wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

dyer and blair
#21 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 2:52:00 PM

IF YOUR BROKER IS NOT PART OF A PROFIT MAKING BANK,RUN MY FRIEND!!!!! RUN!!

A BROKE BROKER DOES NOT NEED YOUR PERMISSION TO SELL YOUR SHARES.

GAKIAVI OF NYAGA STOCKBROKERS IS A FREE MAN. PATTNI IS A FREE MAN. THAT GUY OF SASANET IS NOT IN ANY JAIL. THAT DONDE GUY OF DELCI PYRAMID SCHEME PROBABLY ENJOYS MORE FREEDOM THAN YOU AND ME.

Weusi wa nywele za mshtakiwa zaonyesha ujinga alio nao
mwana
#22 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 3:28:00 PM

[Kusadikika],
I agree with you. All those who illegally sold shares are still free running around enjoying their loot. All those involved in deci are also still free.
And with the re-appointment of Ringiera,they have now another additional guranteed 5 years of enjoying their loot. If push comes to shove D & B will sell shares illegally to enable cash flow.

Also the employees may be tempted to take something if they smell the ship is going down. Like when GSU stole Moi's golden Kanu cockrel in the last two years of his rule.

jerry
#23 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 3:32:00 PM

@Kusadi... Where r u from. U r arrogant en I doubt if u've a CDS acc.

Crocodile tears: If you can't assist me when I'm alive en you attend my funeral.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#24 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 10:02:00 PM

I am sorry Jerry if I hurt your feelings.

I just have a problem giving a broke broker money upfront to buy me anything especially in Kenya where I have no recourse in the justice system if my money disappears. If you are a member of a Sacco have you ever wondered why they ask you to have a guarantor every time you borrow funds in excess of your shares? Well it is so that they can have recourse should you disappear or fail to pay. I trust brokers with big bank guarantors.

My fears are justified by Francis Thuo and Nyaga stockbrokers and Discount securities. Call me paranoid lakini it is hard enough making money,I dont want to have sleepless nights wondering whether the broker I left it with will collapse.

Yes,I do have a CDSC account with a rather healthy portfolio if I may add and I dont want to find myself queueing outside a collapsed brokers office like I saw people queueing outside Nyaga Stockbrokers wondering whether it is all safe.

jerry
#25 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 7:22:00 AM

@Kusadikika. Thanks for ur positive response. I'm not an accountant but I thought ur advice could easily be misunderstood. I believe there is more to a co than making profits especially in such hard times like we've experienced lately. If a co has enough reserves & assets and above all integrity then I see no problem. Put it in another way: just like there is no single indicator of a good stock; there is no single indicator of a good broker. I also appreciate CMA's efforts in trying to smoke-out the 'sick' brokers. Lets continue the debate on tell-tales of a falling broker.

Crocodile tears: If you can't assist me when I'm alive en you attend my funeral.
$Billz
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 9:47:00 AM

Kusa-whatever you are so full of Bull****. And you have been able to build up a healthy portfolio,i wonder how?

Its not all about profits,everyone is making losses and i mean everyone even me and now you want to make it worse by starting an unfounded panic. Dyer and Blair are one of the most integral IBs in the industry. I have had delay swith cheques and other such issues but i have never heard them selling clients shares.

And by the way there is a Pro Forma,that is why CFC financial services published their results twice they did not follow the format the first time round.

You have made yourself sound very ignorant and uninformed please read through what you say before posting

Make the money
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 3:42:00 PM

$Billz,
I have not called Dyer and Blairs integrity into question in their business so far. I have never transacted any business with them. My concern is that in the brokerage business you give the broker money upfront. In law you are an unsecured lender to the broker because he does not give you any security that you can fall back on should something happen to your money. So you have to rely on his integrity like you correctly pointed out but also on his sound financial base. Banks are regulated by CBK and have to publish their accounts every quarter which is something that has been going on for years. Brokerage houses and investment banks on the other hand have just made their accounts public only this year after operating for years (In the case of Dyer and Blair since 1954). I am not an insider to know the financial strength/ asset base of a broker so pardon me if I err on the side of caution by choosing to do business with a broker who has an association with a verifiable financially sound institution.

Mainat
#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 7:40:00 PM

-Kusadikika- no reason for u to apologise. A lot of numbers are sheer BS and I'm now thinking that some of the losses have even been massaged to look better than they were in addition to all the other issues pointed out.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
jerry
#29 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 6:13:00 AM

Somebody should start a thread on how to identify a rogue broker. I believe it's not enough to look at profit making and the painting! in the newspapers.

mtaalam
#30 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 7:07:00 AM

I will only believe the audited figures. The figures released are not adding up for me.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
mozenrat
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 8:29:00 AM

As much as I agree with the whole concept of disclosure,I don't think this year's figures will be of much value to the mwananchi for comparison purposes.... This was an unusual year,everyone was basically making losses... That's why Barclays Banks profit 'increase' announcement should be taken with a pinch of salt....

I cannot,for the life of me,understand what the 123 million loss by DnB looks like such a big deal.... It was a bad year for the entire industry!!! Unless you want to present the argument that the loss should not have been this big based on other information,this is moot point..
The fast & furious
#32 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 11:41:55 AM

kenmac wrote:
@ mwana.........you are right....if any broker goes under your shares are safe unless you are a shareholder of that specific brokerage company,or had cash in your a/c,of which you wait for assets liquidation to be compensated after settlement of liabilities. However if you're a kengen shareholder,and your broker goes under,kengen records will continue to reflect that you own shares in the company and can transfer the shares to another broker.......... e.g. In a case study of Nyaga stockbrokers,investors didn't loose their shares,they transferred to other stockbrokers. what was lost is any cash balances if any in their accounts which might be compensated though not fully.........I was a nyagah member,transferred to cfc.

don't expect anyone to act like your favourite grandmother in wanting what's best for you.

Kenman, you might not be aware but yu still have 18,025 in Nyagah. Go for your cheque or visit their offices.
The signature of God runs in all things. Only fools fail to see it and believe in Him. However, others see it even where non exists - now you see where the false pastor comes in.