Investor
Stocks
Financial year 2010 results estimates for banks
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/11/2010 Posts: 1,011 Location: nairobi
lets make some estimates on how they will perform. Eq--58% growth. Coop--60% growth kcb--30% dtb--103% bbk--23% stanchart--14% jubilee--54% nic--47%
Even if the financial sector reports super results, this has already been priced in by the rejection of the NSE index at 4700pt level. Resistance in the short term is now between 4600 - 4700 zone, which happens to project a double top. The fudged inflation index is above 5% which is the CBK's upper limit, yet MPC lowered the CBR to 5.75% - quite senseless!? Global food inflation is picking up, oil inflation due to middle east civil unrest, possibility of a drought and political risks as we approach 2012 are presenting bullish barriers. This yearly chart portrays a head and shoulders pattern which likely suggests that in coming weeks NSE will reach 4000 points if 4200 support does not hold. If 4000 support does not hold, it will be time to turn defensive and look for cheap attractive blue chip counters. Personally I started getting uncomfortable by the lack of volume in the last quarter of 2010 as the market rallied to 4700. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,121 Location: Nairobi
These are HISTORICAL growth rates... As @hisah says many of these are priced in... Now we need to look ahead... Can these banks/firms make gains in 2011 & 2012, etc... [Seeing what a bunch of idiots Kenyans were in 2008, I fear going beyond 2012...] Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
hisah wrote:Even if the financial sector reports super results, this has already been priced in by the rejection of the NSE index at 4700pt level. Resistance in the short term is now between 4600 - 4700 zone, which happens to project a double top. The fudged inflation index is above 5% which is the CBK's upper limit, yet MPC lowered the CBR to 5.75% - quite senseless!? Global food inflation is picking up, oil inflation due to middle east civil unrest, possibility of a drought and political risks as we approach 2012 are presenting bullish barriers. This yearly chart portrays a head and shoulders pattern which likely suggests that in coming weeks NSE will reach 4000 points if 4200 support does not hold. If 4000 support does not hold, it will be time to turn defensive and look for cheap attractive blue chip counters. Personally I started getting uncomfortable by the lack of volume in the last quarter of 2010 as the market rallied to 4700. Is this a prophecy of doom?? should we get worried?? Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Please note it is not financials contributing to NSE 20 or ALSI dropping..it is ur AKs, KQ, MSC, Scom, OCH, Sameer, Neveready e.t.c all with fluid fundamentals. For a longtime finally the NSE is reflecting merit in my view.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Cde, you're right. Some companies were (some still are) grossly overvalued. GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Cde, you're right. Some companies were (some still are) grossly overvalued. Tell em Comrade. Some of them ought to be de-listed infact.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/7/2010 Posts: 1,279 Location: nbi
I think its easy to see how 3/4 of the banks will perform. Barclays-flat than a pancake or even a drop. StanChart-will do okay, but note T-bill rates have been heading downward so it'll have to do some proper lending Equity-juu juu. I understand Ug subsidiary is due to break even KCB- snooze zone The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/12/2010 Posts: 1,199 Location: Eastlander
sasa HFCK inajaribu upuuzi aina which one? Mscheeew! NKT! ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Wa_ithaka wrote:I think its easy to see how 3/4 of the banks will perform. Barclays-flat than a pancake or even a drop. StanChart-will do okay, but note T-bill rates have been heading downward so it'll have to do some proper lending Equity-juu juu. I understand Ug subsidiary is due to break even KCB- snooze zone @Wa-ithaka, I disagree with you on BBK. Its Cumulative Q3 2010 results actually showed an increase of 20.42% growth in PAT relative to Q3 2009. This compares with 28.38% for KCB and 17.03% for Stanchart. If anything Stanchart will be the laggard amongst this peer group. KCB tends to surprise in Q4 with excess NPLs (which I guess are forced on them by their Auditors), but it it would be unusual for BBK to surprise us that way. On the other hand, BBK and DTK were the only listed banks whose profits in Q3 (Jul-Sept)were lower than those for Q2 (Apr-Jun). In the case of DTK, it was clear that they had a particularly good Q2 which was not expected to be repeated. In that sense BBK worries me, but I am banking on the gains from the sale of the custody business to SCBK to cushion any fall in Q4 vis-a-vis the first 3 quarters. As for Equity, I am with you. I expect an acceleration in their profits in Q4 against the 51.47% growth in cumulative Q3 PAT growth. But the mother of the big banks should be Coop as it had grown 74.76%. Makes me wonder why the D**N thing is stuck at 20! Of course, as many here have opined the results are already built into the price. Hence, I am reckoning the only price jumps that can be expected would be in the event of higher than expected or special dividends or declaration of bonus shares.
KCB has been growing QoQ from a paltry 5% in Q1 to 25% in Q3 where they also made all of Y2009 full year profits. Actually, KCB is the only bank that lent to the economy hence the low Q1 so they stand to rip now while the other banks falter esp.Stanchart which just traded bonds. Howevr, i am also concerned abt KCB's NPLs. In the Q3 numbers the provisions were rather high but they gave a rider that they'll review in Q4. In my judgement, they can only review it downwards hence creating more room for PBT in addition to earnings in Q4. Thus I give KCB an expansion of 30-40% for FY2010.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Cde Monomotapa wrote:KCB has been growing QoQ from a paltry 5% in Q1 to 25% in Q3 where they also made all of Y2009 full year profits. Actually, KCB is the only bank that lent to the economy hence the low Q1 so they stand to rip now while the other banks falter esp.Stanchart which just traded bonds. Howevr, i am also concerned abt KCB's NPLs. In the Q3 numbers the provisions were rather high but they gave a rider that they'll review in Q4. In my judgement, they can only review it downwards hence creating more room for PBT in addition to earnings in Q4. Thus I give KCB an expansion of 30-40% for FY2010. Let's just hope that will be enough impetus to drive it to the 30s GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,121 Location: Nairobi
KCB has a nasty habit of negative surprises every 2 years! Let's hope they have made huge recoveries in Uchumi & Triton... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
With a 30-40% increase in KCBs PAT FY2010, they will be able to maintain the eps of 1.8-2 bob of FY2009 even after the 33% increase in issued shares due to the Rights. A 2 bob eps at 30 bob is a p/e of 15, a far cry from the p/e of the co-ops n equitys of this world! I reitarate that I bet the house on KCB &Kengen.
alikujia wrote:@Zimkingdom Kengen??? hehe, I know but yes KENGEN! Btw ulikijia hii shillingi ki-mashifta ama?
Yesternight i had a dream.....kcb increased by 3.20 bob to land at 26 point something, couldn't see clearly dreams are hazy. Co-op went by 4bob to become 24. It was so real, i didn't realise it was a dream until i woke. My first dream on shares ever. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying wrote:Yesternight i had a dream.....kcb increased by 3.20 bob to land at 26 point something, couldn't see clearly dreams are hazy. Co-op went by 4bob to become 24. It was so real, i didn't realise it was a dream until i woke. My first dream on shares ever. hahaha. U've just proved that money never sleeps.
i also of late have been havin dreams about my shares....especially a.k and mumias . and i usually wake up havin broken a cold sweat.Gosh . cld this be a sing of things to come...OOOOHHH my ! Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/7/2010 Posts: 1,279 Location: nbi
Mwanahisa-on Barc tutaona. I think it might be first to release. Was thinking of buying some for ze long long time. Lakini Keynes in the long run we are all dead. I might be dead before the share does any positive surprises. Will add to my overflowing Equity position. Watch out also for NIC-good thangs. The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Investor
Stocks
Financial year 2010 results estimates for banks