wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

ACCESS KENYA
Jamani
#41 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 1:31:40 PM

the deal wrote:
March 22..mark that in your dairies if the Somen dont pull a rabbit out of their pockets...the share will be massacred...

@deal wacha kunitia baridii bwana,
Fyatu
#42 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 2:05:14 PM

the deal wrote:
I'm putting AK on the radar...i wont disclose my reasons for that.Lets wait till August you will see...I'm looking for the bottom of the current sell off then i will go in..if it gets to 8 bob i will be happy.

@deal.....fafanua!
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#43 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 2:17:24 PM

AK can't compete against Safaricom [which is going for the Corporate Market as well]
Cde Monomotapa
#44 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 10:56:32 PM

My summary judgement on AK from the IPO to date (& foreseeable future) was and still is simple; if Safcom could feel the heat c/o Zain (n B4 Yu now) in an industry with such a high barrier to entry in terms of Capex, then how is this ISP called AK going to survive? I mean with a couple of Ms I could open an ISP myself. Ati niche market such pupu! A lot many went against my counsel...
#45 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 11:59:30 PM

Anyone just seeing doom and gloom for access is an armature and does not belong to the stock market! Company just finished metro fibre in nrb, now in mbs, using cheaper fibre technology, making strides in cloud computing, IT a basic need. Price collapsing but on wafer thin volumes (average 100k) RSI way below 30! People, these are signs that the stock will bottom out very soon. An opportunity to make money. @pkoli where are you, lets do a cfc/kcb on this stock.
#46 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 12:09:39 AM

Anyone just seeing doom and gloom for access is an armature and does not belong to the stock market! Company just finished metro fibre in nrb, now in mbs, using cheaper fibre technology, making strides in cloud computing, IT a basic need. Price collapsing but on wafer thin volumes (average 100k) RSI way below 30! People, these are signs that the stock will bottom out very soon. An opportunity to make money. @pkoli where are you, lets do a cfc/kcb on this stock.
Erm, I would rather be an amateur on this one! I have made mistakes but getting into AK is not one I want to make!

- Safaricom is eating their lunch in the SOHO market
- Safaricom [& others] going after the corporate market as well
- Only option is a buyout by Airtel/Orange or an aggressive Indian or South Africa ICT firm
Fyatu
#47 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 12:18:50 AM

@ VVS what has happened to the dogma "Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy"
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
passiveinvestor
#48 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 12:48:15 AM

This is just a Dog with super-fleas! Don't know why there's even a debate on them. Absolutely no redeeming qualities, in terms of assets, business growth, competitive advantage...anything..
#49 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 10:07:24 AM

Fyatu wrote:
@ VVS what has happened to the dogma "Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy"
I am being fearful coz I think the price is being supported by the greedy!

When I look at the business... Warren Buffett says... have a moat. These guys have a shallow moat! Safaricom is like the Uruk Hai. Very dangerous!
jawz1
#50 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 11:08:24 AM

Fyatu wrote:

When I look at the business... Warren Buffett says... have a moat. These guys have a shallow moat! Safaricom is like the Uruk Hai. Very dangerous!

You just made my day bwana VVS! And not a Aragorn in sight within AK boardroom! smile
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
jawz1
#51 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 11:15:25 AM

Jamani wrote:
bartum wrote:
Jamani wrote:
Sober wrote:
IPO price, here we are eventually. what next...

sadly so, nimechomeka

pole ndugu

Ahsante, its the highest degree of burn,i have ever received in this market.In terms of amount invested and current value

Tulikuwa wengi, but i decided to crystallize my loss and put the remaining amounts elsewhere where i can recoup the loss by year end may be.... But the lesson learnt is worth more than the total loss (na si peni nane).

This one, this one...aaaah...together with its cat sister..... am not touching even if they are taken to the "buy 1 get 2 free or "5 for the price of 2 - buy one get all" sort of a fish market.... Sitaki!

@Wendz - Did you exit at 16/= or it went down before you jumped? I remember the last time you made a "distress call", it was at 16/= then it went down hill from there!

I held on because 16 was still going to be a loss anyway.... hoping (which I know so well is not a trading strategy) that it will come back to its senses and stop using the reverse gear if the market becomes vibrant.... I successfully jumped out at stage 12 after realizing we are at neck breaking speed on freeway to the pit!

I hear you Wendz. I also alighted before my stop at a loss but when management kept changing drivers and shifting destinations I smelled smoke and bailed at 17/=. It does pay sometimes to listen to the prevailing mood of passengers (ie Wazua) smile
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
ProverB
#52 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 11:18:09 AM

Fyatu wrote:

Applause Applause
Quoting Treebeard i see! Dangerous times in middle earth these are.. especially for hobbits! i noticed one seriously injured in the process!! Tehehehehe! and with the great evil brewing from the east!!... Bob collymore's acting like saruman!
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Wondergirl
#53 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 11:46:15 AM

Erm, I would rather be an amateur on this one! I have made mistakes but getting into AK is not one I want to make!

- Only option is a buyout by Airtel/Orange or an aggressive Indian or South Africa ICT firm

d'oh! VVS,
What now is SOHO?
PKoli
#54 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 12:12:50 PM

@Sparkly,

I am alive and watching the market keenly. I am delighted at the results coming from the financials and also happy that price discovery is not coming immediately the results are being announced, otherwise KCB will be over 28 today.

I ventured in Access during the IPO and was immediately thereafter. At one time it had about 60% of my portfolio. I opted out at 26 when the prices started going upwards but never gone back. A few things scare me on this stock:
1. Recent directorship squabbles
2. Continued reduced profitability
3. Cashflow challenges
4. Increased competition from guys with real financial mussle.

I have tried to imagine ways in which I could see them return to profitability and I can only imagine innovative products. They have not impressed on this.

For the above reasons, I will still watch them on the sidelines, else trade on very speculative purposes. I am still in KCB and CFC; no regrets

#55 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 1:19:20 PM

Wondergirl wrote:

d'oh! VVS,
What now is SOHO?
SOHO = Small Office Home Office
erifloss
#56 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 1:54:31 PM

@Sparkly,their metro fibre is a non starter coz KDN (The company with the largest inland OFC network on this side of the sahara)& Jamii Telcom already have the same in Nairobi & Mombasa & the 2 companies also have overhead cables which are helping in the reduction of downtimes. What vvs is saying is actually true as Safcon is using the topologies of these 2 firms for their data provision, they are entrenching themselves in these guys niche market and don't forget MTN Business is in town and they are yet to aggressively start rolling out their services.
Conclusion, unless Access brings something new on the table most probably being bought out,
the future is gloomy.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#57 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 1:59:03 PM

Many shareholders have paniced,i hope the corporate clients will stay put.if they follow suit,lets meet and arrange the funeral date.
Jamani
#58 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 2:16:16 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Many shareholders have paniced,i hope the corporate clients will stay put.if they follow suit,lets meet and arrange the funeral date.

Baridii
Wamuthi
#59 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 2:17:43 PM

AK is decomissioning lots of Safaricom Wimax installations due to poor Safcom support. AK is still strong.
#60 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 2:20:16 PM

SOHO = Small Office Home Office

Not to be confused with Soho District, the Sodom and Gomorrah of London!!