 PM

It is their 'true' god alright. As to whether it is the living God or not is another question.

But I would not worry about them, I would worry about the preacher. The greatest threat to you, Magigi, as a christian, is not other religions and how they differ from each other, but deception within Christianity itself. Mathew 24 or somewhere there.
For false Christs and false prophets will appear and perform great signs and miracles to deceive even the elect--if that were possible.

You insist on following the living God, how can you be deceived into following another god?......that is the question.

Maybe the preacher has done his part and made you start splitting hairs wondering and discussing religious (in)tolerance instead of reading your bible. Who knows?