wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Fellows, She has booted you, how do you keep your hard earned house?
#1 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 4:18:09 PM

If you fully owned the house you and your wife now live in before you got married, and she made no contribution to its payment, is there a legal recourse in law that protects you from being kicked to the kerb in case you divorce?
The thought of going from one who owns a home to a homeless guy makes one shudder. Most people can only afford one house a life time!!!!!!
#2 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 4:57:09 PM

Yes you are protected(unless the new constitution changed it), any property acquired prior to marriage is yours, the one you acquired during marriage is split according to how you agree or what the judge thinks, but if Mukiha is having a hard time kicking out a tenant, how will you kick her out?
#3 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 5:41:06 PM

Yes you are protected(unless the new constitution changed it), any property acquired prior to marriage is yours, the one you acquired during marriage is split according to how you agree or what the judge thinks, but if Mukiha is having a hard time kicking out a tenant, how will you kick her out?

@MuchKnow: It's my getting kicked out - legally - that worries me. Can you picture a scenario where you are booted out of the house, then she brings some free-loading, 'tortured soul' artiste type to squat on your hard earned labor? Some stuff makes me not sleep at night ....Its good to know this stuff is covered.
#4 Posted : Monday, February 07, 2011 7:05:59 PM

Its said we need to be careful who we marry, lest they bring us from heaven and take us straight to hell.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 4:44:19 PM

Aki wanaume wako na shida....... I can only but laugh... heheheee
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 5:00:27 PM

@ Quicksand,

When you start seeing the signs, you kick her out mapema, take her back to her parents and get another one quick ; especially if they are no kids. If there are kids, then you came to me for advise. But I always believe in acting before the law comes up on you.
sanity
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 5:14:00 PM

quicksand....You are actually wallowing in quicksand my friend.According to the new Constitution,you will share kila kitu 50-50..unless you had a pre-nuptial agreement before the two of you married....
Hope is not a strategy
Pablo
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 6:52:17 PM

@sanity I thought there is something against applying laws retrogressively.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 8:15:02 PM

@all, marriages will work if we want them to work. We are spending so much time planning on what to do when things go south instead of working on things that will sustain it. We are running scared. Consulting 'kitchen cabinets' and 'my mboys'. People are trying to protect themselves legally before they marry. If you are not sure of marriage to that particular person, just dont do it. We say vows we dont mean. Ecclesiastes 5:5 says Its better not to vow than to make a vow and not fulfil it.
webish
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 8:22:03 PM

@all, marriages will work if we want them to work. We are spending so much time planning on what to do when things go south instead of working on things that will sustain it. We are running scared. Consulting 'kitchen cabinets' and 'my mboys'. People are trying to protect themselves legally before they marry. If you are not sure of marriage to that particular person, just dont do it. We say vows we dont mean. Ecclesiastes 5:5 says Its better not to vow than to make a vow and not fulfil it.

kwisha maneno, alaaar!

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
5 Pages123>»