wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

#FEB28 Kenya
amga
#21 Posted: : Thursday, February 24, 2011 1:35:47 PM

all it takes is a positive mind and convince several of your friends same way we create a buzz about other stuff this too can work if the motive is to show that there is more that unites us than divides us as Kenyans
K22
#22 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 1:45:31 PM

Am reading some political & financial motives behind all this 'sing & unite' maneno. 2012 iko kwa corner and someone (hiding behind the pronoun 'WE') is experimenting and/or strategising on how to make their pockets fatter as our ever greedy MPigs always do!

I hope they know, for every action their is an equal and opposite reaction

If these persons are truly genuine, whoever 'they' are should come out and tell us in detail what is in for us common wananchi.

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
innairobi
#23 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 1:45:59 PM

If it heads to the streets and shikas a crowd, you can be sure it will be hijacked by some politician's supporters. Won't be long before it becomes a 'Mr. Y must go' and 'Ms. X for president'
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#24 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 7:25:47 PM

whats the point?
mgeman
#25 Posted : Saturday, February 26, 2011 9:28:44 PM

I am dissappointed by the attitude of the few wazuans who have posted here. I believe this is not the attitude of the wazua family.
I don''t see what the problem is if they started it on twitter, are we not all abuzz about new media? And the fact that we are discussing it at wazua means it has gone further that that, If fact the promoters we on PM live and Capital talk. If anybody cares to visit the website they find that it is not about fighting politicians or doing a tunisians but about patriotism, about being on kenya having one uniting anthem.
NA TUJENGE TAIFA LETU, EEH NDIO WAJIBU WETU.
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
KenyanLyrics
#26 Posted : Saturday, February 26, 2011 10:51:07 PM

(Serious question) who's clock will the singers and hooters use?
#27 Posted : Sunday, February 27, 2011 8:12:37 PM

@kenyanlirics, they will used tv clocks....you can imagine!
When is the hooting time?Though I wont waste my car battery for such a useless course.

#28 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 8:50:08 AM

some organisations have shown interest in this exercise I hear all Nakumatt supermarkets will join in.
#29 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 9:09:26 AM

I ask then 'what next' come 1305HRS? I offer latent support. 8,332 though 'Attending' on facebook as at 0905HRS...all Nakumatt branches to stop & have staff sing it aloud...same with some corporates.. I am not sure what the success measures are but it sure does show Kenyan youth are yearning for something...
innairobi
#30 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 10:10:36 AM

The tune:

http://upload.wikimedia....onal_Anthem_of_Kenya.ogg
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#31 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 12:24:35 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
(Serious question) who's clock will the singers and hooters use?

The plan is for all Kenyans, whether at home and in the Diaspora, to unite to sing the National Anthem at the same time 13:00 EAT on the 28th of February 2011.

If you are outside Kenya this may mean you are singing early in the morning or late at night, we salute your commitment! May you find strength in the first line of the second verse of our National Anthem which goes, “Amkeni Ndugu Zetu”!

The table below (courtesy of Time and Date) lets you know what time to sing.
Time is fixed on Monday, February 28, 2011 at 1:00 PM Kenya time
Addis Ababa Mon 1:00 PM Geneva Mon 11:00 AM Nairobi Mon 1:00 PM
Adelaide * Mon 8:30 PM Guatemala Mon 4:00 AM Nassau Mon 5:00 AM
Aden Mon 1:00 PM Halifax Mon 6:00 AM New Delhi Mon 3:30 PM
Algiers Mon 11:00 AM Hanoi Mon 5:00 PM New Orleans Mon 4:00 AM
Almaty Mon 4:00 PM Harare Mon 12:00 Noon New York Mon 5:00 AM
Amman Mon 12:00 Noon Havana Mon 5:00 AM Oslo Mon 11:00 AM
Amsterdam Mon 11:00 AM Helsinki Mon 12:00 Noon Ottawa Mon 5:00 AM
Anadyr Mon 9:00 PM Hong Kong Mon 6:00 PM Paris Mon 11:00 AM
Anchorage Mon 1:00 AM Honolulu Midnight Sun-Mon Perth Mon 6:00 PM
Ankara Mon 12:00 Noon Houston Mon 4:00 AM Philadelphia Mon 5:00 AM
Antananarivo Mon 1:00 PM Indianapolis Mon 5:00 AM Phoenix Mon 3:00 AM
Asuncion * Mon 7:00 AM Islamabad Mon 3:00 PM Prague Mon 11:00 AM
Athens Mon 12:00 Noon Istanbul Mon 12:00 Noon Reykjavik Mon 10:00 AM
Atlanta Mon 5:00 AM Jakarta Mon 5:00 PM Rio de Janeiro Mon 7:00 AM
Auckland * Mon 11:00 PM Jerusalem Mon 12:00 Noon Riyadh Mon 1:00 PM
Baghdad Mon 1:00 PM Johannesburg Mon 12:00 Noon Rome Mon 11:00 AM
Bangkok Mon 5:00 PM Kabul Mon 2:30 PM San Francisco Mon 2:00 AM
Barcelona Mon 11:00 AM Kamchatka Mon 9:00 PM San Juan Mon 6:00 AM
Beijing Mon 6:00 PM Karachi Mon 3:00 PM San Salvador Mon 4:00 AM
Beirut Mon 12:00 Noon Kathmandu Mon 3:45 PM Santiago * Mon 7:00 AM
Belgrade Mon 11:00 AM Khartoum Mon 1:00 PM Santo Domingo Mon 6:00 AM
Berlin Mon 11:00 AM Kingston Mon 5:00 AM São Paulo Mon 7:00 AM
Bogota Mon 5:00 AM Kiritimati Midnight Mon-Tue Seattle Mon 2:00 AM
Boston Mon 5:00 AM Kolkata Mon 3:30 PM Seoul Mon 7:00 PM
Brasilia Mon 7:00 AM Kuala Lumpur Mon 6:00 PM Shanghai Mon 6:00 PM
Brisbane Mon 8:00 PM Kuwait City Mon 1:00 PM Singapore Mon 6:00 PM
Brussels Mon 11:00 AM Kyiv Mon 12:00 Noon Sofia Mon 12:00 Noon
Bucharest Mon 12:00 Noon La Paz Mon 6:00 AM St. John’s Mon 6:30 AM
Budapest Mon 11:00 AM Lagos Mon 11:00 AM Stockholm Mon 11:00 AM
Buenos Aires Mon 7:00 AM Lahore Mon 3:00 PM Suva * Mon 11:00 PM
Cairo Mon 12:00 Noon Lima Mon 5:00 AM Sydney * Mon 9:00 PM
Canberra * Mon 9:00 PM Lisbon Mon 10:00 AM Taipei Mon 6:00 PM
Cape Town Mon 12:00 Noon London Mon 10:00 AM Tallinn Mon 12:00 Noon
Caracas Mon 5:30 AM Los Angeles Mon 2:00 AM Tashkent Mon 3:00 PM
Casablanca Mon 10:00 AM Madrid Mon 11:00 AM Tegucigalpa Mon 4:00 AM
Chatham Islands * Mon 11:45 PM Managua Mon 4:00 AM Tehran Mon 1:30 PM
Chicago Mon 4:00 AM Manila Mon 6:00 PM Tokyo Mon 7:00 PM
Columbus Mon 5:00 AM Melbourne * Mon 9:00 PM Toronto Mon 5:00 AM
Copenhagen Mon 11:00 AM Mexico City Mon 4:00 AM Vancouver Mon 2:00 AM
Darwin Mon 7:30 PM Miami Mon 5:00 AM Vienna Mon 11:00 AM
Denver Mon 3:00 AM Minneapolis Mon 4:00 AM Vladivostok Mon 8:00 PM
Detroit Mon 5:00 AM Minsk Mon 12:00 Noon Warsaw Mon 11:00 AM
Dhaka Mon 4:00 PM Montevideo * Mon 8:00 AM Washington DC Mon 5:00 AM
Dubai Mon 2:00 PM Montgomery Mon 4:00 AM Winnipeg Mon 4:00 AM
Dublin Mon 10:00 AM Montreal Mon 5:00 AM Yangon Mon 4:30 PM
Edmonton Mon 3:00 AM Moscow Mon 1:00 PM Zagreb Mon 11:00 AM
Frankfurt Mon 11:00 AM Mumbai Mon 3:30 PM Zürich Mon 11:00 AM

Current UTC (or GMT/Zulu) time used: Monday, February 28, 2011 at 10:00:00
UTC is Coordinated Universal Time, GMT is Greenwich Mean Time

Symbols
* means the time shown has been adjusted for daylight saving time(DST) or summer time (10 places listed).
Mon means Monday, February 28, 2011 (140 places listed).
Tue means Tuesday, March 1, 2011 (1 place listed).
#32 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 12:29:54 PM

http://28feb.co.ke
#33 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 1:18:17 PM

Just saw some guys singing @ Jevanjee
wanyuru
#34 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 1:20:59 PM

.... didn't hear a thing
#35 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 1:24:10 PM

Kenyans in Kencom unite:
KenyanLyrics
#36 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 1:47:31 PM

how did it go guys?
K22
#37 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 1:53:11 PM

Interesting comment from a blogger named Fort Knox

*Hiding behind my Laptop to spew nignorance*

#Thingsthedevilinvented – Twitter. Why?

First of all I’m not a cynic. Im just a human being. The sheer name calling on twitter/Online just coz you can’t comprehend someone else’s thoughts (Im not mad at that cuz it simply tells me the kind of person you are) is disgusting and more ignorant than me not singing a f*cking national anthem and it also confirms my doubts. The fact that I have a negative opinion about this stuff or National Anthem singing Day or whatever y’all online activists call it, doesn’t really mean sh*t to anyone. It’s sad that some of you want to exercise your democratic rights but won’t stand people with different views from theirs (Typical Christianity Bullsh*t) which makes me view DEMOCRACY as beast that was sold to Africans to facilitate divide and rule type of leadership (We was friends but now thanx to Online Activism n this National Singing Day bullsh*t, we are now enemies). What some of ya’ll forget is that even in Egypt, Libya or wherever not everyone co-signed what was happening, but did them not co-signing change anything? did they stop Mubarak from leaving power? are they or not patriots? should they be jailed or killed for not supporting the revolt against the government? So when I say I don’t give a fizzurk about this foolery (It’s just me) and the best reply I get from a knowledgeable person who wants to change the country through singing the National Anthem is an insult, do y’all really think I’ma going to change my mind about this stuff ? If you are passionate about a cause, you have no obligation trying to explain it to someone who is not interested. If you depending on the numbers to push your cause through, then you have to be knowledgeable enough to manipulate people (im not saying you do it to me, cuz im off this brainwashed mentality). Insulting people just coz you think they haven’t logged on to a certain website and read something about singing a f*cking national anthem to me makes your cause more and more lame and nonsensical. Everyone that don’t sing their ideas on the internet are not as dummies as some what National Anthem Singing day has made some of ya’ll think (Maybe they are, huh?)

Before I forget, The National Anthem Singing Day Organizer tweeted about the “World Watching us do something”. Hahahaha that was some ignorant sh*t right there (Monkey See, Monkey Do Mentality)

For those that will be singing, Please no Auto-tune, it’s a contraband in the country n be safe. I’ll be at home chilling, watching Alqaeda take over Libya.

‘Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds!’ – Bob Marley.

Applause

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
Djinn
#38 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 2:47:07 PM

so...have matatus stopped over lapping...do factory workers now have golves/helmets, etc ? is the govt wage bill lower? Have MPs started paying taxes, are there decent price controls....so are we more proud as Kenyans to live with such flaws and inequity in our society.

I personally think this was a gargantuan waste of time and effort - time and effort that would better have been spent organising a MAJOR protest..

I did not sing and where I was (near Uhuru Park) I did not hear anyone singing - a flop
Djinn
#39 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 2:54:41 PM

Excerpts from feb28.co.ke

We are extremely proud to be Kenyan! hmmmm?
We are proud of our beautiful country! I agree 100%
We are proud of our diversity cultures and traditions!
We are proud of our heroes! To celebrate them we spend millions on a national day while they languish in poverty forgotten.
We are proud of our high achievers! Yes we are.
We are proud of being hustlers! And our tolerance of impunity?
We are proud of our hoods!
We are proud of our tribes and twengs!
We are proud of our kanges and our mats! Yes, we watch them as they overlap, as they kill and maim, as they raise fare arbitrarily...
We are proud of our artists and musicians! I only know about 3 real musicians in Kenya
We are proud of our industries and farms! and the worker's exploited on them and the poor working conditions?
We are proud of our sports teams! OK I admit Athletics, Rugby and Cricket offer moments of pride - football is a big shame.

What a crock of utopian BS...singing the anthem will not fix what ails our society...by this evening our sense of pride will have started to fade to its pale self again...

XSK
#40 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 3:21:39 PM

wanyuru wrote:
.... didn't hear a thing

me too!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!