wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

UCHUMI ANNUAL RESULTS
Kaffir
#21 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2010 4:26:21 PM

Whatever people think of Ciano, he has done what few have been able to do so far - bring a company back from a gallant suicidal march led by its then leaders. They look to be preparing for an early 2010 exit / relisting.
The company still has a long way to go, but i would vouch for the Ciano team to stay on, with new Terms of Reference, this time from the shareholders not the receivers.
Its share price, however, will most probably remain under 15shs in the short term, especially when one factors in the new shares to be created (further dampening its EPS/PE/etc). But, i see an equity group buying into it in the not too distant future, an action that will eventually pull up its share price.
#22 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2010 5:26:54 PM

Bought this share without foresight. Saw the signs but was too slow to act. Had also bought 'Tom & Jerry' aka paka and OCH but sold at a loss after Uchumi. Let them re-list and i will sell even at 50 cents a share. BTW If you are still in Tom&Jerry or OCH as investments rather than speculation, you ought to be whipped silly.
#23 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2010 5:34:17 PM

@GG - Interesting... I remember the small 'duka' they had at Sarit many, many years ago... lakini I think they got robbed so often they shut it down!
#24 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 8:35:23 AM

I'm looking at the unaudited 1/2 year results in the Standard pp 25. At what point did the outstanding shares increase from 180M to 266M? It seems I've been out of the loop on this one.
gathinga
#25 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 10:27:25 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
I'm looking at the unaudited 1/2 year results in the Standard pp 25. At what point did the outstanding shares increase from 180M to 266M? It seems I've been out of the loop on this one.

Half year results are not good. EPS half year 0.61 compared to 4.81 full year June 2010.

Instead of providing half year results for previous year for comparison, Management has published full year results june 2010, for comparison to half year, another reason for suspicion. ABK.

Most worrying is possible understatement of cost of sales/overstatement of margins. While Tuskys and Nakumatt report 16% gross margins, Uchumi reports 18% suggesting better efficiencies than the other two. There is no way Uchumi can be more efficient.

NOTE:// 1% movement in gross margins for Uchumi translates to 58m in profits. we are talking huge figures here.
#26 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 11:10:06 AM

@gathinga, eps diluted due to increased number of shares, but even if it is restated, the results are not inspiring.
gathinga
#27 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 11:30:43 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
@gathinga, eps diluted due to increased number of shares, but even if it is restated, the results are not inspiring.

@GG noted. thanks. the dilution had eluded me
erifloss
#28 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:08:57 PM

gathinga wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Half year results are not good. EPS half year 0.61 compared to 4.81 full year June 2010.

Instead of providing half year results for previous year for comparison, Management has published full year results june 2010, for comparison to half year, another reason for suspicion. ABK.

Most worrying is possible understatement of cost of sales/overstatement of margins. While Tuskys and Nakumatt report 16% gross margins, Uchumi reports 18% suggesting better efficiencies than the other two. There is no way Uchumi can be more efficient.

NOTE:// 1% movement in gross margins for Uchumi translates to 58m in profits. we are talking huge figures here.

@gathinga, you are wrong. Actually Uchumi is more efficient, after the credit problems they had they have adopted a better credit management policy than that of Nakumatt & Tuskys. Get your normal Uchumi supplier and they'll accredit to this. While Nakumat and Tuskys are trying to go the Walmart way which to me is not yet feasible in Kenya, ask fmcg firms the retailers they most have stocking & display issues with you'll realise its Nakumatt coz they are so much into foreign stuff and rigid. Uchumi is the mwananchi's retailer and the moment they are relisted they'll have access to cheap funds & the sky will be the limit with Ciano at the helm.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Kirika
#29 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:28:26 PM

Ciano should do the very basic thing which is to clean up the outlets, improve on the ambience, customer care and go abit slow on the regional expansion.

At some outlets they have stockouts and poorly lit ailes, its normal to have the cashier also pack the goods as other clients wait !

That way, he will be improving on the traffic to the outlets at a very minimal cost. Overall though, the guy has done a herculean task given the challenges he initially faced.
kazikwisha
#30 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:36:44 PM

the results don't look like anything to talk about but i would like to ask a rather silly question how did the debentures issued by uchumi affect the company and is it out of this liability or not?please enlighten me
hapa saa hii leo
gathinga
#31 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:38:04 PM

erifloss wrote:
gathinga wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

@gathinga, you are wrong. Actually Uchumi is more efficient, after the credit problems they had they have adopted a better credit management policy than that of Nakumatt & Tuskys. Get your normal Uchumi supplier and they'll accredit to this. While Nakumat and Tuskys are trying to go the Walmart way which to me is not yet feasible in Kenya, ask fmcg firms the retailers they most have stocking & display issues with you'll realise its Nakumatt coz they are so much into foreign stuff and rigid. Uchumi is the mwananchi's retailer and the moment they are relisted they'll have access to cheap funds & the sky will be the limit with Ciano at the helm.

@Eri. How is efficiency measured in retail business. I think its a matrix of the following parameters;

(i)sales per floor area
(ii)sales per employee
(iii)merchandise turn-around-time

In all the above, I see Uchumi far behind her competitors. therefore I expect them to report poorer margins than Tuskys &Nakumatt.

This does not discount your point, however. You are talking about creditor payments management. If you are retailer like Uchumi and you are paying suppliers faster than your competitors, you have a good reputation with suppliers. However, your competitors are keeping suppliers money longer in their system and are therefore able to use it for investment in short term financial instruments or expansion. This is the case with Nakumatt & Tuskys. Tell me who is better of in the end?
#32 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 1:37:32 PM

mukiha wrote:
....any way; there is still the small matter of the one billion shilling NEGATIVE reserve sitting in the balance sheet...

If the term loans and debentures are converted into ordinary shares, there might be hope for this company...that's the financing side of the equation...

On the business front, I hope the management will do some cleaning up of the company's image. Most the branches have started looking dingy and in that shape they cannot compete with Tuskys and Nakumatt.

Thus I am happy to see that the receivers have put into gear their exit plans...then the company can revert back to some business minded directors....hopefully.

So; where did this Ciano guy come from? And how does he pronounce his name - "Chiano" or "Siano"?

These sentiments still hold 13 months later....

The stores are still dirty and clattered... broken shelves, check-out conveyors not working, POS that cannot do multiplications and so on...

And now a financial statement that has no comparison figures... I read that PBT had gone up 40% and wondered how 169m going to 162m can be called an increase!

I think it was a mistake to retain Ciano after lifting of the receivership. They could have picked a guy like Ramamurthy [formerly at Nakumatt]

Bad show!
#33 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 4:37:28 PM

Last year's results had other items 'contributing' to PAT including Tax Credits...

As for growth... Uchumi needs to raise Capital to expand. Not an easy task given its history but the potential remains high... Yes, Nakumatt & Tusky's are strong competitors!
#34 Posted : Sunday, April 10, 2011 11:08:10 AM

I looking at the annual accounts for Uchumi that was in the mail last week. These accounts look cooked - no, actually tenderised, marinated and deep fried.

The Consolidated Statement of Financial Position (Balance Sheet) shows only two items under Equity, that is Share Capital and Reserves.

The Statement of Changes in Equity shows SIX items. In my common accounting understanding, each item under Equity must have a corresponding column showing the movement on that item in the Statement of Changes in Equity.

What seems to have happened is that all columns save for share capital have been reflected as Reserves in the balance sheet, thereby hiding Accumulated Losses of ksh 1B and creation of a curious item called "Equity pending allotment" of ksh 850M. When consolidated, under reserves, we get a positive reserve figure of ksh 600M.

I wish to know which IFRS says you can show Equity Pending Allocation. There is even no notes to the accounts that explains what this is, much as I know it is Govt and suppliers debt pending conversion to Equity. So what happens if we shareholders reject this conversion at the AGM, will the books be redone?

The Income Statement also has an Income Tax Credit of 424M which in effect increases the PBT of 294M to profit for the year of 718M. This profit for the year is what together with the "Equity pending allotment" has wiped out accumulated losses and made the Reserves positive.

I am a shareholder, Uchumi cant get any worse, it can only get better, so stop sanitizing the accounts and just tell us how we will get out of this hole. For my part I have stopped patronizing Naku***t and am exclusively using Uchumi even for a packet of milk.

Ernst and Young, how you signed off these accounts are still an amazement to me.
the deal
#35 Posted : Sunday, April 10, 2011 1:29:21 PM

with double digit inflation....retailers are a sale.
#36 Posted : Sunday, April 10, 2011 10:49:31 PM

Equity pending allocation is a valid item to use IF there is an agreement in place that allows & defines the terms for the 'new' Equity.

Other terms are 'Call on Shares'...

GoK had agreed to convert Debt to Equity so it will happen but just a matter of timing...
Crusher
#37 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 3:09:34 PM

Uchumi expects revenue to rise 34 percent in the current financial year as it expands in East Africa. Sales in the year through June 2012 may increase to 16.1 billion shillings ($170 million) from 12 billion shillings.

http:/www.bloomberg.com/...wing-on-expansion-1-.htm