wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

8 Pages«<5678>
What do 1-bob Airtel calls mean for Safaricom share price?
#121 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 10:28:57 AM

On one end... folks are complaining about jobs being outsourced [So what? Local outsourcing - to a Ugandan/EAC firm with offices in Nairobi] by Airtel yet buy imported goods in Nakumatt [Seems 50%+ of the pricier goods [non-foods] are imported. Cereals, Sprays, Crockery, Diapers, etc...

Even the food items [except unga, etc] like chocolates, sauces, etc are all imports!

Far more jobs will remain in Kenya if we buy LOCAL...

I think what Airtel is doing is commendable, by supporting establishment of competitive local BPOs through partnership with Spanco a global leader in the provision of outsourcing business it will not only benefit mobile phone subscribers but also create numerous Jobs.

Airtels strategy is going to benefit the telecommunication industry by propelling it to the next level..Yes safaricom has contributed to job creation but thats not the end we need to exploit the full potential of the fiber optic cable.
#122 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 10:42:16 AM

On one end... folks are complaining about jobs being outsourced [So what? Local outsourcing - to a Ugandan/EAC firm with offices in Nairobi] by Airtel yet buy imported goods in Nakumatt [Seems 50%+ of the pricier goods [non-foods] are imported. Cereals, Sprays, Crockery, Diapers, etc...

Even the food items [except unga, etc] like chocolates, sauces, etc are all imports!

I think the philosophy some subscribe to in arguements involving Safaricom is 'why let objectivity get into the way of a good subjective arguement?'
Toshi
#123 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 10:51:42 AM

Read page 13 of today's Nation. Edmond says it as it is. Voice is dead, hence Safaricom's right move on data.
Possession of material riches, without inner peace, is like dying of thirst while bathing in a lake.
#124 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:33:21 AM

Elder wrote:

I think the philosophy some subscribe to in arguements involving Safaricom is 'why let objectivity get into the way of a good subjective arguement?'
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause
#125 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 12:07:58 PM

Elder wrote:

@Elder very very true. I'm guilty as charged.
This is the issue bwana don't you see...

Objectively speaking, Airtel 1.00 choice is a straightforward choice.
But a study of human beings and their purchase decisions shows they are far more irrational than rational hence why Safaricom
triumphs.

They are suspicious, develop affection, conform,
reciprocate, like to associate, look up to authority, need to be consistent etc.

Agra
#126 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 12:44:50 PM

Airtel has started to outsourcing: http://bit.ly/gQGXRX
It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't
#127 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 1:36:14 PM

muganda wrote:

Objectively speaking, Airtel 1.00 choice is a straightforward choice.
But a study of human beings and their purchase decisions shows they are far more irrational than rational hence why Safaricom
triumphs.

They are suspicious, develop affection, conform,
reciprocate, like to associate, look up to authority, need to be consistent etc.

Actually the reason am on safaricom is bcoz of my Cell No. Once the number portability comes am shifting to YU which has shown consistency on its pricing and its Yucash is probably in most places than Zap.

Safaricom Voice services are quite bad(am saying this even though I am a shareholder)But in the data and retail section they are superb.So come April I will be like ' safaricom, Good bye.'
KenyanLyrics
#128 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 2:12:50 PM

Toshi wrote:
Read page 13 of today's Nation. Edmond says it as it is. Voice is dead, hence Safaricom's right move on data.

This argument is a non-starter. Phones are for making calls, don't forget that
#129 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 2:28:04 PM

[quote=Agra]Airtel has started to outsourcing: http://bit.ly/gQGXRX[/quote] It is to a local firm. Seems Airtel, Mara + the Indian BPO plan to expand BPO in Kenya & Uganda. Makes sense when you consider Airtel is a telecom firm...

Kwani... BBK just fired some chaps so at least these guys will not lose their jobs...
#130 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 3:27:24 PM

And the affected employees were given ONLY 10 minutes to read a 16 page new contract with the outsourcer!

#131 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 3:34:07 PM

At least they have a job...look at the poor fellas at Barclays...so stop whining and fanya kazi!
Abunuasi
#132 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 3:36:59 PM

And this is just the beggining. Thats y i will stick with safcom. To hell with their free calls or whatever they bring along.
Unethical HR policies.
Unreasonable pricings to plunder the tellecommunications industry.
#133 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 3:41:25 PM

Abunuasi wrote:
And this is just the beggining. Thats y i will stick with safcom. To hell with their free calls or whatever they bring along.
Unethical HR policies.
Unreasonable pricings to plunder the tellecommunications industry.

You think Safcom wont fire soon? You're dreaming! They have a bloated top management with vague roles and responsibilities.

The cull there will be more painful for sure.
#134 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 3:50:42 PM

When your business is not after profit what do you expect?
#135 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 3:55:48 PM

So now using this "logic", we should all close our Barclays accounts?? They fired, at least Airtel transferred jobs...
Kirika
#136 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 4:01:51 PM

The perks that the Chiefs earn in Safcom are outrageous, talk of 6 digits take home, annual bonusses, company vehicles,the works !

As @ Kularaha says when the night of long knives is over most will be left reeling and dizzy !
Abunuasi
#137 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 4:05:58 PM

Even my old grandma in the village knows for the Sukuma Wiki she sells, there should be some margins between the total cost and sales for sustainance.
This is a business principle that has stood the test of time and i wonder how airtel (losstel)thinks they can be an exception.

@Kularaha
Safcm has mpesa, data and accessories sales to suplement loss in voice revenues.
#138 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 4:13:17 PM

Abunuasi wrote:
Even my old grandma in the village knows for the Sukuma Wiki she sells, there should be some margins between the total cost and sales for sustainance.
This is a business principle that has stood the test of time and i wonder how airtel (losstel)thinks they can be an exception.

@Kularaha
Safcm has mpesa, data and accessories sales to suplement loss in voice revenues.

You think that mpesa and selling headphones will save those jobs?

LOL
#139 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 4:59:49 PM

LOL... Safaricom will USE this opportunity to fire slackers!
If I were Bob... I would FIRE all slackers, under-performers & excess baggage from Safaricom & blame Airtel's 1/- deal!

BTW, the execs at Safaricom make 1,000 x what the 'kawaida' workers make!
#140 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 5:05:56 PM

Safaricom is the home of double-speak:

MJ: we will never go to 3 bob! hahahahha
Bob: we will never offer a fixed rate per day....50 bob last Sunday
Bob: we will not fire anyone...I suggest you Safcom defenders oops staff start packing...