wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Madness on Kenyan Roads
Njore
#1 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 12:53:29 PM

It is with profound sorrow to see how Kenyans continue to be butchered on our roads. Various solutions to minimize road carnage have been suggested before. However, the most urgent three are:-
a. Passengers to understand their rights, roles and responsibilities.
b. Bus crew & operators to change their attitude towards human life.
c. Law enforces to play their role diligently & professionally.
It pains to see how families get thrown into total disarray due to somebody's irresponsibility & recklessness!
#2 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 3:37:27 PM

Are you aware most road accidents are caused by private vehicles and most deaths approximately 70% involve personal vehicles.If you were to compare the death caused by PSVs and personal vehicles you will be amazed by how these toyota are finishing Kenyans.

Mind you am not saying proper vetting and adherence to traffic rule should not be followed but their is a perception that PSV Kill more and therefore more emphasis on safety is put on PSV overlooking the real killers: 'Toyota drivers'.
#3 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 3:42:23 PM

speed per se doesn't kill, it is the coming to an ABRUPT halt into a wall,tree, car or any other obstacle that does so - obel.
#4 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 3:51:43 PM

selah wrote:
Are you aware most road accidents are caused by private vehicles and most deaths approximately 70% involve personal vehicles.If you were to compare the death caused by PSVs and personal vehicles you will be amazed by how these toyota are finishing Kenyans.

Mind you am not saying proper vetting and adherence to traffic rule should not be followed but their is a perception that PSV Kill more and therefore more emphasis on safety is put on PSV overlooking the real killers: 'Toyota drivers'.

"Toyota Drivers" as you call them are a bit notorious on the road (especially within Nairobi) but the most reckless drivers on the highways are the drivers in Pajeros, Prados, Range Rover etc....Nani alisema ati because you have a big car you have to overtake everyone kwa barabara. Whats even more amazing is that these idiots will still try to overtake you when you're doing almost 150 K/H. Some of them even flash their headlights or hoot at you ati ndio you let them overtake you.Brick wall Brick wall
bendi3
#5 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 4:01:48 PM

And in the process many more people are dying and others being permanently disabled.
The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
tuvok
#6 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 9:02:55 PM

It's really quite simple: everyone keep the speed limit. Private 100kph out of town, 110kph on dual or more highway. PSV 80 kph. Keep your car serviced, don't overload, don't take unnecessary risks. Give way. Don't overtake carelessly.

Nowhere in the driving test does it say that it is compulsory to overtake the vehicle in front of you.

However I wonder how many of us know that it is illegal to overtake at junctions, at bumps, multiple vehicles at once.

However knowing Kenyans and our 'me first' culture...

kangi
#7 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 9:54:17 PM

@ Tuvok- well put.

This morning at westlands roundabout a Rangerover was reversing and almost hit a matatu ati ameona police na yuko on the wrong lane.Just wonder what drivers are upto or what they are smoking.
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
marex
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 04, 2011 1:20:19 AM

Get parliament to enact a law where drivers hu cause accidents are blacklisted for two years and their vehicles banned from the roads for three years!! this will instil fear especially on PSV drivers
The way I am
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 04, 2011 9:14:11 AM

I have observed maybe right or wrong, as Sela has put it that most fatal accidents are caused by non PSV vehicles. We have simply implanted impunity on the roads, we have extended the rude Nairobi attitude and road manners in our highways. @Taz, the Toyota drivers most of whom are inexperienced in driving on the highway do the jam theatrics and stunts on the highway, eg overtaking on the right on the road shoulders! Most of our drivers are used to driving on "ordinary" terrain, when it gets wet/dark/loose surface.... danger lurks on the road. Couple these with speeding, ignoring safety belts, overloading, poor vehicle maintenance and "me first".....
Spend.thrift
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 04, 2011 3:17:36 PM

selah wrote:

@ Selah, you could be right but lets talk numbers. The latest (competent) study on Road Traffic Accidents-RTAs conducted in 2009 indicates that 38% of recorded fatalities are caused by PSVs ( matatus and buses). Matatus and buses account for about 13% of the Kenya's vehicular population.

Pedestrians account for 47% of fatalities and then there is the new phenomenon of motor cycle boda boda fatalities, for which recent data may be unavailable.

Another interesting statistic is that men/males - with their "Shekha Mehta" driving prowess,account for 72% of all the RTA fatalities.

And another likelihood is that the number official reported is much lower that the actual fatalities. The WHO considers an RTA fatality to be that occuring between the time of accident and 30 days afterwards. I suspect that most of the numbers (3,000 or so per year) we talk about are those on the spot, on-the-way-to-hospital and on-arrival deaths.

The main problem in Kenya is the PSVs. One is because they carry large numbers of people so any accident is likely to be high-impact. Ask yourself why many insurance companies discriminate agaisnt PSVs as opposed to "Toyotas".

However, I would agree with you that most of the pedestrian deaths are caused by "toyotas", but the responsibility is equally shared between the totyota drivers and the pedestrians (mainly drunk ones and minors) themselves in most of the cases. If you want to know what I mean, try driving on Mombasa road past the Bell-Vue-South C to South B crossing point. You will see monkeys in clothes and many other monkeys behind the wheels. Or better still, Waiyaki way, where you will see adult men trying to jump over that "Great" wall with Nakuru or NBI bound vehicles zooming past at break-neck speeds.

Did I read somebody say "Some of these SUV drivers will try to overtake you even when you are doing more than 150kph?" Many monkeys on Kenyan roads.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 04, 2011 4:19:02 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
selah wrote:

If you want to know what I mean, try driving on Mombasa road past the Bell-Vue-South C to South B crossing point. You will see monkeys in clothes and many other monkeys behind the wheelsLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . Or better still, Waiyaki way, where you will see adult men trying to jump over that "Great" wall with Nakuru or NBI bound vehicles zooming past at break-neck speeds.

Did I read somebody say "Some of these SUV drivers will try to overtake you even when you are doing more than 150kph?" Many monkeys on Kenyan roads.

Well said Applause Applause Many monkeys indeed!!!Laughing out loudly
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 04, 2011 5:13:21 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
I have observed maybe right or wrong, as Sela has put it that most fatal accidents are caused by non PSV vehicles. We have simply implanted impunity on the roads, we have extended the rude Nairobi attitude and road manners in our highways. @Taz, the Toyota drivers most of whom are inexperienced in driving on the highway do the jam theatrics and stunts on the highway, eg overtaking on the right on the road shoulders! Most of our drivers are used to driving on "ordinary" terrain, when it gets wet/dark/loose surface.... danger lurks on the road. Couple these with speeding, ignoring safety belts, overloading, poor vehicle maintenance and "me first".....

The problem with Kenyan drivers is that everyone thinks his more experienced on the road than the other drivers...it has nothing to do with the kind of car you drive. You'll hear most of them bragging how stable "my Car" is on the road but you forget that it doesn't have an "auto-pilot". My main issue is with drivers who overtake dangerously on the Nairobi-Nakuru rd, like i said earlier you'll find two idiots trying to Overtake each other at 150 kph.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 04, 2011 11:00:24 PM

atleast we can agree on the fact that experienced drivers are most prone to causing fatal accidents. Experience kills. It does not hurt having that learner mentality and being careful.
Spend.thrift
#14 Posted : Wednesday, January 05, 2011 9:03:58 AM

Rahatupu wrote:

The problem with Kenyan drivers is that everyone thinks his more experienced on the road than the other drivers...it has nothing to do with the kind of car you drive. You'll hear most of them bragging how stable "my Car" is on the road but you forget that it doesn't have an "auto-pilot". My main issue is with drivers who overtake dangerously on the Nairobi-Nakuru rd, like i said earlier you'll find two idiots trying to Overtake each other at 150 kph.

@ TAZ, the other big problem on our roads is the standpoint that others bear more responsibility than you. Unless you own a speedgun and usually stand by the road side to take readings from other cars, I pretty much believe that the 150kph reading was on your OWN speedometer. Why do you think that you can speed while others should not? Bure wewe.

On Christams Eve, I saw a woman driving on Uhuru Highway. Mistake number 1. A child of around five years was seated at the front passenger seat (we all know that the seat belt can not hold that size of a child well in the event of accient or hard braking). Kids from 0-6 years belong in specially designed car seats and at the back seat. That's why child locks are only found on the rear doors.

Mistake No. 2. I was driving on her nearside and noticed the door was NOT locked. (in police language, ni kama mtoto aliwekelea mlango tuu na mama akatoa gari). I hooted at her, trying tried to point at the door but she seemingly was too dumb to figure out why a stranger was doing that. Luckily at the Haille Sellasie junction, I managed to communicate my warning her. Even if you dumb enough to believe in your 5 year old's door closing ability, I thought the dashboard is one of those things you always look at before you engage your drive gear. Unfortunately things like these are common in Nairobi. Just give your self an assignment of counting the number of cars being driven with one or more doors half closed or worse the bonnets unsecured.
Ondiek
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 8:54:25 AM

What irks me most is guys who drive with full lights and even when you indicate to them to dim the same they don't bother. I am thinking of installing some high beam lights that I will switch on when they don't dim their lights to teach them a lesson but then again I it will just make me another "monkey".
gogeta
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 9:00:36 AM

Ondiek wrote:
What irks me most is guys who drive with full lights and even when you indicate to them to dim the same they don't bother. I am thinking of installing some high beam lights that I will switch on when they don't dim their lights to teach them a lesson but then again I it will just make me another "monkey".

i thot i'd also do the same the other day but, someone told me if both of you put full lights none of you will see the way and that will result to a head on collision. i guess the only thing you can do is slow down and let the fool pass.
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
#17 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 9:20:43 AM

@gogeta, so very true.
BTW, there is a garage I pass by everyday in the morning, and everyday I see at least 3 cars that had a n accident a dya or 2 before - all are usu. write-offs. I always wonder, what happened to the drivers? And the other folks/ passengers, if any? Bt judging how the mangled the wrecks are it is always clear the accidents are caused by high-speed impact.
Tomorrow I will see 3 more mangled cars...I hope it will neither be yours nor mine Pray
K22
#18 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 9:34:12 AM

I was driving on her nearside and noticed the door was NOT locked. (in police language, ni kama mtoto aliwekelea mlango tuu na mama akatoa gari). I hooted at her, trying tried to point at the door but she seemingly was too dumb to figure out why a stranger was doing that. Luckily at the Haille Sellasie junction, I managed to communicate my warning her. Even if you dumb enough to believe in your 5 year old's door closing ability, I thought the dashboard is one of those things you always look at before you engage your drive gear. Unfortunately things like these are common in Nairobi. Just give your self an assignment of counting the number of cars being driven with one or more doors half closed or worse the bonnets unsecured.

I have heard tales of ladies driving with Hand brake still engaged.... this is not a strange phenomenon

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
hoodrat
#19 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 10:16:12 AM

Somebody said when you get on the road think of yourself as the only sane person amongst many mad men.How true!
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
#20 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 11:09:30 AM

I purposed that I will never be in a rush, no matter the urgency. There's no point of rushing only to never reach my destination. Highway? My speed limit is 100kph, which is also relatively fast. If I have passengers, I have to moderate my speed. It starts with me. Besides the country side is so beautiful, why not enjoy the view.

If you are ever in a rush, why not use a plane. Like I've said in an earlier post, its our experience, and subsequently, confidence that kills.