In Kenya, 75% of all internet traffic is to porn sites
Wa_ithaka
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 8:23:44 AM

Namna gani hii?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 9:16:09 AM

Dont think so. No porn site makes even the top 20 of the sites visited in Kenya. Unless uko na link.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 10:00:38 AM

It's probably not documented but we all know porn gets very high hits here and everywhere else in the world. Sex sells.

mzeekijana
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 10:13:38 AM

It's probably not documented but we all know porn gets very high hits here and everywhere else in the world. Sex sells.

I heared it was even worse in America during the start of the Internet..but now it has subsided. This will slowly go down when we start realizing that these sites are dirty and should not be our 1st priority .... But youth/kids will be the highest affected group...let's prepare ourselves for the worst in the coming few years before things go back to normal...this is what i think.
petro08
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 10:29:09 AM

75% is too high. I do not think so. Where did you get the data.
DonBen
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 11:18:25 AM

75% is incorrect and highly exageratted .

Check out Alexa's top 100 sites in Kenya

Alexa is the global leader in web traffic statistics.

Here are the top twenty and not one is a pornsite. Actually WAZUA used to be in top 10 a few years back, what happed?

1 Google
google.com

2 google.co.ke
google.co.ke

3 Facebook
facebook.com

4 Yahoo!
yahoo.com

5 YouTube - Broadcast yourself
youtube.com

6 Blogger.com
blogspot.com

7 Wikipedia
wikipedia.org

8 Twitter
twitter.com

9 Daily Nation
nation.co.ke

10 BBC Online
bbc.co.uk

11 LinkedIn
linkedin.com

12 Windows Live
live.com

13 WordPress.com
wordpress.com

14 The Standard
standardmedia.co.ke

15 Capital FM 98.4
capitalfm.co.ke

16 Microsoft Corporation
microsoft.com

17 MSN
msn.com

18 Bing

19 dealfish.co.ke

20 PayPal
AmHere
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 11:19:09 AM

In terms of number of porn pages viewed vs. all pages viewed (e.g. Alexa Ratings), I think your number is exaggerated.

But if it is in terms of bandwidth usage, it may not be that high but it is high.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 11:39:32 AM

It does not make sense comparing this to individual websites as I presume that those consuming porn are doing it from thousands of different websites with such materials!!!!
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 11:57:49 AM

Obviously Google and Yahoo will get great hits because they are set as homepages by most internet users if you get free internet in the office like I do it wouldn't bother you having it on while you work on other things. And don't forget that porn is not viewed in public so in my opinion the Yahoo and Google ratings give false impressions.

#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 12:09:01 PM

whats wrong with that? 75% is disappointing d'oh!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 12:14:04 PM

It depends on what you mean by "porn"?
If viewing a woman with bare airport is porn, then 75% is achievable!

petro08
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 12:23:33 PM

It depends on what you mean by "porn"?
If viewing a woman with bare airport is porn, then 75% is achievable!

Impunity, you are right and especially because you are stating this based on your search habits. Remember why you were demoted to userLaughing out loudly
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 12:27:30 PM

Most guys will go to google looking for the porn website so that statistic does not say much
Tommy
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 1:28:57 PM

Are you saying that Kenyans don't work,are lazy and that immoral? I dont think so.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 7:46:44 PM

@wa-bushes, weka link bana. If its true, we have serious issues on morality.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 8:06:32 PM

Congratulations to KenyanLyrics. Yuko kwa list. Lakini nashuku some sites. Never heard of them and from their descriptions, I doubt how they are in the top 100. Wazua not in the top 100? Ama I missed it? 75% ngwati? I doubt it.
RobDeleu
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 1:10:54 AM

75 % of all internet traffic going to smut sites like pornhub, http://theporndude.com/, youporn, etc is high but not super strange. Most males visit porn sites, so I guess a number near 50 % is 'normal'.

How many people actually have access to the www in Kenia? What kind of %? I assume more males use it then?
whitedicker77
#18 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 8:41:15 PM

But same websites blocked also ( example) http://sextubeclone.com/
#19 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 9:04:08 PM

whitedicker77 wrote:
But same websites blocked also ( example) http://sextubeclone.com/

we are waiting for guka and Alma to vet this link before we dare open it