wazua Wed, Sep 24, 2025

119 Pages«<6667686970>»
KENOL/KOBIL
BGL
#1341 Posted : Wednesday, February 16, 2011 2:59:08 PM

KPC has not deposited the 4.6bn to the joint account as requested by the courts. If they had, JIS would have written to NSE.
IMHO KPC=Kiraitu+Nyoike and they have no intention of paying.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#1342 Posted : Wednesday, February 16, 2011 5:06:28 PM

Kenyan courts are not final but more of a public relations exercise.
#1343 Posted : Wednesday, February 16, 2011 6:33:38 PM

Part of me does NOT want KPC to deposit the cash in court. Why? I would rather see KK 'own' some or all [well, the 'good' assets] of the assets of KPC especially the Storage Tanks & Pipeline.

Or a consortium of OMCs or Trustees own/control KPC not kiraitu, nyoike & friends!
#1344 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:32:50 AM

So NOCK & KPC screw up AGAIN???
http://www.businessdaily...6/-/n2m3vpz/-/index.html
#1345 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 8:21:56 AM

[quote=VituVingiSana]So NOCK & KPC screw up AGAIN???
http://www.businessdaily.../-/n2m3vpz/-/index.html[/quote]

NOCK is a walking f**kup. If they cant get something as simple as rebranding a petrol station right, how on earth can they import 30% of the country's oil? The Caltex Petrol Station along Ngong Road next to Uchumi taken over by them still has Caltex livery, months after being handed over.
Papa Investor
#1346 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 8:49:59 AM

hehehe and it never has fuel...
#1347 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 3:40:03 PM

My concern is that the games between MoE, ERC, KPC, NOCK & KPRL will hurt the country... As is, prices for fuel are high [combination of high oil/crude prices, somali pirates, high taxes & inefficiencies] & a major shortage due to someone not doing their job will mean a further loss to Kenya...

Pricey fuel is better than no fuel at all...
milken
#1348 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 4:39:06 PM

I have two questions here.
1. Now that ERC are regulating prices why should NOCK keep the quota?
2. If NOCK can obtain at cheaper prices, why not bid during OTS and win all the bids.

Hapa iko kitu!
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
#1349 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 6:01:37 PM

As some would say, "Mta Do?"
#1350 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 8:21:14 AM

Question to @milken

Why does RMS (Regular Petrol) cost more than PMS (Super Petrol)?

http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/111sjhcz/-/index.html

milken
#1351 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 9:38:35 AM

Question to @milken

Because it comes from the refinery and not imported. The refinery is obsolete hence a lot of low value products (fuel oil and fuel loss. This means products from the refinery will cost more than imported products since for the same crude you obtain less PMS/DPK/AGO.
#1352 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 10:26:54 AM

milken wrote:
Question to @milken

Because it comes from the refinery and not imported. The refinery is obsolete hence a lot of low value products (fuel oil and fuel loss. This means products from the refinery will cost more than imported products since for the same crude you obtain less PMS/DPK/AGO.
So why wud anyone [OMC or retail customer] even buy RMS? In other words as a consumer... why would I buy RMS vs PMS?

So if I do not buy RMS, who does?
#1353 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 10:32:08 AM

milken wrote:
Question to @milken

Please list the products from most preferred to the least. Thanks!
BTW, I thought RMS was preferable to DPK or AGO. Isn't DPK [except Jet A-1] the least desirable?
Does KPRL produce Jet A-1?
milken
#1354 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 11:08:25 AM

@VituVingiSana

Let me answer differently.

When you buy crude at say 40 bob a litre you need to obtain products worth more than the 40 bob to make a profit. The refinery (at least the Kenyan one) will use some of your product for own operations and then produce LPG, AGO, PMS, RMS DPK Fuel Oil and Bitumen in various ratios.

By refining crude, you have fore gone importing refined products, hence the value of the product from the refinery should more or less be in line with international prices. (i.e the profit will be Value of crude refined less the Value of the refined products obtained from the refining) With the unit value being the international price of that product plus shipping cost. (In industry parlance the imported price parity or Hydrocarbon Values)

Considering that each of the products has a different price, it is therefore desirable to obtain high value products. International prices for AGO, Jet and PMS are more or less similar hence the three will be more valuable. Fuel Oil's value is about 60% that of the other three. Hence a refinery that produces more Fuel than the AGO, DPK and PMS will lead to losses. However, a marketer will have to balance the refinery output with product demand. Hence even is say DPK has more value that AGO, there might be less demand.

To your question on Jet now

Other that impurities, statics, water content and freezing point, there is no difference between DPK and Jet A-1. Virtually all imported DPK meets the Jet A-1 specs and vice versa. KPRL produces Jet A-1 but the demand for that product (like all other products) is high (higher than PMS) as such quite a substantial percentage has to be imported)

The only difference between RMS and PMS is the octane rating which is the fuel's ability to withstand detonation on ignition. Modern engines with higher compression ratio will require high octane fuel than older engines. Additionally, new direct injection technology e.g GDI for Mitsubishi, D4 for Toyota, FSI for Audi/VW require even higher octane rating (about 95) otherwise the engine will lose efficiency in a matter of time.
#1355 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 11:27:34 AM

@milken. Thanks!

BTW, you had an interesting stat... that Jet A-1 has a HIGHER demand than PMS... Wow! Seems KQ should get into direct imports or just contract an OMC to be the lead buyer & just pay a premium for handling!

So can the RMS can be 'upgraded' to PMS?
All the retail stations I go to [mostly KK, no prize to figure out why] have PMS but not RMS... So who buys the RMS?
milken
#1356 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 11:37:36 AM

@milken. Thanks!

BTW, you had an interesting stat... that Jet A-1 has a HIGHER demand than PMS... Wow! Seems KQ should get into direct imports or just contract an OMC to be the lead buyer & just pay a premium for handling!

All the retail stations I go to [mostly KK, no prize to figure out why] have PMS but not RMS... So who buys the RMS?

KQ already buys on that basis (landed cost plus a premium) but the monster is the international price.

RMS= watu wa gari mzee.
#1357 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 12:21:47 PM

milken wrote:
@milken. Thanks!

KQ already buys on that basis (landed cost plus a premium) but the monster is the international price.

RMS= watu wa gari mzee.
Hold on... If PMS [higher octane] is CHEAPER than RMS [lower octane]... why would anyone want to use RMS?
#1358 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 1:55:21 PM

Ngai fafa, PMS = Pre Menstr*** ****** FURAHIDAY!!
#1359 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 2:25:11 PM

9 bob..... mbona sasa hio buy order ilienda thru.......
cnn
#1360 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 2:34:26 PM

chemos wrote:
9 bob..... mbona sasa hio buy order ilienda thru.......

Ouch!.But i wish i had plenty of cash.