wazua Tue, Feb 11, 2025

Parking: Nairobi City Council At It Again!
#1 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 7:05:40 PM

The city council is set to increase parking fee to kshs. 250 with effect from tomorrow. This is after they got 'consent' from a motorist who had sued them to review it from the planned kshs. 300. I bet he got allocated some land somewhere prime!

As far as the council lawyer is concerned the other case by matatu owners covers PSVs only and therefore they will not be in contempt of court by shafting kawaida motorists. And this time they are using guerilla tactics! The implementation is immediate. It's harder for the court to reverse something than to stop it from happening. Let's see how this plays out.
#2 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 7:13:45 PM

....you will require sh.250 to park within the central business district from this monday...
For Sport
#3 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 8:22:06 PM

And so it continues. Citizens being punished for the government's ineptitude...
Tommy
#4 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 8:43:25 PM

and to think that we get poor services from the council. we would have enjoyed a serious rally if ncc was a listed co. btw mr mwagira's lawyer says the suit was not representative and therefore he is the only one allowed to pay sh250. hao wengine ni sh300.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Ms Mkenya
#5 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 10:09:19 PM

Tommy wrote:
btw mr mwagira's lawyer says the suit was not representative and therefore he is the only one allowed to pay sh250. hao wengine ni sh300.

Huh?
....above all, to stand.
karenema
#6 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 7:38:45 AM

What happens to those with seasonal tickets?
#7 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 7:54:23 AM

karenema wrote:

If you have one, you are already in a binding contract with the council. They can't unilaterally change the terms of the contract. But the again our council is ran by dim wits!!!
#8 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 7:56:56 AM

Is it true that its 250 cbd while outside cbd 200?what if someone pays 200 in indu area @8 and later parks his car in town?
#9 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 7:57:04 AM

karenema wrote:

If you have one, you are already in a binding contract with the council. They can't unilaterally change the terms of the contract. But the again our council is ran by dimwits!!!
#10 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 8:07:35 AM

kadonye wrote:
Is it true that its 250 cbd while outside cbd 200?what if someone pays 200 in indu area @8 and later parks his car in town?

That's what the said. Wait until you hear their definition of 'CBD'!

Remember the increase from 70 to 140 was to affect only 'the CBD' and even the you could still pay '70 for half day'. We all know how that went!

I hope someone goes to court! We had an inhouse lawyer. Where did he go? I'm willing to contribute toward a class act law suit!!!
#11 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 8:10:04 AM

kadonye wrote:

That's what the said. Wait until you hear their definition of 'CBD'!

Remember the increase from 70 to 140 was to affect only 'the CBD' and even the you could still pay '70 for half day'. We all know how that went!

I hope someone goes to court! We had an inhouse lawyer. Where did he go? I'm willing to contribute toward a class action law suit!!!
wakagori
#12 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 8:32:00 AM

we all thought Kisia was the panacea to the citys problems, having come from the private sector. is he a victim of Peters principle?
Increasing parking fees to decongest the CBD Is similar to increasing cost of panadol in order to reduce the number of people suffering from headaches.
KenyanLyrics
#13 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 10:37:41 AM

I agree that this is ill-timed(should have at least waited for the matatu regulation to be in place), however, I don't agree that it's a misplaced strategy. Increasing of parking fees encourages use of alternative means of transport
#14 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 10:52:14 AM

Mnafikilia pesa ya 2012 itatoka wapi?
#15 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 11:01:49 AM

wakagori wrote:
we all thought Kisia was the panacea to the citys problems, having come from the private sector. is he a victim of Peters principle?
Laughing out loudly .

#16 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 11:31:12 AM

Its a form of equilibrium. When other sectors (read mobile industry) are lowering their rates, others (read transport) are increasing theirs. Thereby maintaining equilibrium.
#17 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 11:31:23 AM

And that kaguy who settled the matter out of court;how much did he pocket?@PLO are you reading this.?

#18 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 12:22:15 PM

wakagori wrote:
Increasing parking fees to decongest the CBD Is similar to increasing cost of panadol in order to reduce the number of people suffering from headaches.

PONDI
#19 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 12:29:12 PM

..mututho and Dr njenga should raid NCC... i think kisia and his mboys are pertaking of busaa during working hours.... certainly before 5PM. yaani it now costs more to park in town than to pay for fuel to get me there...its arse backwards
K22
#20 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 4:05:43 PM

I hear High court has suspended the sh250 Nbi parking fee until the case challenging the increase is heard and determined.

A temporary reprieve for motorists?

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man