wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Useless News, Now Kibaki disregards Marende's ruling
#1 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 4:11:34 PM

Very sad indeed for our aging "leaders".
Pray

popat
#2 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 4:40:15 PM

The guyz is just kicking off the 2012 campaign in eanest.Didn't you see how UK n company were worked up with Marende's verdict.Though Bak's made sense by pointing out that as a far as he was concerned he acted within the constitution and its only the Judiciary arm of government that can decide otherwise and of course Marende is not a Judge.
#3 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 4:48:42 PM

Nkkt sasa hi ni nini!
Addressing a news conference at his Harambee House office Friday over Speaker Kenneth Marende's ruling on the controversial nominations, President Kibaki said he will await the decision of the Constitutional Court.

http://www.nation.co.ke/News/po...30/-/7owb06/-/index.html

What would Kofi Annan say? Are we prepared to deal with full consequence of this 'deep insight'?

For Sport
#4 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 7:07:31 PM

I thought this new constitution was supposed to change the way this country is run - does anything seem to have changed?

Everyone keeps passing the buck and refusing to CHANGE - did we seriouslly vote in "more of the same"? we live in tough times.
#5 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 7:38:27 PM

muganda wrote:
Nkkt sasa hi ni nini!
Addressing a news conference at his Harambee House office Friday over Speaker Kenneth Marende's ruling on the controversial nominations, President Kibaki said he will await the decision of the Constitutional Court.

http://www.nation.co.ke/News/po...30/-/7owb06/-/index.html

What would Kofi Annan say? Are we prepared to deal with full consequence of this 'deep insight'?

First it was left to the Parliament. The Parliament decided. Now it has been left to the Constitutional Court. Then? Wonder what happens if the Petitioners withdraw their Petition.
2 Miles
#6 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 9:27:31 PM

BAKS should just give us a break. Why dnt he use his proxies to inform us of his dissatisfaction???? I thought he was awaiting parliaments decision. So because it doesn't favour him & his bunch of thugs , it is unconstitutional??????? Pliiiiiz!!!!!

I think these people are used to forcing issues to go their way. I voted for kibaki but I am 90% sure that he din't win. Kibaki's camp attitude towards yesterdays ruling is just an extension of what has been happening throughout his term. That things must always go their way. SHAME ON YOU!!!
#7 Posted : Saturday, February 19, 2011 12:21:50 PM

I can feel the frustration of President Kibaki.
He wants to do things the old ways but there is a new 'paper' in operation .I think people did not understand the new constitution when they were supporting it .

I like the new constitution .Applause Applause Applause

And when Kibaki says his nominees will remain, who will they be judging on if a big majority of Kenyans feel that the nominees are his hand boys (Watu wake wa Mkono)? Will the majority of kenyans trust the judiciary?

Kibaki should just stop digging in and do things the right way , whether is through the judicial service commission of proper consultations with the PM .This is what the 'paper' says

#8 Posted : Saturday, February 19, 2011 12:42:19 PM

Full speech:

STATEMENT BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF KENYA AND COMMANDER-IN-CHIEF OF THE DEFENCE FORCES OF KENYA ON THE NOMINATION OF CHIEF JUSTICE, ATTORNEY GENERAL, DIRECTOR OF PUBLIC PROSECUTIONS AND CONTROLLER OF BUDGET

My fellow Kenyans, I wish to inform you that in duly nominating persons to be considered by the National Assembly for appointment to the positions of the Chief Justice, Attorney General, Director of Public Prosecutions and Controller of Budget, I acted within my constitutional mandate.

The Report of the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs dated February 2011 regarding the above nominations observed:

1. That the process of nomination of the Chief Justice was constitutional and in accordance with Section 24(2) and Section 29 of the Sixth Schedule…’

2. That the process of nomination for the office of the Attorney General was constitutional…’

3. That the process of nomination for the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions was constitutional…(p.86).’

Similarly the Report of the Departmental Committee on Finance Planning and Trade observed:

‘The unanimous view of the Committee is that there were actions by both His Excellency the President and the Right Honourable the Prime Minister to comply with the Constitution of Kenya in the process of nomination of a person for the position of Controller of Budget… (pages 45 and 46).’

None of these two Parliamentary Committees returned a verdict that myself and the Prime Minister had acted unconstitutionally in relation to the nominations.

Yesterday the Speaker of the National Assembly of Kenya arrived at a different position regarding the constitutional status of the nominations.

The principle of separation of powers between the three arms of government on this important constitutional issue ought to have been respected. Therefore, the interpretation of the Constitution ought to have been left to the Judiciary.

In my actions as your President, I have at all times acted in accordance with the Constitution and the Laws of Kenya.

I understood that given our past, fidelity to the rule of law is of utmost importance in the running of our national affairs.

I also understand that there are those who urge that it is not enough to simply follow the provisions of the Constitution.

However, our primary duty is to ensure we are guided by the Constitution and ordinary law as enacted so as to ensure the smooth and predictable running of our country.

I wish to assure Kenyans that my government is committed to the implementation of our new Constitution.

Just as I led you my fellow citizens into the realization of a new Constitution, I am determined to lead you into the new phase of implementing the Constitution. This phase holds great promise in our life as a nation and individuals.

Before we can conclude the nominations that we have embarked upon, the government will await the verdict of the Constitutional Court on the nominations. In the meantime, we shall proceed with other aspects of implementing the Constitution.

THANK YOU
alikujia
#9 Posted : Saturday, February 19, 2011 1:25:09 PM

so if it takes 6months for judgement? or does he have a say on this. chief justice term expires in one week. Whether it was right or wrong, iam surprised he is not approaching it positively as a leader and taking charge. how many eggs does he want on his face.
#10 Posted : Sunday, February 20, 2011 11:24:30 AM

Take 300 metres, make the ruling and retire. If I were one of the three judges I would seriously consider the offer.
Liv
#11 Posted : Sunday, February 20, 2011 11:24:02 PM

Marende did not allow parliament to decide if Kibaki's nominations were constitutional or not. In fact he decided that the reports of the 2 committees were not going to be part of parliament records. Apparently he decided to change his mind about the responsibilities he had given them.

That is why Kibaki felt that Marende's opinion was uncalled for as he was not supposed to interpret the constitution but to get the decision of the parliament.
si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo
#12 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 8:18:29 AM

Liv wrote:
Marende did not allow parliament to decide if Kibaki's nominations were constitutional or not. In fact he decided that the reports of the 2 committees were not going to be part of parliament records. Apparently he decided to change his mind about the responsibilities he had given them.

That is why Kibaki felt that Marende's opinion was uncalled for as he was not supposed to interpret the constitution but to get the decision of the parliament.

I wonder why people have so fickle memories. do you remember the previous ruling where he noted that that matter would not only be decided by the vote of the house?
#13 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 9:11:54 AM

mukiha wrote:
Full speech:

Before we can conclude the nominations that we have embarked upon, the government will await the verdict of the Constitutional Court on the nominations. In the meantime, we shall proceed with other aspects of implementing the Constitution.

This is one of the judge presiding the constitutional court

http://www.standardmedia...00010784&cid=4&
Do you expect her to be objective on her ruling if a small man like Simon Mbugua could make her chicken out?

Her best option would be to :
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Take 300 metres, make the ruling and retire. If I were one of the three judges I would seriously consider the offer.

Karema Hiti
#14 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 11:20:44 AM

Fellow Kenyans, as we comment about our President's press briefing, let restrain ourselves from showing disrespect. This is the man who steered the country through the development process of the new Constitution and I have not doubt in my mind that he will be last person to contradict or betray it. What we are witnessing are normal teething problems that go with a new venture or project. Rest assured, we shall get out of the woods soon and fully enjoy the flavour of our new Constitution.
#15 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 12:08:17 PM

AG Wako stands firm in court saying Kibaki's judicial nominations were unconstitutional since JSC was not consulted &no gender balance
#16 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 12:10:30 PM

Constitutional Court adjourns nominations case to 2nd March as ODM, others are enjoined.
#17 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 12:23:59 PM

Constitutional Court adjourns nominations case to 2nd March as ODM, others are enjoined.

Good to hear this;at least Kenyans judicial system is growing some teeth.
Kudos.Amos Wetu, shikilieni hapo napo.
Applause Applause

#18 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 1:10:35 PM

[quote=Impunity

Applause Applause
[/quote]

@Impunity,

Amos ni wenu na nani??

The fellow should go kabisa.

To me he has been the cradle of impunity..... Sasa he has something to say?.....ABK!!!

Shame on you Liar Liar Liar
#19 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 1:31:08 PM

MK might have been wrong in making the nominations without consulting the JSC but last night i was a bit shocked to see ODM MPs (Tononoka) condemning Kibaki for "ignoring constitutional experts". The two principals ONLY disagreed on the nominees otherwise they were both ok with everything else.
si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo
#20 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 1:48:09 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
[quote=Impunity

Applause Applause

@Impunity,

Amos ni wenu na nani??

The fellow should go kabisa.

To me he has been the cradle of impunity..... Sasa he has something to say?.....ABK!!!

Shame on you Liar Liar Liar [/quote]

Amos Wako has nothing else to loose. But good to see him getting some spine, albeit too late.