wazua Fri, Aug 8, 2025

Nairobi too hot
Karema Hiti
#41 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 1:20:24 PM

In today's Nation(pg 6), the Chief Meteorologist warned Kenyans to brace for more heat (not fire) waves.
niando
#42 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 1:23:31 PM

Karema Hiti wrote:
In today's Nation(pg 6), the Chief Meteorologist warned Kenyans to brace for more heat (not fire) waves.

Heat waves , that is scaring.Like the onces that burned people in india!!!!!!!!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heat_wave

Heat waves are the most lethal type of weather phenomenon, overall. Between 1992 and 2001, deaths from excessive heat in the United States numbered 2,190, compared with 880 deaths from floods and 150 from hurricanes.[11] The average annual number of fatalities directly attributed to heat in the United States is about 400.[12] The 1995 Chicago heat wave, one of the worst in US history, led to approximately 600 heat-related deaths over a period of five days.[13] Eric Klinenberg has noted that in the United States, the loss of human life in hot spells in summer exceeds that caused by all other weather events combined, including lightning, rain, floods, hurricanes, and tornadoes.[14][15] Despite the dangers, Scott Sheridan, professor of geography at Kent State University, found that less than half of people 65 and older abide by heat-emergency recommendations like drinking lots of water. In his study of heat-wave behavior, focusing particularly on seniors in Philadelphia, Phoenix, Toronto, and Dayton, Ohio, he found that people over 65 "don't consider themselves seniors." "Heat doesn't bother me much, but I worry about my neighbors," said one of his older respondents.[16] According to the Agency for Health care Research and Quality, about 6,200 Americans are hospitalized each summer due to excessive heat, and those at highest risk are poor, uninsured or elderly.[1

For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
K22
#43 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:03:53 PM

Now that's scary!

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#44 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 3:36:46 PM

K22 wrote:
Now that's scary!

Relax. How many Black Africans do you know who have died because of heat waves?
Mtu Biz
#45 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 7:10:17 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
K22 wrote:
Now that's scary!

Relax. How many Black Africans do you know who have died because of heat waves?

He! black africans eh?

Thats what they said about AIDS back in the day.
Sola Scriptura

#46 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 2:31:29 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Just take advantage and wash your blankets and mattresses

I think I will wash the Sofa set. it has been ages and this is good weather for that! Any experiences?

Yes, i have washed sofa before, let's meet at mbagathi river kitu 7am, anyone else interested bring your blankets, mattresses, carpets, duvets, sofas...remember also to carry swimwear/ngotha, brushes and omo, ladies are very welcome...sawa?.
Meru Holiness
wakagori
#47 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 2:39:31 PM

And today its clocking 33 degrees...Garissa 39!!
#48 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 2:49:07 PM

July..freeze and shine,now its one hot feb and my sitting along Moi avenue is disappointing ... Ícì imùndù !!
#49 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 4:10:12 PM

@Niando,
Mwafrika nywele ngumu sana.It would take fire and brimstone to kill even one.
Tommy
#50 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 6:45:23 AM

this is intresting but wazuans remember to take some milk after the puffs Laughing out loudly
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
captainrio
#51 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 10:54:50 AM

hi guys - if u seriously think Nrb is bad...then Mombasa is SERIOUS!!! just heard on the news that humidity levels here are at 85% today...UNBELIEVABLE!!
#52 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 8:15:24 PM

Kwa watu wa mashinani, Nairobi Travel Advisory: Jua ni tatu!
#53 Posted : Sunday, February 13, 2011 6:50:00 PM

mlefu wrote:
mututho law+heat+fear of being a user = empty Pumwani beds come November ....

Btw, the rains are around the corner. Could be coming very soon.

Told you so. Wale walianika sofa set zao nje after ninio...
#54 Posted : Sunday, February 13, 2011 11:03:07 PM

thank god it rained
Tommy
#55 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 8:56:44 AM

phew, finally
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#56 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 9:10:02 AM

mlefu wrote:

My Guy.... The Sofa was rained on.... Sasa valentine yangu can only be memories...The look on mama bwenyenyelets face jana when she came in nilijua mimi kwisha... Now I have to buy those flowers if I have to appease the gods.. I hope I don't run into a TV reporter...

Moral of the story... never rely on out Met department to run away from roses!!!
#57 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 11:29:57 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
mlefu wrote:

My Guy.... The Sofa was rained on.... Sasa valentine yangu can only be memories...The look on mama bwenyenyelets face jana when she came in nilijua mimi kwisha... Now I have to buy those flowers if I have to appease the gods.. I hope I don't run into a TV reporter...

Moral of the story... never rely on out Met department to run away from roses!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly but really, pole about the sofa set, has totally limited your many styles....there was advice here on buying leather seats, reconsider...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#58 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 1:18:25 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
mlefu wrote:

Seems like it will be a lonely, cold monday. Pray the week ends on a high! Pole
callaspade
#59 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 1:46:14 PM

mlefu wrote:

.....just blazin........next time i need some snow for skiing,should i give you a call?
......can you also add some 3 zeros in my bank balance? awaiting your response.Thanks in advance
#60 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 1:54:18 PM

callaspade wrote:
mlefu wrote:

.....just blazin........next time i need some snow for skiing,should i give you a call?
......can you also add some 3 zeros in my bank balance? awaiting your response.Thanks in advance

It may cost you a fortune smile smile smile