wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

NSE targeting mid-cap companies for listing
dkuyoh
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 12:21:31 PM

According to NSE CEO Peter Mwangi, the NSE has plans to list SMEs in a mid-cap market segment by end of Q2 this year. They are targeting companies in the Ksh 17M-Ksh 1B in value. Preferably the top 100 mid-sized companies. What are the the market sentiments? Are we ready to jump on this bus? and waht does this mean for the main market segment?

http://www.abndigital.co...ed-interviews/212497.htm
tony stark
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 1:06:58 PM

It will on a case by case basis. If a company is very profitable why would it need to list on the exchange?

Some would be to create brand loyalty as you can see sycophants who hold safcom shares equating airtels onslaught as economic sabotage!
I am afraid a majority would be listing to cash out and that would be worrying!

What would a firm with net worth of 20 million be doing raising money in the NSE? If they want an injection of cash go to centum or a bank. Seriously!

peoples fingers will be burnt!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 1:37:06 PM

Many firms need the Equity for growth without the imposition of restrictions of debt... Some could be making losses but have a good plan...
dkuyoh
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 1:52:13 PM

@ Tony Stark,VVS ....I think it all depends on strategy. Remember some of the NSE companies also have debt(either from the bank or bonds). they may want to boost their debt to equity ratio or get into a healthy balance sheet position that allows them to innovate, adapt or expand. There has to be a reason that they are in the top 100 SMEs and if they can capitalize on their comparative advantage on a large scale then we could see a number of Equity banks in the offing
tony stark
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 2:31:52 PM

I will judge on a case by case basis.
@VVS that true but their are other ways of raising capital that doesn't involve the scrutiny public firms have to go through. Private investors, angel investors venture capitalist etc also bring knowledge, expertise and influence that can assist firms grow.

The private investors, more often then not, plan as an exit strategy to sell shares on the exchange. If you aim and ambition is to list this crucial growth phase is critical to actualize good returns on your investments and hard work.

@dkuyoh looking at the top 100 year to year it is very variable. So what happens to the top 100 do they move on to be large enterprises or do there performances just drop??

There is no blanket advice you can give about SME in kenya and if they are to be listed i will look at them on a case by case basis!
drake
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 3:15:23 PM

tony stark wrote:

There is no blanket advice you can give about SME in kenya and if they are to be listed i will look at them on a case by case basis!

1. Regional Expansion & cross listing ...

2. This is big for Private Equity re: Exit options....

3. Diversification benefits..

4. Hypothetically, what "mid caps" would you want to see listed?

tony stark
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 4:19:04 PM

drake wrote:
tony stark wrote:

1. Regional Expansion & cross listing ...

2. This is big for Private Equity re: Exit options....

3. Diversification benefits..

4. Hypothetically, what "mid caps" would you want to see listed?

The success of some SME is not based on the ability of the business model but on personality and ability of the owner to bring in business.
Example circuit business systems (Number 79 in 2010 and 68 in 2009). The company sells computer and used to be an exclusive supplier of compaq computers from the late 90s. I am not sure if this progressed into HP or not.
The company grew rapidly making loads of money for the proprietor. He was supplying business and governments with computers and servers and servicing the machines.
Currently he has competition from every dick tom and harry who can import comps and or assemble comps.
The proprietor a mr owino was shrewd and smart enough to diversify his newly acquired wealth in agribusiness, real estate and commercial properties.
He is doing well for himself but why would i want to buy into his company? What business model is he employing. What happens when he leaves or loses control? How can he expand his model into EA?
How raised capital through venture capitalist but i think he paid off or bought back control and now has full control of the company.

Why would he sell? why would he want people looking through his books?

That said of the SME top 100 in the years 2010& 2009 companies whose books i would love to look at if they were to list.

Pentapharm: Retail business with several outlets. Margins on drugs are 30% but to bulk buyers such as insurance companies around 10-20% mark up on the buying price. Can reduce cost by hiring pharm techs and supervising pharmacist. Capital input will help with economies of scale and can even lead into manufacture of some compounds. On a side note I think stock master might be one of the 5 proprietors of pentapharm!

Tononoka rolling mills, Sheffield steel, impala glass. They have huge potential and are potential ARMs. Capital input can help in expansion into EA.

deepa industries, manji foods, crown foos, kenya sweets: FMCG producers. listing can attract loyalty similar to uchumi and safcom sychophants. Have opportunity to expand in EA. capital input will help in growth equipment, economies of scale etc etc!

KAPS limited: No particular reason other than curiosity.

Not interested in any cellphone retailer, marketing company, or branding company! Volatile industries with dominant players and i just don't understand what makes marketing companies tick other than the personalities that started them. I don't understand what capital input will help with in these companies.
erifloss
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 4:47:49 PM

I tend to think that they should be very careful while doing this. Most SME's out there are highly leveraged and have lots of cash flow problems due to this. This coupled with the owner being the only 'business development manager' it puts the viability of the company after the owner leaving at a high risk.
I think the parameters to be used have to extend out of the capital scope and they should check other issues too. You'll realize that some of these companies that are in the top 100 SME's are there by the virtue of mostly accessing government tenders this attaches a high political risk to most of them, i know of some companies that the owner still runs the company's bank account like his own personal account, have to sets of financial statements (for accessing loans and the real one)and his/her own personal and household items are shown as belonging to the company.
Guys who'll invest in this segment will have to be extremely careful though with a high risk appetite.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
K22
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 4:49:21 PM

@ts Nakumatt??

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
tony stark
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 5:11:55 PM

K22 wrote:
@ts Nakumatt??

Not small or medium. In fact is very large!
dkuyoh
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 10:37:31 AM

erifloss wrote:
I tend to think that they should be very careful while doing this. Most SME's out there are highly leveraged and have lots of cash flow problems due to this. This coupled with the owner being the only 'business development manager' it puts the viability of the company after the owner leaving at a high risk.
I think the parameters to be used have to extend out of the capital scope and they should check other issues too. You'll realize that some of these companies that are in the top 100 SME's are there by the virtue of mostly accessing government tenders this attaches a high political risk to most of them, i know of some companies that the owner still runs the company's bank account like his own personal account, have to sets of financial statements (for accessing loans and the real one)and his/her own personal and household items are shown as belonging to the company.
Guys who'll invest in this segment will have to be extremely careful though with a high risk appetite.

In America they have NASDAQ which serves the same purpose.(trading of companies that dont qualify to go into NYSE). I think the NSE due diligence procedures wont fail to notice some of the discrepancies that you have noted. true the risk appetite is higher but so will the returns the market can reflect the intrinsic value of the companies
KenyanLyrics
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:31:44 AM

wow, this is huge in terms of exit strategy for investors. Would like to see how tech companies like Seven Seas Technologies, Cellulant and Wananchi Group would do if listed
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:36:53 AM

Microsoft & Intel started off on NASDAQ... & stayed...
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 7:13:05 PM

Will Chandaria ever list his group? Never knew this guy had so many awards www.whartoncapetown08.com/bio-chandaria.html More on Chandaria: Made in Kenya www.generationkenya.co.k...nu-chandaria-excellence-–-made-in-kenya/ www.fedha.blogspot.com/2...aria-businessman_09.html
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 7:18:07 PM

“Progress in the financial
world is based on savings,”
Dr Chandaria said. “The business of speculation is very addictive. If you go to
the casino once you always want to go back, ” said the renowned businessman. www.businessdailyafrica....66/-/rwxa0y/-/index.html
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 7:24:37 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Will Chandaria ever list his group? Never knew this guy had so many awards www.whartoncapetown08.com/bio-chandaria.html More on Chandaria: Made in Kenya www.generationkenya.co.k...nu-chandaria-excellence-–-made-in-kenya/ www.fedha.blogspot.com/2...aria-businessman_09.html
Might not be advantageous [plus maybe list a few firms not the entire conglomerate] since they are able to raise cash as & when needed... I managed to get my hands on a prospectus [Mabati Rolling Mills] when they listed/raised a Bond 2-3 years ago on the NSE...

IFC, etc were giving them huge loans! So they have credibility with large local + foreign banks...
dkuyoh
#17 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 2:47:41 PM

Chandaria's conglomerate is a family business so i highly doubt he'll be interested in putting it up to public scrutiny. we may have another AK debacle where the family run everything from sweeping the corridor to peddling their IT solutions
#18 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 3:26:36 PM

dkuyoh wrote:
Chandaria's conglomerate is a family business so i highly doubt he'll be interested in putting it up to public scrutiny. we may have another AK debacle where the family run everything from sweeping the corridor to peddling their IT solutions
Actually, no debacle coz seems they don't want to go public...
#19 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 3:46:08 PM

dkuyoh wrote:
Actually, no debacle coz seems they don't want to go public...
#20 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 3:55:56 PM

dkuyoh wrote:

Unfortunately, its not whether he wants to list or not that will decide. Like many other Asian business, Manu is the son who mordernised his father's Duka and turned it into the Industrial giant that it is. However his children would rather live in London/Canada/Australia, so as soon as Manu moves on, the children will cash in. Same story with CFC