wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

Wazuans pliz advice! Am traumatised, am loosing it!
keraka
#1 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 8:31:00 PM

Bought a house thru mortgage by my employer(a bank.House was advertised thru our office nb and deal sealed in oct 2009 and my employer duly paid stamp duty and valuation fees same month. we waited for transfer of property and charging it to my employer so that pmt would be released to sellers lawyers.meanwhile seller arranged for me to move in on january 2010(as in take possesion)as other legal processes proceeded in finalizing the deal. Then all of a sudden hell broke loose, title docs got lost and for the whole of 2010 its been hide and seek with both the sellers and new lawyers who keep changing day by day.My conveyancing lawyers assured me that all is ok and my entittlement to the property is secure but just the other day received a vacate notice and note of unwillingness to proceed with the transaction.Good pple the same propery in the same location now costs more by 1.5m and i bealive this is the main driving factor for the greedy sellers.Good pple do i have a recourse or have been screwd up big time.Traumatised keraka.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 8:52:28 AM

@Keraka, did you even get a copy of the Title with your name on it? If so, maybe your lawyers have a point, because ownership transfer is recognized at the Land's registry. Is this Ngong/Kajiado? (the price increament!!) Wacha wataalam wa mambo za Land wakusaidie, we must have some in Wazua...All the best...
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 9:19:35 AM

Do you have the sale agreement? who breached the agreement? What are the terms of the sale agreement? Do you have evidence of you trying to make the seller meet his part of the bargain, eg chasing him around to get him to transfer the documents and all? What did the exit clause of the Agreement say?

Worst case scenario is that he refuses to proceed with the transaction, he refunds all your expenses plus interest if that is what the exit clause stipulates. this includes the stamp duties paid and everything. You have to have proof of the same though. He can not charge you for staying in the house because you took possession with the understanding that the process will take off and you didnt enter into any agreement with him on rent the house.

To all: its very very veeeerrry important to read any sort of agreement that you are asked to sign.... it could come haunting you later!
Ondiek
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 11:22:03 AM

Do you have a sale agreement?
keraka
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 11:37:13 AM

Thanks people
@nostopingthis
The title had not been transferred in my name.The property is within Nairobi,Eastlands for that matter.
@ Wendz
Yes we have a duly signed sale agreement but there was no termination/exit clause.The sellers are intentionally tryng to breach the agreement maybe hoping to get a better deal now that the property prices have gone up.
Yes I know that am entitled to refunds incase the agreement is cancelled but i dont want to go that route coz ave wasted my time persuing the same and my cashflows cannot enable me buy property in the same area given current prices so better to the end if at all i stand some chance of success.
Now one thing am contemplating stoping to pay rent coz we had no agreement on the same and the rent ave been paying them is just on a gentlemans agreement, not on paper,question is do they have a recourse to throw me out.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 12:35:48 PM

I normal sale agreemnts, you get to pay the deposit after you have ( through your lawyer) done due diligence. Any conveyancing lawyer knows that you can only do this with a copy of title. After the payment of deposit, the seller( or his lawyers) pass on the ORIGINAL title to you ( your lawyer) for conveyancing to you. It is when the conveyancing is done ( title in your name) that you should pay the balance.

So shida iko wapi? Don't you have the title undergoing conveyancy now? or is it that the seller did not pass on the original title after cellecting the deposit? By the way, I do not think a bank could be so careless as not to have an exit clause.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 1:02:34 PM

keraka wrote:
Thanks people
@nostopingthis
The title had not been transferred in my name.The property is within Nairobi,Eastlands for that matter.
@ Wendz
Yes we have a duly signed sale agreement but there was no termination/exit clause.The sellers are intentionally tryng to breach the agreement maybe hoping to get a better deal now that the property prices have gone up.
Yes I know that am entitled to refunds incase the agreement is cancelled but i dont want to go that route coz ave wasted my time persuing the same and my cashflows cannot enable me buy property in the same area given current prices so better to the end if at all i stand some chance of success.
Now one thing am contemplating stoping to pay rent coz we had no agreement on the same and the rent ave been paying them is just on a gentlemans agreement, not on paper,question is do they have a recourse to throw me out.

Better talk to your advocates but if at all times you were ready to or had fulfilled your obligations on the contract then you have a case for specific performance. If on the other hand you elect not to insist on specific performance then you can claim for damages for breach of contract part of which shall be the 1.5 million plus it would cost you to get a similar property.
keraka
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 1:05:49 PM

@ Bwenyenye
I think youve not got my point.No deposit was paid here and the bank (my employer) has nothing to do with the whole transaction but has just given me an offer of a mortgage loan subject to the property being in our joint title ie in my name but charged to the bank for security of their millions which of course they are yet to release.
My problem is the seller wants to renegde on their side of the contract so that it collapses all together and i feel this will be financially injurious to me considering the time wasted waiting and current property prices in the same locality.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 2:00:46 PM

@Keraka,

So you expect the guy to keep the house exclusively for you yet you have not paid a deposit on it? Something does not add up here.No wonder you are paying rent. What consideration had you put in place for the house to the seller? I have seen a situation where a seller, when unable to get outright purchases, especially where the place is a 'new' area will opt to entice people to even rent the houses first then they have an option to buy. When the guys are in the houses, the seller can then get serious buyers at better offers as the buyers now find a 'developed' place i.e matatus, dukas etc. At this point, the seller then kicks out any tenant and sells he houses at the prevailing market price with all the utilities.
keraka
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 2:35:11 PM

@Bwenyenye
I know the deposit 'catch' but are you trying to say that lack of that renders the duly signed sale agreement not binding!
@Elder
I bealive you have a point and will proceed to get a clarification on it.