wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Settlement Date = T+3
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 2:21:48 PM

Starting 18 March 2011, the Settlement Date will be T+3 [vs T+4]. Good news for traders.

Hopefully, they will go towards T+0 by 2012. I hate waiting for my cash after I sell though have to pay upfront when I want to buy shares!
jerry
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 3:09:56 PM

Should be T+2. Cheques ni T+4?? Should also come down.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 3:15:02 PM

jerry wrote:
Should be T+2. Cheques ni T+4?? Should also come down.
Trades should be T+0. RTGS is T+0 but pricey & cumbersome. I think chqs will come down to T+3 by 2012. Paper remains 'inefficient' but cheaper for now.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 4:08:17 PM

How much is an rtgs 4 a million?
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 4:13:30 PM

Announcing a T+3 is still dissapointing. I thought we had some Indians working on the NSE system. Ama what is 'missing' for the NSE to be T+0?
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 4:13:47 PM

kyt wrote:
How much is an rtgs 4 a million?
500/- but the annoying part is having to go into a branch to do it. Whether this means sending someone there or going by yourself!

Please note I think the 'risk' of fraud is HIGHER with an RTGS

1) My chqbook is in a safe place. I do not leave it lying around. My letterhead can be copied by a good color photocopier OR printed in a River Road shop!

2) There is a NUMBER for every chq. It is [or should be unique] so easy to keep track of. Most accounting software uses the concept of paying by chqs [i.e. a unique number]. How unique are RTGS instructions?

3) I can 'STOP PAYMENT' a chq if there is fraud i.e. missing chq, non-delivery of goods, etc

Anyway, KShs 1,000,000 for many businesses [& individuals] is NOTHING to write home about with the inflation we have seen! Only 500 TranCentury shares!
K22
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 4:25:58 PM

Bwana VVS, most banks have call back process for any transactions above a certain threshold and have e-alerts after the transactions goes through. Personally i think RTGS are better than cheques(which nowadays can also be printed in riva rori)

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 4:35:11 PM

VVS cheques are on their way out. In Britain by 2018. I hope Kenya follows soon. I agree with K22. Hii mambo ya kuweka kakitabu tuache. We need to adapt
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 4:42:36 PM

K22 wrote:
Bwana VVS, most banks have call back process for any transactions above a certain threshold and have e-alerts after the transactions goes through. Personally i think RTGS are better than cheques(which nowadays can also be printed in riva rori)
So I write a chq... I get a callback [true, they do call me] but an RTGS might go thru undetected?
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 4:46:11 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
VVS cheques are on their way out. In Britain by 2018. I hope Kenya follows soon. I agree with K22. Hii mambo ya kuweka kakitabu tuache. We need to adapt
I do not like the charges associated with the RTGS. 500/- per Million sounds minimal but the cost with the delivery [send to Bank or go there myself] is painful!

Also the RTGS has more paperwork for me than a cheque!!! Thus moreconvenient to pay someone by chq!

M-Pesa/Zap = Max 100,000/- & pricey
Debit Cards = Max 30,000 [on mine]. There is a fee per use.
Credit Cards = Well... It is a credit card & some establishments charge a use fee or add 5%
RTGS = Hassle!
5 Pages123>»