wazua Tue, Apr 7, 2026

Beware, "M-PESA" trickeries
Spend.thrift
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:35:57 PM

The new trick being used by tricksters is to send you a carefully crafted message meant to make you believe that you that the sender has erroneously sent you money. They will then then call you claiming to have missed a number and erroneously sent money to your number and ask that you return it.

Many good people, if unfortunate enough to be having an amount of money in their M-PESA account at that time will instantly "return" the money to the number only to realise that you have actually sent your own money to the number.

Please ensure that you check you actual balance before "returning" any monies to crooks.

What happened to SIM registration?

milken
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:41:27 PM

This does not wash with me. All Mpesa messages should come with Mpesa as the sender. Actually there is no number. How gullible would I be to beleive any other cock and bull story about Kimani having sent me money so as to refund him?
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
Spend.thrift
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:45:35 PM

milken wrote:
This does not wash with me. All Mpesa messages should come with Mpesa as the sender. Actually there is no number. How gullible would I be to beleive any other cock and bull story about Kimani having sent me money so as to refund him?

True Milken, But the message looks exactly like a real M-PESA notification you care to scan the sender. How many people are that careful.

Does Safaricom have a portal where people can report these numbers?
Dod
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:59:13 PM

Safcon recently sent an sms regarding this.
The no is 234.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 1:12:40 PM

@spendthrift, always check the sender. Its just like when you receive a message, you check to see who it is from. If you call safaricom customer care, they will take the number and forward it to the fraud department. Dont rely on sim registration. One can always buy a new line and dump it the following day.

Fraud/theft cannot be dealt with if subscribers are ignorant of the happenings. The fact that there are soooo many conmen and con stories should make anyone be extra careful. Ukiibiwa, that's it. The funds will may not be recovered, especially if they've been withdrawn.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 4:13:48 PM

I once received a message from +25415864491 that went like this:
DA77JN967 Confirmed. ou have received 2,550Ksh from JOSEPH OLEKE on. 17/1/2011 at 10:58 PM

I waited for the fool to call and he did. He said "tafadhali mtoto wangu ako hospitali..... bla bla ". I warned him sternly that I was on his trail and I will not rest until he is "ndani". He hanged before I got to the third word.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 5:10:38 PM

Be careful. Also check out this thread

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&m=140240
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 5:17:10 PM

All Mpesa messages should come with Mpesa as the sender. Actually there is no number. How gullible would I be to beleive any ...
, IT my friend..its that simple..i can give you a test.
Tommy
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 6:27:06 PM

you would be surprised how many people are being conned despite the increased awareness campaigns. some of these msgs come when people are tired and want to get over and done with them. a family friend was asked to send 1k for processing an alledged present she had won. she quickly sent her daughter the airtime and sent it, then the thugs asked for more and she sent her daughter again. just b4 sending, a neighbour comes in narrating about the cons taking place.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Dod
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 9:05:41 PM

Tommy wrote:
you would be surprised how many people are being conned despite the increased awareness campaigns. some of these msgs come when people are tired and want to get over and done with them. a family friend was asked to send 1k for processing an alledged present she had won. she quickly sent her daughter the airtime and sent it, then the thugs asked for more and she sent her daughter again. just b4 sending, a neighbour comes in narrating about the cons taking place.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .........d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Is it stupidity or greed?
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.