wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Kibaki Nomiminations
Nobby
#1 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 4:12:24 PM

Who has the an updated on the ruling today?d'oh!
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#2 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 4:20:07 PM

Constitutional Court adjourns nominations case to 2nd March as ODM, others are enjoined.
Nobby
#3 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 4:44:11 PM

Constitutional Court adjourns nominations case to 2nd March as ODM, others are enjoined.

Why? why? they should have finalized this circus today!!Anxious
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#4 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 4:46:46 PM

this hague thing must be very serious indeed.

First we waste time trying to decipher what consultation means, now we waste time deciphering what "kihii" means to whom and in what context.

March 14th aint far so lets be a bit careful with the words we use and the people we purport to support or otherwise. Self mutilation in a public baraza will not be aided by interpretations and the briefcase interpreters and "supporters". Sobreity and careful diction and word choice will go a long way though.
B.Timer
#5 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 4:53:21 PM

Further to @ Mcreggae's response, perhaps of special note in this matter is the 'defence' entered by the AG on behalf of Govt. - read Kibaki.

It has been reported that Wako actually conceded before the court as to the violation of the constitution on the matter of the nominations!

This should leave the Judges with very litle option, but adjudge the nomination as running counter to the stipulations of the constitution.

My worry is the riducule that the office of the President is getting shuffled its way!!!!

For Kibaki as an individual I would say this serves him right!

We told him during the run up to the referundum that the issue of two centres of power between the promulgation date and the exipiry of the current Parliamentary term needed to be corrected.
He ignored the advice.
That advice was given by his advisers too.

I remember reading in the press that Kiraitu and other politicians advised Kibaki as much.

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=7637

In our thread above we feared this much too!
See our arguments in point 7 - the very last paragraph.

Dunia ni msongamano..
#6 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 5:35:39 PM

Hail B.Timer! Wewe ni mchawi walai! Hapo ulikuwa umeona mbali kuliko Moi
#7 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 6:15:14 PM

Utavuna ulichopanda

Tulipanda sasa tunavuna....na bandooo.
2 Miles
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 8:19:36 AM

@ B. Timer ,just looked at your comments on the link you provided. Very commendable indeed.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 8:31:52 AM

Now that the deadline is 27th Feb, and the politicians don't seem to have agreed on the nominations list...acting CJ will most likely be the senior most judge...
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 8:42:59 AM

Wako and Marende agree that the nominations were improperly done...what next for Baks?

http://www.nation.co.ke/...18/-/4ffc8y/-/index.html
Kirika
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 8:48:48 AM

Kibz may very well eat humble pie and might end up with a bloodied nose. Kalpana and Co. have little wiggle room to appease the Executive.

But on another note as we near March 14th the temperatures will boil and as usual the Kibz cronies will have no counter plan incase the ICC judges choose to go ahead with Ocampo.

We shall witness more press conferences with a blood shot UK spewing vitrol.
Seeders
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 9:15:53 AM

greater concern is if the judges fail to go with ogambo. genyans in typical fashion have followed the media and focused on the ICC while completely ignoring the strengthening of local solutions like the TJRC.

if UK or WR or both cases are thrown out, the gloating will be legendary. trying to set up a local tribunal after that will be difficult. the momentum will have shifted to the suspects.

Kirika wrote:

Kibz may very well eat humble pie and might end up with a bloodied nose. Kalpana and Co. have little wiggle room to appease the Executive.

But on another note as we near March 14th the temperatures will boil and as usual the Kibz cronies will have no counter plan incase the ICC judges choose to go ahead with Ocampo.

#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 9:18:05 AM

Kirika wrote:

I thought UK had hired a PR firm to saidia him with image/PR...how does a leader go banging tables and displaying anger? I still believe LMO set these guys up....cause panic, and allow them kujikaanga...ABK! A cornered dog is normally very kali. HK is the only quiet one, and I think it will work for him...
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 10:15:09 AM

What we are having now is a storm in a tea cup. Next year we will be in a deep crisis when parliament fails to dissolve as its term wont be over. Then we will not have elections next year but sometime in mid 2013! The Committee of Arrogant Expert Quacks really messed us up on this too.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 10:31:25 AM

kadonye wrote:
What we are having now is a storm in a tea cup. Next year we will be in a deep crisis when parliament fails to dissolve as its term wont be over. Then we will not have elections next year but sometime in mid 2013! The Committee of Arrogant Expert Quacks really messed us up on this too.

The COE did not mess, it is the people trying to go around the constitution that are messing, if our leaders were to follow the spirit and the letter of the constitutional dispensation, we would not be having much problems, with entrenched IMPUNITY, no constitution is good enough, they will always look for ways out to practice the Vice!!!!!
#16 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 10:38:18 AM

Seeders wrote:
greater concern is if the judges fail to go with ogambo. genyans in typical fashion have followed the media and focused on the ICC while completely ignoring the strengthening of local solutions like the TJRC.

if UK or WR or both cases are thrown out, the gloating will be legendary. trying to set up a local tribunal after that will be difficult. the momentum will have shifted to the suspects.

This exactly what I've been asking myself lately, if UK or WR get acquitted by the ICC judges they would return to the country as "National Heroes".
#17 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 11:06:26 AM

@Taz, on what basis would they be acquitted? (unless procedural) the fear displayed by WR when he came from the Hague and the tempers displayed by one UK, do you believe their is innocence?
#18 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 11:07:16 AM

kadonye wrote:

The COE did not mess, it is the people trying to go around the constitution that are messing, if our leaders were to follow the spirit and the letter of the constitutional dispensation, we would not be having much problems, with entrenched IMPUNITY, no constitution is good enough, they will always look for ways out to practice the Vice!!!!!

This katiba is flawed, however one looks at it. One of the reasons some of us voted yes for it was the fatigue factor not that we loved it fully.

The article below makes a good read.

http://www.mutahingunyi.com/?p=101