Investor
Stocks
Speculation Corner
I have bought a good number of Mumias Sugar shares this morning ranging in price from 7.60 to 7.80. I also intend to pick up some more next week depending on how it moves from here.
Why?
The price has gone down by over 20% since the release of H1 results notwithstanding the generally positive outlook. In my view this drop has been overdone.
I have been watching the volumes and I can see there are quite a few guys trying to pick them up and I decided to try and ride the wave.
I am aware that lots of peeps are worried about the end of COMESA safeguards but I doubt whether they will mean too much for MSC, at least not within my speculation time frame. Besides oil prices are VERY high and hence I would expect world sugar prices to remain high.
CAUTION:A little while ago, I had projected that MSC would rebound from 8.50 but the whole market went down dragging down Mumias with it. I am now thinking it is about time it (MSC) rallied.
I have been wrong before on this one, so investors with no stomach for the possibility of losing money had better keep off.
What do the others say?
We r headed closer toward n not away from Comesa day by day. The noise can only get louder. What does that tell u? I'll b a buyer a lot later.
Today's particular buy was a smash and grab job. I intend to exit with a 10% gain and will be willing to jump ship with a 10% stop loss. I am however expecting an upswing on Monday and if so then I will indeed BUY more with similar intentions.
However, should the price drop more substantially say to Kshs 6, I will sell at least 25% of my current portfolio (70% is in financials) and deploy the proceeds into MSC. At 5/=, I will INCREASE it to 50% of my portfolio. That illustrates my view that threats of COMESA sugar are overrated. Risky, but that is what the stock market is about, isn't it?
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
mwanahisa wrote:What do the others say? @mwanahisa I warned everyone when the share went from 8.35 to 9.5 that it was only temporary and now we're back to 7.6 so please be very careful... This company cannot grow their profits basing on current operations.... but i admit i will buy below 6.5 because of upside potential, minimal downside risk and high dividend yield... But please do buy this share at your own risk Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
@g267. Thanks for the warning. Kindly note that is why I have indicated that I am speculating. If MSC was to however to fall to 6, I would be investing for the long term and I am would be willing to wait it out.
I maintain a minimum of 10-15% of my investible funds in speculative counters, sometimes more depending on the opportunities in the market.
The rest of my stash is in fairly safe counters e.g. Jubilee, KCB, DTK & Equity.
I also buy some fairly outlandish shares when no one else is looking at them e.g. I have held onto C & G for the last 2 years and fortuitously increased my holding on the day of results. I have now sold about 30% of the C & G's and I have money to burn on MSC. I also have agrics - Limuru Tea & WTK. Should I profit from the Mumias move, the money will find its way straight into Jubilee. Its day is coming as sure as the sun will rise tomorrow.
@Mwanahisa ... am impressed with ur bravehood although i wish u had waited i little bit longer like mid next week. anyway gud luck & lets hope it goes our way.
nahdy wrote:@Mwanahisa ... am impressed with ur bravehood although i wish u had waited i little bit longer like mid next week. anyway gud luck & lets hope it goes our way. @nahdy, It's not really bravery but a calculated risk. As you can tell from my other holdings, I am a fairly conservative investor - you can tell from my level of diversification (although primarily in financials). This gives me some room to make forays into the likes of KQ (this one is KILLING me) and MSC from time to time with their incredible volatility. I also take my gains fairly regularly on my risky (high beta) portfolio (e.g. I have traded in and out of HFCK several times in the last year). As for MSC, at 7.60, the price is about 1/2 of its high of 15, shortly before results were released last year. While H1 profits fell, you will note that they were actually better than H2 of 2009-10. Of course COMESA is looming but so too is the Ethanol and Water projects. So, I figured I can make a play on it knowing full well that it is a gamble that I am taking. For me, the main risk is actually politics with the current shenanigans. This could result in the counter not making the antipicated upward push!
mwanahisa wrote:I have bought a good number of Mumias Sugar shares this morning ranging in price from 7.60 to 7.80. I also intend to pick up some more next week depending on how it moves from here.
Why?
The price has gone down by over 20% since the release of H1 results notwithstanding the generally positive outlook. In my view this drop has been overdone.
I have been watching the volumes and I can see there are quite a few guys trying to pick them up and I decided to try and ride the wave.
I am aware that lots of peeps are worried about the end of COMESA safeguards but I doubt whether they will mean too much for MSC, at least not within my speculation time frame. Besides oil prices are VERY high and hence I would expect world sugar prices to remain high.
CAUTION:A little while ago, I had projected that MSC would rebound from 8.50 but the whole market went down dragging down Mumias with it. I am now thinking it is about time it (MSC) rallied.
I have been wrong before on this one, so investors with no stomach for the possibility of losing money had better keep off.
What do the others say? @mwanah-the worst thing about being on the wrong side of the equator. Man,i could read your sentiments just from the topic itself,my instincts preempted mumias. Buy more n keep me floating. Save a brother.ait. Worst case ,this devedends cant last me any longer. It could nt get worse than this. Could it?
Actually, It COULD GET WORSE, but we will deal with it if it does. If it is any consolation, I am betting that it will not!
BTW, @X13united, which is the wrong side of the Equator? AND where is Njung'e our very own SUGAR BARON?
mwanahisa wrote:Actually, It COULD GET WORSE, but we will deal with it if it does. If it is any consolation, I am betting that it will not!
BTW, @X13united, which is the wrong side of the Equator? AND where is Njung'e our very own SUGAR BARON? At current prices and all the way down (assuming it will go lower), I'm also buying. Most people agree that its a solid company but bring up the COMESA safeguards as the major risk. So far, MSC seems to be the only sugar co. doing anything to mitigate against that risk - seeking equity, diversifying products etc. So unless we're facing a total collapse of the sugar industry in Kenya, i'd still bet on it.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/24/2010 Posts: 238 Location: nairobi
@Mwanahisa, wewe unaleta hii maneno na unajua wanawazua wengi wameshikwa na maB.P. Ama haujui kwanini wamenyamaza.
Please ecourage dear brothers and sisters during this hard times.
@mwanahisa. Im with you on this one. The h1 results dont merit the drop we've seen, h2 will be better-said the management. That alone will make the price rebound, by full yr. I believe mumias will survive comesa because its a solid company. I had said the same thing in another post. Now, the lower it goes the sweeter the deal becomes. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
There are counters that im just looking at with greed. The prices have gone low. If they appreciate to their former levels, thats already money in the pocket. They are: kq at 40.25, getting back to 46 is easy, esp with the higher passenger n.o's and h1 results. kk at 9.45.or 9.00. Getting back to 10 to 10.20's is inevitable. Kplc. The lowest it's traded since the rights and split is 21.75. Thats where it is now. Getting back to 23.50-24.00. Is definite. And unlikely to go lower by much. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/18/2010 Posts: 8 Location: United States
As I watch the propaganda continue, the denial become more rampant with every day that goes by, the corporate greed continues to fester. Most or all of the financial horrors that are plaguing the masses of people who have the illusion of financial independence dangled in front of them, are caused by corporate greed, lust for power, pathetic need to control.
Thank you very very much @ mwanahisa .and i thought i was foolish for planning to buy mumias at 6.00 levels.For me its not speculation but a long term strategy.6 bob levels would provide such a good entry for a long-term play or let me just put it this way the market is literally giving us money....There's so much goin on for this company its hard to ignore it at this levels ...the same goes for kk. It would be wise to enter now coz i dnt see if the price will drop below 6.00 bob ... i am also buying into A.K. I am buying into the fear and so many times i have seen it reap me good rewards...More so i hve to average down my losses..a.k price has a habit of just turning back up and bittin all the skeptics in the behind and this time it might be abit too painfull for the skeptics.... Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
mwanahisa wrote:Actually, It COULD GET WORSE, but we will deal with it if it does. If it is any consolation, I am betting that it will not!
BTW, @X13united, which is the wrong side of the Equator? AND where is Njung'e our very own SUGAR BARON? @mwanah-the sh12 zone of our sweet so sweet sugar.
Oh no. Qw also thinks mumias is a good buy now....im now begining to have doubts, two wrongs dont make a right. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
X13united wrote:mwanahisa wrote:Actually, It COULD GET WORSE, but we will deal with it if it does. If it is any consolation, I am betting that it will not!
BTW, @X13united, which is the wrong side of the Equator? AND where is Njung'e our very own SUGAR BARON? @mwanah-the sh12 zone of our sweet so sweet sugar. i get the impression u mean it will drop past 6.00 . WOW . why shld that be.We arent ina recession . and even those bailing out coz of 2012 wount drive the price much lower than 6.00 bob ..... it it goes past 6.00 i am selling my house,car,shamba, take a loan and put up my wife for auction ( i lov u babie, lol)WORST COMES TO THE WORST I cld even go ahead and sell my left nut !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Coz really can you equate Mumias sugar with eveready or some other junk stock at 3.00 ...LOL .3.00 is really hard to come by. Thats totally undervaluing a company... BTW i do respect the markets ability to stay irrational for a every long time. Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Some thing very interesting about your nokia phone.Or rather NOKIA LOL . http://letterdash.com/sa...-once-chopped-down-treesYour future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
its better to speculate on Access Kenya than Mumias Sugar.
Investor
Stocks
Speculation Corner