Culture
DRESS CODE ON A DATE - MEN SHOULD STYLE UP
Intelligentsia wrote: A Lexus is not just a car - its a lifestyle statement. dont no matter how that dude is dressed, hata kama ni akala za firestone - the Lexus compensated.
Akala na Lexus?The shoe would spoil the pedal! BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
It all depends on the occassion.
Dating,holidays and weekends i dont expect suits for both dudes and dudettes
kwani how many shorts was he wearing...these that were not matching? te he. anyway, whats makes you juadge all men based on a single sighting...
@wakagori, I said 'most' not all. Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
oops wrote:what if hiyo Lexus sio yake? Then that would be a serious OOPS!! for the chic. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Wewe Ken Saf, dudes are simple. You want to be comfortable and enjoy life. You never know, maybe that chic prefers him that way. It can be a way of keeping the man to herself and wad off potential vultures in form of other chics. You just never know. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
KenSaf wrote: In one of the hotels in town, a smartly dressed lady enters, takes a seat at a corner and orders a glass of juice. She keeps on glancing at her watch. Then enters enters a man in a T-shirt, a pair of shorts (not matching) and open shoe, unkempt hair. Scans around and head to where the smartly dressed lady was seating. From the body language they were obviously on a date.
I have seen this previously. Am I right to conclude that most men don't take time to prepare for a date. Unlike his attire,when they left, the guy drove off in a clean Lexus.
Dont be surprised if this is a young CEO somewhere earning 7 digit figures a month. I think its the in thing for these young (late 20s to late30s) guys who are really doing well in either their careers or business, young families or may be not yet married but in a stable relationships, couple of investments etc..... Most of these, even when you find them in a group, they wont be the noise makers.
When you dress, you dont just do it for yourself, the follwing quote sums it up: ''On the subject of dress almost no one, for one or another reason, feels truly indifferent: if their own clothes do not concern them, somebody else's do. ~Elizabeth Bowen'' Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 2/12/2010 Posts: 78 Location: nairobi
i dont know if its just me but when i was dating i was never attracted to a guy in a suit. if you have to wear one after wards ok, but to me that was a fine dude even minus the Lexus.
@Kensaf, If the lady was not horrified by her man,who are we to condemn?It's his life and i guess he was not around to please anybody other than her date.....I also know of many men who prefer simplicity in public,until you see the house they built for the families,the car spouses drive,the school kids go too,their bank accounts and their holiday schedules.Yet,in all goodness,their families wouldn't complain if daddy turned up for a cocktail party in gumboots covered in cow shat. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@Njung'e aka 'SK elder' you right but when our sisters dress for the occasions like dates and weddings, we should at least try to match, it is rare for them to complain but we do embarrass then sometimes. You know it is human, you feel good when in a company of a smartly dressed person. Read the following joke about dressing, there is sense in it: DRESSING UP A woman will dress up to: go shopping, water the plants, empty the garbage, answer the phone, read a book, get the mail. A man will dress up for: weddings, funerals Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
KenSaf wrote:@Njung'e aka 'SK elder' you right but when our sisters dress for the occasions like dates and weddings, we should at least try to match, it is rare for them to complain but we do embarrass then sometimes. You know it is human, you feel good when in a company of a smartly dressed person. Read the following joke about dressing, there is sense in it:
DRESSING UP
A woman will dress up to: go shopping, water the plants, empty the garbage, answer the phone, read a book, get the mail.
A man will dress up for: weddings, funerals
Hehhehehehehe... which weddings and funerals? they show up in jeans and t-shirts in weddings.... but not Ugandan men.....;-)
I really don't see what the fuss is all about...like I said, if the guy had come that way from the house knowing they're going for dinner at Sankara and the chic had worn an elegant dress for the occassion, then maybe she'd have cause to feel embarassed, but if it was a by the way hook up, then sinda iko wapi? Supposing this was a hotel in south coast, would you think the guy was badly dressed?This topic reeks of metrosexuality and if what I saw in the papers the other day is anything to go by, chics miss the retrosexual man... BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
wakagori wrote:kwani how many shorts was he wearing...these that were not matching? te he. anyway, whats makes you juadge all men based on a single sighting... Maybe they were designer shorts which many of us wouldnt afford. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
@Ken Saf, did you have a date? Maybe you were alone and you are on this dude's case coz you were asking yourself how an unkempt man can have such a fine chikita, whereas a man who knows how to dress up, like you, was all alone. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
@Kensaf, That's the ladies work and here is why.Men were created to see the bigger picture,women were created to see details.Thus if the dude was staying with the lady,we can safely assume that she was out when the guy dressed and therefore the man missed the wardrobe.If they are dating and soon she will have the opportunity to stay overnite (Yeah.Three nites is also overnite),i can tell you for dead that if the lady does not like that kinyasa,dude will never know where it was buried. @Wendz, So you are married to a Banyamulenge...lol! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,491 Location: Nairobi
@Kensaf maybe you try and expound on your meaning of a date. Hii mambo ya kuwatch hollywood movies na mexican soaps imekuspoil. Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
Rank: Member Joined: 3/17/2008 Posts: 567 Location: Nairobi
By the way as someone said, if you have 2010 VX Landcruiser or some sexy 4WD. That would be enough dressing.
For all I care I would be in pyjamas @ the Tribe.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
Njung'e wrote:@Kensaf, I also know of many men who prefer simplicity in public,until you see the house they built for the families,the car spouses drive,the school kids go too,their bank accounts and their holiday schedules.Yet,in all goodness,their families wouldn't complain if daddy turned up for a cocktail party in gumboots covered in cow shat. ![Applause](/Images/Emoticons/eusa_clap.gif) Cant have been said better!
Culture
DRESS CODE ON A DATE - MEN SHOULD STYLE UP