These numbers are very confusing.......but let me try what i have so far gathered from the posts below
Now we all know that our space science is not older than 200 years (not light years).......
@gizzard wrote
'The closest galaxy the Adromeda is located at 23,652,000,000,000,000,000km which is equivalent to 2,500,000light years from the Milky Way galaxy.'
1 light year is the distance that light travels in one year.......correct me if am wrong??
so 2,500,000light years is the distance light travelles in 2,500,000years..............again correct me if am wrong??
How does one determine that a particular lay of light has been travelling for those 2,500,000 years and it source was imelda???
assuming that we sent a lay of light toward to some distance object like this imelda star and is reflected back,it means that the 'echo' will get back to us after 2,500,000 x 2 = 5,000,000 years.........again correct me if am wrong??
The first known practically functioning telescopes were invented in the Netherlands at the beginning of the 17th century in the year 1611 AD(see wiki).
Assuming that this very first telescope was capable of doing what today's telescopes like hubby can,and it sent some lays of light to explore the universe,those lays by now should only have travelled for 2009-1611 = 398 light years!!!
If an 'echo' of such a lay is received back today then the source can only be 398 / 2 = 149 light years!!!
Sasa hii 2,500,000 light years ya imelda imepimwa lini na kivipi??
hii quantum science mimi naona ni kama fiction!!!
If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.