Star performers at the NSE revealed
Surealligator
#1 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 9:40:50 AM

1. Cigarette maker BAT Kenya

2. Standard Chartered Bank

3. Bamburi Cement

4. East Africa Breweries Limited

5. Barclays Bank of Kenya

These are companies that offered the highest returns to investors in 2010, earning them the top five positions in this year’s Capital Markets Awards.

KCB Bank, Nation Media Group, Safaricom, Jubilee Insurance and BOC Kenya completed the top 10 slots.

But where is Carbacid? Are these guys serious?

Then the sick boys of the industry are:

1. Equipment dealer A Baumann and Company, which equipment by the way.

2. Transport and logistics firm Express Kenya

3. Motor vehicle dealer Marshalls East Africa at Kamlesh Pattni

4. Flour miller Unga Group and Seaboard cousins

5. Investment company Olympia Capital Michael Matu and relatives

These are the companies that took the last five positions.

Isn't it fair to have these five de-listed or at least liquidated and the board heavily fined if found to have compromised on business ethics.

Must CMA wait till these sick guys are worth zero instead of salvaging the little still in place? Lakini, Express and Marshalls might survive.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/e1i2fmz/-/index.html

Is there something wrong with this paragraph

"BAT’s dividend pay-out of Sh14.75 per share was the highest in nominal terms, but earned the manufacturer the fifth position in dividend yield rankings, in a category that Safaricom, which paid a dividend of 40 cents per share took top position".
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#2 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 10:08:05 AM

"Safaricom, which paid a dividend of 40 cents per share took top position" As expected. No research. Bure kabisa!
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#3 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 11:34:22 AM

Highest returns in terms of what?
As far as am concerned returns to investors must be in the form of capital gains and to this BAT only increased by 51%, a far cry from Kakuzi's 156% or Eaagads 150% or even Scan's 141%!
To me dividend payout or return on Assets (ROA) doesnt matter to me if it doesnt trickle down to the Price!
Period!
@SufficientlyP
Gatheuzi
#4 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 5:52:52 PM

@SPT well said. Different benchmarks like ROA are great but varry accross counters. Price performance is also key.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
hisah
#5 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 6:00:25 PM

Seems like this report is meant for the insider shareholder (aka business owners/directors) than the external shareholders...
Safcom took top position???
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Tommy
#6 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 9:07:35 PM

haaiii, na neveready iko wapi kwa last 5 co's.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
erifloss
#7 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 9:16:10 PM

Surealligator wrote:

"BAT’s dividend pay-out of Sh14.75 per share was the highest in nominal terms, but earned the manufacturer the fifth position in dividend yield rankings, in a category that Safaricom, which paid a dividend of 40 cents per share took top position".

Actually the statement is ok, at an average price of 200 Bat's div yield was around 7% while at an average price of 4.50 safcom's was around 9%. The info is mostly targeted at large longterm investors.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
The fast & furious
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 01, 2011 8:38:23 AM

erifloss wrote:
Surealligator wrote:

Actually the statement is ok, at an average price of 200 Bat's div yield was around 7% while at an average price of 4.50 safcom's was around 9%. The info is mostly targeted at large longterm investors.

Safcom dividends were 20 cents on my last count unless some people got another extra 20 cents through the back door. So, 0.20/4.50 = 4.44% unless you are suffering from the 8 - 4 - 4 system syndrome?
The signature of God runs in all things. Only fools fail to see it and believe in Him. However, others see it even where non exists - now you see where the false pastor comes in.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 01, 2011 9:44:06 AM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Highest returns in terms of what?
As far as am concerned returns to investors must be in the form of capital gains and to this BAT only increased by 51%, a far cry from Kakuzi's 156% or Eaagads 150% or even Scan's 141%!
To me dividend payout or return on Assets (ROA) doesnt matter to me if it doesnt trickle down to the Price!
Period!

You are right. I am also more keen on capital gain than dividend payouts. If you choose your buys well, you will always beat the dividend gains in some counters... actually, both the capital + dividend gains combined. eg mumias rose to over 300% in capital gains alone... i doubt some of the counters would reach that capital+dividend gains.
Ericsson
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 01, 2011 11:03:09 AM

Counter to watch is KPLC.Its profits are going to continue soaring and now that we are going back to thermal expect good returns
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Sure
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 01, 2011 12:53:02 PM

What is happening to KCB? It is now going backwards.
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
qw25041985
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 01, 2011 1:35:35 PM

w/ elections just smellin around the corner i expect allot of jittery investors to withhold investment until they are sure it'll all be peaceful and calm.
i dnt expect a rally soon even for the bank which will be releasing results around end march...it gonna be a very very very very very very first half of the year !!!!! untill the future can become clear.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 01, 2011 2:27:41 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
w/ elections just smellin around the corner i expect allot of jittery investors to withhold investment until they are sure it'll all be peaceful and calm.
i dnt expect a rally soon even for the bank which will be releasing results around end march...it gonna be a very very very very very very first half of the year !!!!! untill the future can become clear.

Elections? Elections arent there until sometime next year... i think that's far enough for any investors to have real election fever..... I'd think its other factors like - January being generally a slow month and with funds diverted, drought, the political bickering and ocampo fever (not sure where this might lead) etc
PKoli
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 01, 2011 2:36:24 PM

Sure wrote:
What is happening to KCB? It is now going backwards.

Nothing fundamentally, so you should use the opportunity to accumulate. That is what I would do if I had cash.
Surealligator
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 01, 2011 3:18:25 PM

qw25041985 wrote:

@qw243994847

Woi! What happened? You are now a 'User'. Pole sana lakini.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own