wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

11 Pages«<7891011>
Airtel Kenya new call rate - sh.1 per minute
#81 Posted : Friday, January 21, 2011 3:42:07 PM

Airtel competitor files a complaint with cck saying 'feelanga free' promotion was not clear....public were perceiving it as permanent.CCK instructs Airtel to promptly clarify that the "Feelanga Free" tariff is simply a promotion, and not permanent.

#82 Posted : Friday, January 21, 2011 11:33:58 PM

Elder wrote:
DtheK wrote:
@Elder doesn't the hawker live in kenya and therefore pays tax on almost everything he buys.Two things good about safcom; Mpesa and ability to send smses from gmail to any safcon line for free.If zain gets zap in order they could dominate making sure that there are now enough strategically placed zap outlets should be meza's next priority.

He sure does but he does not pay tax on his profits. My argument is that it is easier and cheaper for KRA to collect tax from big companies than individuals. The latter can evade tax and the KRA won't bother to go after them due to the expenses of doing that to each of the individuals versus the amount that they shall gain.
What? That is NOT Airtel's problem. KRA is mandated to collect taxes so it should find a way to 'capture' all taxpayers. Airtel's job is to sell Airtime & other 'mobile' services NOT be a tax agent for KRA.

BTW, Airtel is paying their full share of taxes!

That argument was in no way meant to support any argument by Safaricom sympathizers' that low call rates is bad for the economy. Was made in isolation that it is easier to collect tax from big companies as opposed to individuals. Of course it would be up to KRA to move with the times.

Low call rates will in fact spur economic growth in more ways than super-normal profits to telephone companies do.

this is the first reply i have read and fully agree with it, financially and personallyApplause Applause
#83 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 9:00:51 AM

Meanwhile, in other news:
Further, the Commission has received a complaint filed by one of the GSM Network operators that it is not clear whether feelanga free is a promotion or permanent tariff. Upon enquiry by the Commission, Airtel Networks Kenya Limited has since clarified that feelanga free is a promotional tariff with effect from 13 January 2011. The CCK has further instructed Airtel Networks Kenya Ltd to comply with the promotional guidelines as provided in the Kenya Information and Communications (Tariff) Regulation, 2010.
Jamani
#84 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 9:04:51 AM

muganda wrote:
Meanwhile, on other news:
Further, the Commission has received a complaint filed by one of the GSM Network operators that it is not clear whether feelanga free is a promotion or permanent tariff. Upon enquiry by the Commission, Airtel Networks Kenya Limited has since clarified that feelanga free is a promotional tariff with effect from 13 January 2011. The CCK has further instructed Airtel Networks Kenya Ltd to comply with the promotional guidelines as provided in the Kenya Information and Communications (Tariff) Regulation, 2010.

This answers the question of sustainability and the economic impact to the country
#85 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 9:46:22 AM

Layman wrote:
....you are given cheap services, you complain...ayiiiiii yawa good pipo what then do you want?

Ask them again,

Unless you work for safaricom (as an agent , employee , distributor , advertiser and related line), I dont see why anyone would complain when calling rates go down.

The whinners are just very fearful of their economic future at the expense of my pockets
Jamani
#86 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 10:09:47 AM

Layman wrote:
....you are given cheap services, you complain...ayiiiiii yawa good pipo what then do you want?

Ask them again,

Unless you work for safaricom (as an agent , employee , distributor , advertiser and related line), I dont see why anyone would complain when calling rates go down.

The whinners are just very fearful of their economic future at the expense of my pockets

@Newfarer, "The whinners are just very fearful of their economic future at the expense of my pockets" The economy is all about your pocket and mine, am neither an agent , employee , distributor , advertiser or on any related line. sorry sir! Just being objective
Jamani
#87 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 10:25:41 AM

qadaffi wrote:
Yess! Good for us. For real,the stakes are up. If I recall the interconnection charges,every time an Airtel subscriber makes a call to a Safaricom subscriber, Airtel will now charge him/her 1/- but pay Safaricon 2.2/- thus making a loss of 1.2/-.

Philanthropic or what?

@ Qaddaffi, Yes! this is simple economic talk, sio utoto na lugha chafu from the the post above yours.
#88 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 10:31:03 AM

jamani , how much are they paying you to fight for them?

muganda #83 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 9:00:51 AM

Jamani #87 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 10:25:41 AM

Jamani
#89 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 10:35:18 AM

jamani , how much are they paying you to fight for them?

muganda #83 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 9:00:51 AM

Joi[color=red]ned: 9/15/2006[/color]

Jamani #87 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 10:25:41 AM

They pay me nothing! maybe the question should be how much are you paid by airtel to be abusive to others views?
And the fact that we joined the same day with Muganda does not make us one and the same person, its like claiming the safcom subs joining airtel on the same day are one the same. Dungu just dwell on the facts wacha side shows
#90 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 10:40:46 AM

I do not entertain anyone playing with my intelligence.

Show me a single abusive language I have used other than disagreeing with your arguments .

Both Jamani and Muganda had posted that story by standard before editing , wish I had quoted the thread to make it unediteble.

Both joined in September 2006

Too much a coincident

11 Pages«<7891011>