wazua Tue, Feb 11, 2025

Office Etiquette
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 11:08:51 AM

I dont know if am being fussy but i find some of our fellow kenyans being increasingly annoying in our etiquette (or lack of) in some of these things that look so obvious.

People meet in different places. In whichever forum you meet, you are addressed differently.. Eg, in the estates, its common to find one being addressed as baba/mama boy,john, wangeshi, or whatever, in office, usually, its by first/last name, for relatives, sometimes you find them calling you your middle name (which by the way, its only them who may know it)...

Some people show up in offices and come asking for " mama/baba otieno/nyambura/kubaff" at the reception... I mean, how do you expect to be helped? how many parents have their children with the same name? And some of these are actually learned people looking for business... and even after they learn the person's "official" name, they still insist on calling him/her the estate name.... Ati "can i see baba shee".....who is this???
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 12:11:03 PM

Ha ha haaa....Kenyans are peculiar in all spheres of life.

Ray
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 12:18:05 PM

I share the post office box with my cousin.Due to technical problems i changed the lock.One day she sent her office messenger to pick the new key.When the guy opened the reception door he didn't even greet anyone instead he went like "Nimetumwa na Josephine kwa yule mwanamke anaitwa ........ nichukue funguo ya posta".I felt like blowing out his silly head.
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 12:28:34 PM

So Ray ni socket, good to know.

#5 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 1:41:50 PM

Ray wrote:
I share the post office box with my cousin.Due to technical problems i changed the lock.One day she sent her office messenger to pick the new key.When the guy opened the reception door he didn't even greet anyone instead he went like "Nimetumwa na Josephine kwa yule mwanamke anaitwa ........ nichukue funguo ya posta".I felt like blowing out his silly head.

@Ray,

The guy was rude and should have been more polite but what is wrong with describing you as ' mwana wa kike' I would not mind anyone calling me Mwanaume!

Guys,
Why is it that our Kenyan beauties do not like being called women yet it is a more distinguished identity than 'lady' which is linked to ' lady of the night'
gathinga
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 2:48:11 PM

Liar Liar
So Ray ni socket, good to know.

majimaji
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 2:48:13 PM

Why do Kenyan motorists overlap others and pretend all is ok????
Hii tabia ilitoka wapi? Is it the schooling, culture, tribe ama nini??
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 2:50:37 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Ray wrote:

@Ray,

The guy was rude and should have been more polite but what is wrong with describing you as ' mwana wa kike' I would not mind anyone calling me Mwanaume!

Guys,
Why is it that our Kenyan beauties do not like being called women yet it is a more distinguished identity than 'lady' which is linked to ' lady of the night'

'mwanamke' for some reason sounds rude - would you refer to your wife, mother or sister that way?
Wa_ithaka
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 2:52:33 PM

what is the issue?
You don't like being called mwanamke. Kwani wewe mwanaume?
You don't like being called mama githenge, kwani wewe mama wangemi?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 3:00:47 PM

@ Vinii,

Honestly, I would not mind it at all. It is a mere statement of fact.Ni wanawake! I do not see what is demeaning at all.. Is there something I am not seeing?
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 3:05:41 PM

vinii wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:
Ray wrote:

@Ray,

Guys,

'mwanamke' for some reason sounds rude - would you refer to your wife, mother or sister that way?

Simple mpake rangi kidogo, itayeye msichana, hata kama ana miaka 50 smile smile smile

Sema nimetumwa na yule msichana(a 50year old lady) anafanya hapa that is if you do not know her name and if you feel calling her mwanamke will offend her.
Kwanini
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 3:07:51 PM

funny how a generic name like Mwanawakike generates a negative conotation yet mwanamume doesnt . i frequent a kaplace where i do not know the actual names of some of the actors. strange names like, "kawaya, main, masta,mathutha, blackie, kavoucher,are all too common. I guess it depends on which school of etiquette one went to.
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 3:16:19 PM

Just remembered, sometime back , around 1989,yes 22years back, a neighbour was slashed by a woman for asking her I quote 'mama habari yako'.

This young man was around 25years old and the lady nearly same age.The youngman then is now nearing 50years!!!!!!!!!

The lady was cutting grass with a panga in the shamba while the young man was doing the evening village rounds young men used to do those times just as a pass time as they waited for supper.

The young man saw the lady and innocently asked her , 'mama habari yako'

The lady incessantly raised the panga and before the youngman could know it , he was already profusely bleeding.
I living true story.

The youngman had to be rushed to hospital and was admitted and the case was referred to police.

Just because of 'Mama habari yako'

This 'mama' seems to offend ladies so much

Men, unless you are calling your own mum avoid it
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 4:58:50 PM

Just remembered, sometime back , around 1989,yes 22years back, a neighbour was slashed by a woman for asking her I quote 'mama habari yako'.

This young man was around 25years old and the lady nearly same age.The youngman then is now nearing 50years!!!!!!!!!

The lady was cutting grass with a panga in the shamba while the young man was doing the evening village rounds young men used to do those times just as a pass time as they waited for supper.

The young man saw the lady and innocently asked her , 'mama habari yako'

The lady incessantly raised the panga and before the youngman could know it , he was already profusely bleeding.
I living true story.

The youngman had to be rushed to hospital and was admitted and the case was referred to police.

Just because of 'Mama habari yako'

This 'mama' seems to offend ladies so much

Men, unless you are calling your own mum avoid it

In Mombasa if you wanna witness tongue lashing try saying mama habari yako to a woman and that day you will feel like running away
Ms Mkenya
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 5:12:19 PM

Back to office etiquette, I hate it when people walk in with pungent smells... or bad breath and insist on talking to you..

Aaaai! Especially the breath, whether a client or a fellow member of staff. I once offered gum to a colleague.. i was dying. The she sweetly said no. I eventually sat her down and talked to her about her breath and she went and saw a dentist.
....above all, to stand.
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 5:32:33 PM

I absolutely see no problem being addressed as mama so and so.... what i find unacceptable is when you dont know where and when to address someone in a certain manner. there is the context where you call someone mama so and so in the estates and in the office, use the official address... i doubt there is any office in town where people address each other as mama nyokabi, baba sheunda etc etc! those ones we leave them at the estates... when in office, you maintain the professionalism... thats what i think. If you come to office and address me as Bi so and so or by first name, i have no problem with that... if you address me Bi so and so or by first name when i have changed to the "mother gear" and am running around with kids and family stuff then it wont sound very nice.... That is, know when and how to address the same person depending on the situation/circumstances.

Or those people (friend, other colleagues or relatives) who will meet you with colleagues/friends and they switch direct to mother tongue disregarding whether the other person can understand that language or not.... its offensive
Wa_ithaka
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 6:00:46 PM

Much ado about nothing. Ni kama watu wanafisha kitu
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Tommy
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 6:22:41 PM

it doesn't go well with gals when you call them mama, a friend told me that the age of women stagnates when they get to 23yrs old. lol
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
sanity
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 4:27:54 PM

Unaita nani mama?mi ni mamako?
Hope is not a strategy