wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

KPLC@100 BOB BY 2014
TUPAC
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 3:55:35 PM

Guys figure out this-i work in a place near a KPLC sub station that doubles up as a 'store' for their electricity posts. one thing i have noted is that atleast one truckload(long truck) of posts is brought every week and consequently used to either do new projects or replace old posts. some 3 or 4 years ago it would take a month or two to see a truck-full or half-full of the same.
this is replicated in my rural areas where most small trading centres and public schools are now connected to the national grid.
with this observation i think kplc is for the long term and even the 100bob mentioned above is an UNDERESTIMATION of the price in 3 years.
...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 6:34:48 PM

I wish... lakini I think 100/- in 3-4 years in a stretch... BUT never say never!
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 6:56:09 PM

2012 will define our destiny.
erifloss
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 7:59:30 PM

100 may be overstretched though more people are connecting to the grid by the day. Got info from Kplc that now dispensaries and schools are connected for free as long as they can show course for the same and guys are now seeing elec where they could never imagine to see. This is extra income in terms of monthly billings. This infrastructure will also help them in coming up with new income streams like pay tv which is in the pipeline and overhead ofc cables which contracts are already in place and phase one has been partly done.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Tommy
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 8:56:29 PM

for me, i feel sh100 is an over ambition
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#6 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 5:28:46 AM

@TUPAC, could it be some KPLC employee running a serious firewood business on the side?smile
TUPAC
#7 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 9:37:05 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
@TUPAC, could it be some KPLC employee running a serious firewood business on the side?smile

@gordon
no side business at all. its real truckfulls of posts and mostly the new concrete posts that the use to weka stima huku interior kabisa!
...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
subaru
#8 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 9:47:27 AM

so they are connecting new customers therefore loading the supply of which they r not increasing.This further explains the several power blackouts we r recieving every now n then leading to losses
maina20
#9 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 11:01:52 AM

smile I DO AGREE.......with economy doing well and banks giving out loans for own homes and mortage, definately in nairobi alone we might see alot of new connections which am sure replicates to the whole country, especially in rulal areas where CDF is quite a boost... my bet 60bob...although KPLC is known to slow down in election years for whatever reasons.....
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
#10 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 11:15:03 AM

I think government interference on the running of this company might impact on its profitability...remember local manufacturers hav been complaining of high electricity cost so in future the government might subsidize, in a way, the cost of electricity, that might impact on its profitability.

Kengen and kenya re are examples of how a government can impact on your growth prospects.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#11 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 11:35:00 AM

And the journey toward 100 is now in full gear, with supply now at 24.25,its K-Power and no longer V-Power!
@SufficientlyP