wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Do kenyans ever learn?
#1 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 11:09:23 AM

Yesterday at around 6 p.m I witnessed a tragic road accident on Mombasa road just past the Machakos Junction , near Vista offices involving a danger petrol trailer and small car where 2 people died on the spot.

I was stunned to see people rushing to the scene to save the dangerous petrol that had formed pools on the ground.

This accident was reported in the 9pm news

As a responsible Kenyan ,I had to send smses to radio and TV stations to warn people not to come near the scene and ask for police help.

My question is , do kenyans ever learn or ni 'kuomba serikai itusaidie' after putting themselves in trouble ?
I though Sachagwan tragedy was enough for a lesson.

#2 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 12:01:56 PM

As a responsible Kenyan ,I had to send smses to radio and TV stations to warn people not to come near the scene and ask for police help.

don't do this again Shame on you - it just serves to tell those who don't already know where to rush to scoop the ngata! Better call the cops so that they can manage the scene. Shauri yako lakini if they blame you for overturning the tanker in the first place, its kenya you know.

and wacha kuwa naive, how many tanker accidents nationwide have there been since sachangwan? Countless! And in all cases tens of pips have rushed to scoop the fuel! Remember the Coast one where guys were saying on tv diesel doesn't explode? Wanna bet looters anywhere in kenya (including if there's sachangwan season 2)won't go for the spilt fuel again in future?

personally i have little feelings for them even if they were to become get burned, for they are just simply thieves, looters.

But then again, like those hotel fires @ the coast during very low seasons, some of these incidents aren't accidents in the first place...
#3 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 12:46:16 PM

when in such an area:

1. I get away as far as possible as quickly as possible.
2. I get to know what happened through third parties. I have never seen the need to be an eyewitness.

After all, someone else needs to be alive to tend to the injured and bury the dead......... might as well be me.
QD
#4 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 1:38:11 PM

I thougt by doing what newfarer did is humane en we should see the need to take care of our neighbours.

In such a situation will get to safety as possible but still alert the responsible authorities and even the TV to help avert the eminent danger. kudos Newfarer
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
livie
#5 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 1:58:32 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

(including if there's sachangwan season 2)

If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#6 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 3:53:28 PM

Do Kenyans ever learn? NO we know everything and we need to be the ones to tell the story..
#7 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 4:38:19 PM

In the standard today a lorry carrying tuff foam matteresses in Kisumu overturned and burst into flames but people still went ahead to loot.
Somethings can only be found in Kenya any day
manuPK
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 10:04:28 AM

...and MOST of the times, the looters claim it's because of poverty that they do that.
Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
gohill
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 10:24:29 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
Do Kenyans ever learn? NO we know everything and we need to be the ones to tell the story..

Applause Applause Applause Applause
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 10:50:32 AM

It is some kind of hysteria, can't claim it's poverty, i remember seeing guys running on t.v to a tanker with soda/water bottles and jugs, seriously how much worth of fuel will they get? 100/-, 200/-? As much as some have "ndoo's" they are not that poor to take such risks, the few jingas(someones big bro, dad e.t.c) who run there first cause the rest to follow (including kids) in hysteria.
Meru Holiness