wazua Sun, Jan 12, 2025

6 Pages«<23456>
Financial year 2010 results estimates for banks
ProverB
#61 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 8:41:32 AM

SAC Cohen wrote:
BBK pretax profit up 51% to 13.553Billion. Announces share split 1:4, dividend up to SH4.70. Underlying profit up 20%.

..ShARe-freaking-SPlIt??? How NOW???? Eh? Aje sasa??? for what purpose??? stupidly trying to monkey with market perception?? Adan is acting idioty. NKT!!! Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Wa_ithaka
#62 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 9:19:37 AM

Didn't see that coming. I am assuming its booked profits from the custody business. And a dps of 4.70.
Could reach a ksh100
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Gadaffi
#63 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 6:19:38 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Gadaffi wrote:
bbk-will post better returns considering the sale to stanchart bt its 2011 Q1 results will drop.
Equity-feels its overpriced n largely driven by speculation&emotions n nt mostly by fundamentals
Nbk-highly underpriced if u do its valuation and the best equity buy at the moment.
Nic-Good returns expected n a buy.
Kcb-good returns expected but its price is going no where. this stock cant go above 25
coop-regardless of the results, its at 20 in the short term or lower

Saying 'kcb can't go above 25' is such a blanket statement. What's your reasoning behind that? Past performance? What ever happened to ''in the short term, the stock market behaves like a voting machine, but in the long term it acts like a weighing machine''

i based my analysis on 'kcb' mostly on the technical part of it bt also on the fundamentals. i guess we will have to wait n see, at least av been right about bbk...
Gadaffi
#64 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 6:24:03 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Gadaffi wrote:
bbk-will post better returns considering the sale to stanchart

I thought the change from that sale was largely going to be used to offload the 200 or so management staff making it a pass through item in the P&L?

bbk was only using PART of the proceeds from the sale to pay off the affected employees n this PART was very minimal with most of it going back to its books n thus the impressive bottom line
#65 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 7:45:03 PM

I have a sneaky feeling that the lion will post 12.894B on Thursday. Second only to BBK.. Equity will pull in third with 11.540B. All others will post below 10B.

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
erifloss
#66 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 8:32:10 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Gadaffi wrote:
bbk-will post better returns considering the sale to stanchart

I thought the change from that sale was largely going to be used to offload the 200 or so management staff making it a pass through item in the P&L?

bbk was only using PART of the proceeds from the sale to pay off the affected employees n this PART was very minimal with most of it going back to its books n thus the impressive bottom line

@Gaddafi, its only the gain/loss on disposal of an asset or investment that contributes to the bottom line and not the sale value. Thus in the case of BBK its the gain on disposal that contributed to the bottom line and the funds generated from the sale went towards paying the guys being retrenched.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#67 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 10:03:42 PM

Between KCB & Equity... I think Equity will win in PAT even with a smaller deposit/asset base!
erifloss
#68 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 7:33:16 AM

With pay outs that Cargen, EABL, BOC & now BBK have given, i have a feeling that some boards are now rethinking on their selling points. I'm loving it.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
ProverB
#69 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 7:42:11 AM

erifloss wrote:
With pay outs that Cargen, EABL, BOC & now BBK have given, i have a feeling that some boards are now rethinking on their selling points. I'm loving it.

..mhmmmm... suddenly smelling the hand of NSE honchos... smile
is it possibly trying excite the market..by requesting boards to dilute shares with splits/bonuses? maybe..after all..i remember one Jimnah at some time past requesting illiquid expensive counters to split to encourage investing.. maybe something similar is afoot.. maybe.
nse was up jana..after a long while.. Think
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
dave.kim
#70 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 11:49:18 AM

ProverB wrote:
erifloss wrote:

is it possibly trying excite the market..by requesting boards to dilute shares with splits/bonuses? maybe..after all..i remember one Jimnah at some time past requesting illiquid expensive counters to split to encourage investing.. maybe something similar is afoot.. maybe.

Could be since the nse was rated as the seventh most expensive bourse in frontier markets ,leading foreign investors to choose other markets.
http://www.businessdaily...550/1112294/-/157a31i/-/
Rule No.1 is never lose money. Rule No.2 is never forget rule number one
dave.kim
#71 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 2:52:22 PM

KCB aint re-acting appropriately like the other banks.sielewi!!
Rule No.1 is never lose money. Rule No.2 is never forget rule number one
Cde Monomotapa
#72 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 3:03:45 PM

dave.kim wrote:

let's just chill for kesho..i knw there is a lot of skeptism around KCB the numbers will give a clearer picture. A dividend of 1.1 will be music to my ears.
Gadaffi
#73 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 1:31:26 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
dave.kim wrote:

let's just chill for kesho..i knw there is a lot of skeptism around KCB the numbers will give a clearer picture. A dividend of 1.1 will be music to my ears.

thats a long shot bt anyway lets wait n see
Fyatu
#74 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 4:15:25 PM

When is CO-OP reporting???
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
erifloss
#75 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 5:53:34 PM

dave.kim wrote:
ProverB wrote:
[quote=erifloss]With pay outs that Cargen, EABL, BOC & now BBK have given, i have a feeling that some boards are now rethinking on their selling points. I'm loving it.

Could be since the nse was rated as the seventh most expensive bourse in frontier markets ,leading foreign investors to choose other markets.
http://www.businessdaily...50/1112294/-/157a31i/-/[/quote]

My thoughts exactly! I think the 'big cats' are trying to shade a picture of a market that though rated as expensive in terms of p/e gives good returns in terms of div. yields and bonus issues. The end result capital retention with good returns though the fluctuation of our currency is causing a major setback on this front.
#76 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 11:29:42 PM

DTB is expected to announce 100%+ PAT vs last year based on 3Q results.

Co-op should be 50%+ too...
StanChart is also very efficient...

Have the smaller banks started reporting?

Of course, this also means the banks are screwing us all around!

When my beloved Angel KK Angel makes billions in a tough fuel market, they get rimmed by Wazuans, GoK, wananchi... lakini why is it ok for banks? Sad{|= d'oh! d'oh!
Cde Monomotapa
#77 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 4:53:31 AM

@VVS..
Iza man abt KK. LOL.. Labda it is another case of Jesus n Barnabas! Lol! Moving on..if i were a foreign investor i'd still remain with NSE coz results speak for themselvse, LESS stringent exchange controls due to availabilty of forex in the economy and 3.NSE is a liquid and active exchange.
Muthawamunene
#78 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 5:49:44 AM

i want coop to report uko end of march, by then i should've squeezed in some more at prevailing stock price. i've been looking at their 2009, 2010-Q1, Q2 &Q3 papers and they look promising. not as big as other bigger banks, but still good.
Cde Monomotapa
#79 Posted : Friday, February 25, 2011 6:50:32 AM

Muthawamunene wrote:
i want coop to report uko end of march, by then i should've squeezed in some more at prevailing stock price. i've been looking at their 2009, 2010-Q1, Q2 &Q3 papers and they look promising. not as big as other bigger banks, but still good.

All the best young comrade. Wewe ndo utabuy nyama.
mwanahisa
#80 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 12:31:46 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
Wa_ithaka wrote:
I think its easy to see how 3/4 of the banks will perform.
Barclays-flat than a pancake or even a drop.
StanChart-will do okay, but note T-bill rates have been heading downward so it'll have to do some proper lending
Equity-juu juu. I understand Ug subsidiary is due to break even
KCB- snooze zone

@Wa-ithaka, I disagree with you on BBK. Its Cumulative Q3 2010 results actually showed an increase of 20.42% growth in PAT relative to Q3 2009. This compares with 28.38% for KCB and 17.03% for Stanchart. If anything Stanchart will be the laggard amongst this peer group.

So, as predicted SCBK has indeed turned out to be the dud amongst the big banks. I wonder if they have any intentions of going back to being a real bank rather than relying on earnings from Govt bills. At least the purchase of the custody business from BBK was a start, but the earnings from this are unlikely to be anything substantial.