Investor
Stocks
What do 1-bob Airtel calls mean for Safaricom share price?
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,215 Location: Nairobi
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:The government should just sell my 349 shares in Safaricom (according to VVS' estimation) and redistribute it to the Special Programmes Ministry. Huko itafanya kazi! No, send me/you the cheque so we can buy unga for the needy! The useless GoK will buy 4-wheel drives & new phones for the staff of Special Programmes Ministry...! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
VituVingiSana wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:The government should just sell my 349 shares in Safaricom (according to VVS' estimation) and redistribute it to the Special Programmes Ministry. Huko itafanya kazi! No, send me/you the cheque so we can buy unga for the needy! The useless GoK will buy 4-wheel drives & new phones for the staff of Special Programmes Ministry...! Well put ndugu! GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/9/2010 Posts: 894 Location: Nairobi
VituVingiSana wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:The government should just sell my 349 shares in Safaricom (according to VVS' estimation) and redistribute it to the Special Programmes Ministry. Huko itafanya kazi! No, send me/you the cheque so we can buy unga for the needy! The useless GoK will buy 4-wheel drives & new phones for the staff of Special Programmes Ministry...! thats true. sometimes i wonder what guys in gova think. any of those guys in the house??? Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
http://www.standardmedia...027389&cid=457&
The CCK head is being sensible... Many markets have very low interconnection rates therefore have unlimited calling plans... Doesn't kill the industry but makes them increasingly innovative... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
the airtel madness is over. they will realise sooner or later that the thing is not sustainable. (a die hard safaricomer) African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
Sober wrote:the airtel madness is over. they will realise sooner or later that the thing is not sustainable. (a die hard safaricomer) In the meantime... ku-enjoy 1/- calls... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
the hype is over and the big boys dont have to worry because it is not a permanent tariff. sooner or later they will realise that they are driving themselves out of business by fighting with prices. African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
Sober wrote:the hype is over and the big boys dont have to worry because it is not a permanent tariff. sooner or later they will realise that they are driving themselves out of business by fighting with prices. If they are driving themselves out of biz why has Bob got his knickers in a twist? LOL Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
I think the issue here may be commonsense business practice shows Airtel is on borrowed time.
If Safaricom announces results showing stellar performance, good subscriber growth, and still many billions in profit, match date of Sep 2011 will be announced.
If come Sep 2011, there is no green blood on the streets, it would be fair to bid Rene Meza fairwell.
An airtel line at 1bob per minute is probably worth less to a consumer than a safaricom line at 4bob per minute in terms of value to the customer. This idea of making linear valuations of phone companies products and prices then calling people "shareholders", "employees" and so on is misplaced. There are less than 1million people with special interest in Safaricom(shareholders, employees, agents,suppliers and SRP beneficiaries e.t.c) yet it maintains 17 million subscribers, why???? There is obviously more value. Market ARPU is down only a negligible 362/- currently from 376/- (please remember who has very low rates and is financing the drop)in 2008. Who is loosing here? Now this ARPU means an average user was spending about 30/- per day in 2008 at 7/- per minute and they are still spending about the same, say 1bob difference a day. Do you expect guys to go crazy over saving say 2/- per day (8am to 5pm) for an inferior service? What of someone who eats lunch at Serena 2,500/- only? I am certainly not very worried about profitability just like some CEO who doesn't care about profit. Meru Holiness
You pay 1/- to few (3/- to others)from 8am to 5pm "promotion" then you take a taxi to get to a post office(if it is open at night) to withdraw mobile money sent to you in an emergency. Meru Holiness
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
I dont know whats all the fuss On feelanga free promotion is....Safaricom the dominant player nearly crashed its systems when it had an unlimited free call promotion some time back....Lately even without any promotion there has been an increase on call drops, every time I hav to redial. Airtel has a very good model that should be emulated by ever teleco, if they want to grow the mobile penetration in kenya. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Much Know wrote:You pay 1/- to few (3/- to others)from 8am to 5pm "promotion" then you take a taxi to get to a post office(if it is open at night) to withdraw mobile money sent to you in an emergency. Actually 1/- from 6am to 6pm [plus 10-25% bonus for top-ups through 31 Jan 2011] Also Airtel has Airtel Money [Zap] which works quite well though not as widespread as Safaricom's M-Pesa... 1) There are many more on 'voice' than M-Pesa 2) Most Kenyans [incl me] are double-SIMers. So multiple options. I call using Airtel. Data Safaricom. Pesa Transfer is either/or though I prefer Zap coz cheaper. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@poundfoolish. yo do have a point. since airtel came in to play,safaricom has really had poor services!!! the network is wanked and the billing is beyond irregular.....lets see what bobby can do about this!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,763 Location: nairobi
Saw yesterday on k24 that customer care and IT of Airtel has already been outsourced. Surely this isn't what we wanted as Kenyans COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
are u living in eutopia !!!!!! with a decreasing arpu and voice accounting for a very big portion of its profits as evident from their last fin. statement they will post reduced profits. and it will be nothing to write home about. Data where they are way ahead contributes only a mere 10% of their revenue. and i bet u hav saf shares Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Meanwhile in other morally reprehensible news... The Star reports fury as Airtel 'fires'customer care staff. In effect, Airtel has handed over the more than 80 staff to newly established Spanco Raps Kenya Ltd. Their benefits are transferred to new co including the uncertanities that surround their jobs. But some staff query whether their years of service to Airtel will be recognized accordingly saying "We don't want our benfits to be transferred, we want them to pay us". Spanco Limited is a public limited company on the Bombay Stock Exchange, employing over 10,000 people in call-centres in India. Mara Group is a Ugandan IT company that concluded a venture with Spanco late last year. I figure they have incorporated a Kenyan company for the time being http://www.spancobpo.com/bpo.html
http://www.capitalfm.co....pala,-Nairobi-4926.html
On one end... folks are complaining about jobs being outsourced [So what? Local outsourcing - to a Ugandan/EAC firm with offices in Nairobi] by Airtel yet buy imported goods in Nakumatt [Seems 50%+ of the pricier goods [non-foods] are imported. Cereals, Sprays, Crockery, Diapers, etc... Even the food items [except unga, etc] like chocolates, sauces, etc are all imports! Far more jobs will remain in Kenya if we buy LOCAL... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote: 2) Most Kenyans [incl me] are double-SIMers. So multiple options. I call using Airtel. Data Safaricom. Pesa Transfer is either/or though I prefer Zap coz cheaper.
Safaricom also uses Orange because it has some value. No one enjoys switching sim cards, i have an orange wireless line unto which i used to divert my mobile calls to avoid carrying two phones(because we were forced to have alternate numbers on different services at work), i no longer need to because the costs have dropped to almost level, so now my safcom line carries the most value as almost all calls i get are on it, i leave my wireless in the office. I hardly see people switch sims these days. On the revenue issue, i use safaricom business, it is by far the fastest most reliable thing i have ever come across in terms of network, believe me we have tried several options over the years, but you will not believe how reliable this thing is, do not underestimate the revenue from data, i guess many businesses are. Any random test i do is always above 2mbps Meru Holiness
@muchknow - Yep, I use Airtel for calls... Lakini, data is Safaricom [I prefer using my laptop not my phone for data] Safaricom has a reasonably priced ZTE dongle... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
What do 1-bob Airtel calls mean for Safaricom share price?